Tommaso Monza Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • 6061 Lightweight Aluminum Frame
  • Tommaso Carbon Fiber Fork
  • Shimano 105 and Tiagra Components
  • FSA Triple Crankset
  • Ritchey Handlebar
  • Ritchey Stem
  • Selle San Marco, Ponza Lux
  • Lightweight Alex R500 Rims

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-8 of 8  
    [Jul 24, 2011]
    tyler
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Light weight and even though it has tiagara components it has the 105 derailer. Awesome bike for the price.

    Weakness:

    Front components are weak

    Great bike overall for the price. Competes with most specialized bikes and is very comnparable to the Specialized Allez with tiagara compenents upfront and 105 in the rear

    Similar Products Used:

    Specialized Allez

    [Sep 23, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    quality of components and build.

    Weakness:

    none that i have found yet.

    Love the bike. I was nervous purcasing online, sight unseen. Read horror stories of other companies. LBS warned not to buy online. I took the chance because of a tight budget and lack of decent used bikes on ebay or craigslist. The transaction was flawless. Bike needed alot of setup: wheels, derailleurs, brakes, etc. but I was riding within 1.5hrs. Looks great, rides great. LBS says they think it's a great bike, but they wish I had bought from them.

    Similar Products Used:

    Falcon Black Diamond (British bike, probably not in business anymore) about 25 years ago

    [Mar 30, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Great all around road bike. Very good for intermediate racing.

    Weakness:

    shimano pedals are heavy and add weight...change to lighter pedal and drop a lb or two of the weight.

    This bike is AWESOME! Very smooth, light and speedy. Great for being less than a $1000.

    Similar Products Used:

    very high end custom racing bikes but this one is as good for the $,

    [Mar 30, 2009]
    Pam Flinchum
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Great all around racing bike....Terrific for racing events. Very fast and very comfortable.

    Weakness:

    Hard to find ring to adjust handlebars but not impossible to locate online.

    This bike is super light without the shimano pedals but if you replace them with lighter ones it is worth a good pound. This bike rides like a DREAM! Love it!

    [Jun 05, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    PRICE and VALUE!

    Really impressed with this bike for the price. Even though it is a aluminum frame and your regular components for the price you just cant beat it. It has a great ride if you are just a recreational rider looking for a couple of good rides in a week.

    [Nov 10, 2007]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Good lucks, decent components, however, I will probably upgrade to 105 components and change the tires fairly soon (R500's)

    Weakness:

    probably a little heavy and the tires seem a little too heavy and lower budget.

    It's actually a new 2008.I just bought this bike for my wife,yet I've ridden it more than she has (cold weather has set in)! For the money it seems very satisfying. Good compliment of components Tiagra/105. The frame is average weight, fairly responsive and the looks are top notch (silver & red).
    Once I/she gets some real miles on it I'll update this review, but I did test several bikes that were several hundred dollars more than this one and not nearly as nice.

    Similar Products Used:

    none yet except my Lemond Versaille.

    [May 09, 2007]
    beans f. morocco
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Pretty nice frame/fork Very nice frame welds fit and finish for a bike in this price range. Paint and graphics are top notch as well. I wonder what the frame and fork weight might be? Tiagra brake/shifter and frt derailleur w/ 105 rear work well together.

    Weakness:

    Heavy. The FSA triple crank has no model name or number on it and I have been unable to find it anywhere by appearance to determine model and weight. BB is uspect in the weight dept. as well as the Shimano pedals which weigh more than my entire bike. Wheelset and Tektro brakes are about what you'd expect on a bike of this $. After she rides it into the ground this summer, it gets new pedals, crank/bb set up and brakes (not levers) as these are the weakest links, and perhaps a new wheel set. Mostly for weight savings and some performance enhancement.

    Bought this one for my wife who is a first time road biker. Decent overall value, but RS has got to be kidding about the $100.00 value "special" foam box. I was expecting some kind of styro case that might be used to reship or perhaps pack on a plane a couple of times. Turns out to be fairly conventional packing with a couple of foam rubber pads stuck in. They might make cheap dog beds for the back of your '82 Toyota pick-up though. Good bike for someone wanting to get road serious but does not have a lot of dough. Frame is well worth upgrading. You could do much worse...especially with the free dog beds.

    Similar Products Used:

    N/A

    [Sep 08, 2006]
    Scott Keane
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5

    The specs for this monza are the specs for the mondail

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.