Ridley Excalibur Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

The Excalibur Frame is Ridley's carefully engineered Belgian warrior designed to punch over the most brutal cobble sections the Spring Classics can muster.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Apr 07, 2020]
daxsidius


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Very light and supple ride, steering is responsive and high speed is stable. Built for the cobblestones of Belgium.

Weakness:

A weekness is the flex in the frame when you load torque on it but you also feel it spring back.

Price Paid:
1000
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2011
[Aug 23, 2014]
Arjen
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, weight, esthetics

Weakness:

Non

I've bought a 2009 frame (54 cm ct) in 2012 and build it up with campagnolo centaur carbon.
I have put in a carbon seatpost, Selle Italia saddle and carbon handlebars and stem.
It is my bike in my second home in the north of France where the roads are a cobblestone-like.
The bike is performing great, absorbing the hits of the dents in the road and easily switches over to a climbing bike for percentages of more then 15%.
At home in the flats of the Netherlands I ride a Pino Dogma 2 which is great there but I wouldn't think of using it in these circumstances. I even am thinking of switching the Pino for an excalibur or helium to use at home.



Similar Products Used:

Jan Jansen Vector Carbon, Pinarello Dogma think 2, Jan Jansen Paris-Nice

[Aug 01, 2013]
ejprez
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

LIght, stiff, tire clearance and paint colors

Weakness:

A tad heavy frame, but still easily builds into a sub 16 bike

Probably one of the best frames I've had. My first ridley was a damocles and loved it, then switched to a S-works tarmac which was lighter but the front end was twitchier. The Excalibur rides like the damocles, solid front, feels stiff and actually lighter despite being not the lightest in it's class, but hey still great. What I love the most is the stays and fork clear 25's easily and I know it can handle 28's and will try that out soon enough. Really is the best bang for the buck for value and performance. I normally like white bikes but the Black and red Lotto just grabbed me.

Similar Products Used:

Caad 8, fuji SL-1, Damocles, Tarmac SL3

[May 20, 2013]
Bryin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, comfortable,light (relatively), durable

Weakness:

not much...

I ride a custom Moots Vamoots which is a crazy nice bike but wanted a "grip it and rip it" bike for sub 3 hour rides. This was frame was such a great deal I jumped on it. It is a rocket, with Ultegra 6700, DA c24 wheels it is 15.5 lbs with computer, cages and pedals. Ridley supposedly "over builds" the frames so they are super durable but I don't intend on crashing it to find out...
I have ridden a ton of nice bikes from a C50 to a Time VXR to a Madone 7 and this frame is the equal of any of them. Ridley does not get much press (probabbly from lack of advertising spending) in the mags but this bike just surprised me with how balanced it is- stiff but smooth... light but sturdy... Just a fantastic bike!!

Similar Products Used:

you name it I have probably ridden it...

[Mar 14, 2011]
Vitix2
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

stiffness combined with comfort; acceleration; ability to hold a line; steadiness at speed.

Weakness:

Nothing stood out. there was not one thing about it that I found offensive.

This review is for a 2009 Excalibur that I purchased new on ebay. I recently built it up using Campy Chorus 11, and have had a chance to put about 250 miles on it so far. The two things that stand out at initial inspection are its’ low weight and aesthetics. It is a good looking bike without being overly flashy. Add some loud wheels and it looks like it stepped off the pages of ‘Procycling’. Dress it down with a basic setup and wheels with conservative graphics, and you won’t raise any eyebrows at your club rides. It is also rather light. I’m not a gram counter and don’t know its’ claimed weight. However, one lift and the only conclusion that you can come too is that it feels darn light.

Despite its’ weight, on the road it tracked straight and was not bothered by rough surfaces or big jolts. Well, the stability was not compromised by big jolts, but you can definitely hear and feel them.

The bottom bracket is rock solid, the front end has supreme stiffness, and power transfer is excellent. All of this is accomplished while keeping me comfortable. My longest ride on it to date was 3 hours and I had no problems at all with comfort. There is something to be said about the thin seat stays. They really do seem to do a good job of offering the right amount of compliance in the right place.

The frame’s compact design is also a winner with me. This is my first compact frame, so I may just be learning what others already know, but it seemed that I was able to accelerate and really put the power down on climbs. I know stiffness has a lot to do with this, but having that back end tucked in under you cannot be overlooked.

While standing it climbed well, but it seemed to distinguish itself when going through the gears from the saddle. It was also very good at taking rolling hills and short power climbs. The combination of bottom bracket stiffness, a compact rear end, and the campy 11 drivetrain seemed to make powering over rollers in a seated position efficient and fast. The setup definitely rewarded sitting, clicking through 2 or 3 gears, and cresting rollers without losing too much momentum.

