Raleigh USA Supercourse Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Ideal for fast fitness, group and event rides, the 2006 Raleigh Supercourse features an Atomic 13 R double butted aluminum frame, vibration damping carbon seat stays, and an Easton EC70 carbon fork.

  • Atomic 13 R Aluminum Frame w/ Carbon Seat Stays
  • Easton EC70 Carbon Fork w/Alloy Steer Tube
  • Shimano 105 9spd Shifters
  • Shimano 105 / Ultegra Derailleurs

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 19  
    [Oct 11, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Excellent price for an all-carbon frame and fork. The drive train components get the job done. A light-weight bike for general riding and training.

    Weakness:

    The wheels have no business being on this frame. Because it is a 2x9 speed, even modest upgrades to the drive train entails considerable expense.

    This review is for the 2009 model. At its core is an Easton EC70 carbon frame with excellent geometry and feather light to boot. The rest of the components are not worthy of the frame, but except for the wheels they are reasonable choices to keep the cost down: 105 rear, tiagra front and shifters, SRAM cluster, (heavy) FSA Omega crank and FSA Mega Exo BB, heavy seat post and handlebar stem, surprisingly light San Marco Ponza Power saddle, no-name brakes, etc. Simply replacing the crank, BB, seat post and stem saved almost 700g from the weight of the bike, but basically all this stuff works well enough, and frankly is about what you get on a low-end aluminum frame Trek or Giant, so at least a fine carbon frame comes with it.

    Unfortunately, the upgrade path for the drive train is expensive: unless you buy used stuff, you will have to move up to 10 speed, and thus replace virtually everything in the drive train, including the shifters, and these are not cheap, no, not at all. If you are not going to race, or use this bike to train to race, then I don't think there is any need to upgrade these components: I put over 1000 miles on them without a hitch. From the reviews I've read, you'll probably need to move up to a better crank and BB at some point, but you can buy these used for not much at all. As regards these items, then, the intent is clearly to keep the cost down, but the stuff they chose to use works well and may need no improvement for a most riders. But...

    The stock wheels are Shimano R500s with okay Vittoria Zaffiro tires and who-knows-what brand tubes. These are surprisingly tough wheels, but you'd hope so because they are quite heavy, and much of that weight appears to be the rims themselves. If you are just riding for pleasure, they will definitely do the job; indeed, mine took some abuse in the form of road cracks and potholes at high speed without going out of true, and I still use them if I'm going down a road for the first time. If you're training hard, you might even want the extra weight.

    However, it is surprising just how much impact the wheels have on the apparent performance of the bike. I upgraded to Easton EA90 SLs and am pretty stunned by the change in road feel, particularly spin-up, but stability and maneuverability as well. And with this choice, it because a $1850 bike. I upgraded the saddle to a Selle Italia SLC Gel Flow to get away from numbnuts (it worked)got to about $1970. Granted, many riders might be fine with the stock saddle, but I suspect all would enjoy the improved feel of a new wheel set.

    So here's the rub: you get what is to me a rather stunning frame and servicable components for a very, very excellent price point, and aside from your personal decisions regarding the saddle, you will be treated to many miles of comfortable, low-effort riding. If you plan to race, or to use this bike to train for a race, then you WILL need to spend something to the good of $500 for a new wheel set, and you may also want to spend another $200 or so for a new crank and BB. I've look on-line at many comparable models, and don't see a path to getting something this good for less money, but the sense that you're there on the cheap is, sad to say, incorrect.

    Similar Products Used:

    My road racer from the Days of Yore was a Mondia double-butted chromolly frame with all Campy Super Record components. Let's be honest--the Supercourse out of the box blows that sucker away.

    [Jun 15, 2009]
    KC
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Stiff Carbon Frame with good geometry.

    Weakness:

    Low end stock drivetrain, wheels, and tires.

    Went from steel to full carbon after not riding for years. Can climb well, but handling is not as crisp as higher end bikes. Can hold it's own on flat road pace lines and sprints. Bought it with the intent to upgrade components if I liked the frame. I will be upgrading.

    Similar Products Used:

    1970 Raleigh Record.

    [Sep 24, 2008]
    Bobby
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Carbon frame ride. Superb compared to the aluminum bike I was riding before. Price.

    Weakness:

    Wheels. They had to save money somewhere, didn't they? I am going to switch my wheels from the old bike, and put these Shimanos on that bike. The saddle. I know some people want them to be a bandaid on a stick, but I don't care for it.

    I looked at a number of bikes at this price point. I didn't want to spend all my savings on a bicycle, and I didn't want to put it on a credit card. I had a choice between a carbon frame bike with so-so components, or an aluminum frame bike with better components. I decided on the carbon bike, just because of the RIDE. It is simply great.

    Similar Products Used:

    Flat bar aluminum bike, with Vuelta XRP wheels.

    [Aug 23, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    The frame.

    Weakness:

    Shimano 550 wheelset.

    The Carbon frame offers the stiffness of higher priced bikes and superior comfort. Tiagra shifters combined with a Shimano 105 rear derailleur makes for good shifting. The out of saddle performance is so unbeleivable.

    Similar Products Used:

    Trek 2000

    [Apr 26, 2008]
    miksu67
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    All of the above.

    Weakness:

    Hmmmmmmmmm.

    Not a feather weight, But not a pig either. Very stiff and responsive for a frame in this price range. Lots of available torque when you get out of the saddle and hammer it... Worthy of any and all component upgrades you can think of. It climbs like a pack mule on red-bull, and looks like its going 100 mph even in the garage...

    [Dec 19, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Great first road bike with good 105/Ultegra mix to learn the sport. Helped me drop from 230 to 185lbs.

    Weakness:

    Alex wheels are crap. Go for an upgrade.

    For my first road bike this has been a great one. I am able to keep up with several local hardcore roadies on their bikes that are way more expensive. The Alex wheels suck. Back wheel was destroyed after less than 500 miles of less than stessful riding. Upgraded to VeloMax Circuits which roll better. Everything else I love for the price and it has given me a real sense of what I want in my next bike.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    [May 17, 2007]
    Carl
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Stock components. Don't really have to change a thing.

    Weakness:

    None so far

    Great bike for the price. I researched a bunch of bikes at and around the $1,200 price point (Trek, Giant, Fuji, etc.) and found the Raleigh to offer the best ride and components for the money. The bike is fast, Shimano 105 STI shifters are quick and precise, 105 and Ultegra derailers work perfectly, stock seat is very comfortable, and bike is responsive without being jittery.

    I hit a storm drain at 35 mpg and blew out both tires, but the Alex wheels stayed perfectly true! Frame does flex and creak a bit under hard uphill pressure, but not so much as to be a problem

    Similar Products Used:

    1981 Motobecane Super Mirage

    [Mar 27, 2007]
    Jesse
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Good frame - great aluminum and carbon blend for smooth yet powerful feel. Comfortable saddle, both derailers never fail or rattle.

    Weakness:

    Horrible wheels, not strong at all. Cheap tektro brakes that rub on almost every ride.

    I love the bike, but the wheel set and brakes have plagued me since I bought it. The alex wheels are not strong enough and I blew out 5 spokes just riding on the road, no crashes or anything, had to replace the rear wheel and both tires wore out relatively fast (after about 1200 miles). The tektro brakes seem to be cheap, they get bumped easily and rub on almost every ride, I would prefer shimano brakes that are much more solid. Saddle feels great. I toasted the bottom bracket after about 1000 miles, but it got replaces for free under warranty - dealer said he'd never seen that before. Overall a great bike, but some corners were cut to save on price..thinking of upgrading to the competition.

    Similar Products Used:

    First road bike - I still love it.

    [Mar 03, 2007]
    emilio
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Looks. price, solid components

    Weakness:

    a little heavy, the seat post looks cheap, frame flexes when you stand up an hammer.

    Good overall components nothing fancy but all very reliable, the carbon stays seem to blend with the aluminum frame, great paint job love the classic look. long rides are cofortable

    Similar Products Used:

    none first road bike

    [Feb 10, 2007]
    Rusty Sherman
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    every thing has great quality shifts great and the ride is superb

    Weakness:

    chain fell off on top ring under hard rideing but it was the first ride

    great bike rode many others an could not pass it up i did not even test ride just orderd the thing up, brice at the bicycle shop said 850 and i said order, smooooth road ride good parts and looks good to

    Similar Products Used:

    felt giant jamis

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.