Handling is stable and predictable. My informal, riding with no hands test would lead me to characterize it as having a decent balance of stability and quick handling attributes. It is not twitchy at all, but not as stable as my Merckx, Pegoretti. That said, it holds a line well, did well in switchbacks, was nimble, and was not upset by having to change a line while in a turn. Put another way, it rails turns and does not mind getting aggressive. Yet, you don’t have to babysit the bars when just cruising along.

As I’ve read in some reviews, Ridley’s sizing is not typical. I’m 6’2”, typically ride 61 and 62cm frames. On the Ridley I ride a size large. This leaves plenty of seatpost exposed (which I kind of like), but provides me with a top tube length that is where I need it to be. So, I think that means they have long top tubes. My advice, match yourself to the top tube length when selecting a Ridley. And, don’t be afraid if this results in a shorter than optimal headtube length. The stiffness of the fork and front end means that having to slap a few headset spacers on is not going to compromise the ride.

Now, I just hope that it scores high in longevity. I’m a heavy rider (245Lbs.) and that is a concern for me with carbon. By the way, the Excalibur is ‘Big boy’ approved. It handles my size without a qualm.

Similar Products Used:

Cannondale R-800, Trek 5200,Pinarello Stelvio, Debernardi, Casati Gold Line, Eddy Merckx Premium, Pegoretti Marcelo

[Nov 27, 2010]
siladitya
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, very responsive to the slightest power input, durable construction leading to excellent shock absorption and comfortable rides!

Weakness:

A double crankset on the climbs! It was something of a weakness for me and so I have now instead started using the double crankset as a training mechanism for that race day finish ;)

This is a review for the 2008 Ridley Excalibur with Shimano Dura Ace 7800 components! Boy oh boy, is this impressive or what :) Light, very responsive, stiff, and once you get the hang of it...it climbs like a cat! The build quality is spectacular and the bike is quite stiff and it almost mocks you to be as stiff as it is :P

[Apr 13, 2010]
paddlesurfer
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light
Excellent response
Great cornering and handling

2008 frame set built up with Shimano DA components. Awesome bike, light, stiff frame, yet responsive. Big BB helps transition pedal power to the wheel fast and strong. Comfortable for 125+ mile rides, but strong in crits and Road Races. Very confident feeling.

[Feb 16, 2010]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

stiff, geometry is not too extreme, comfortable, fairly light. the frame geometry (after changing stems) suits my build

Weakness:

none a this point

My first full carbon frame, stiff, very Like a rocket, very fast, it feels that every ounce of energy exerted moves you forward. combined with the Campy Record gruppo and the Campy Eurus wheels puts this at about 16.5 lbs. These high end campy components are not out of place on this frame. workmanship is excellent and the frame at this point seems quite durable after about 1500 km.

Similar Products Used:

Bianchi 1885 Veloce
Specialized Allez Sport

[Aug 24, 2009]
AMike
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great geometry
Stable handling
Stiff drivetrain
Mostly comfortable ride

Weakness:

Not particularly light at 1100g
Doesn't use the latest bling BBs

I got this frame to replace a crashed TCR. Technically, it's a couple of generations older in layup and design, but it barely shows once you throw a leg over it. Yes, the TCR Advanced probably felt snappier and was a little bit faster handling, but the Excalibur still feels like a rocket ship. I can't say the bike has been a limiter in anyway, and it's low slung but longish wheel base geometry is great for a whole day riding in the mountains. Given that the MSRP on the frame is >$1000 less than the TCR, I was happy to save the money and buy a light set of wheels that can travel with me in the future. I really enjoy sprinting on this bike - any sway is in the wheels for sure; when this bike is shod in deep dish goodness it'll go as fast as you can make it go.

Probably its biggest limiter is the weight. It's 200 g heavier in the frame, and the fork is an additional somewhat weighty item compared to uber frames like the R3 and TCR of yore. However, it is cheaper and still makes a fantastic race bike. As built up right now, it's about 16 lbs (57 cm), which is certainly light enough for even me at ~135 lbs.

I give it the highest rating because I think it's both one of the best values on the racing frame market, and its performance has got to be >95% of any frame out there.

Similar Products Used:

TCR Advanced
Litespeed

[Jul 26, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

strong climbing bike, lightweight

Weakness:

none yet

Great value, great bike. No complaints. Definitely great geometry for climbing and the carbon makes for a gentle yet stiff ride.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized Tarmac Pro

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.