Trek 1000C Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

Frame Material: aluminum
Frame Angles: 73.0 head, 73.5 seat
Sizes: 50cm, 54cm, 58cm, 63cm
Colors: Brushed
Fork: Trek
Rear Shock: Not applicable
Brake Levers: Shimano Sora STI Dual Control
Handlebar: Bontrager
Stem: aluminum
Headset: 1 1/8" threadless Aheadset
Front Der: Shimano Sora Triple
Crankset: Bontrager Sport, 30/42/52 teeth
Rear Der: Shimano Sora GS
Pedals: aluminum cage w/clips & straps
Tires: 700 x 25c Bontrager Select

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Jul 29, 2018]
Harge33


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight. Economical with mid-level Shimano components. The Bontrager additions lend a sporty sharpness overall. The bike is quick and fast--or allows me to be so, if one requires that rigid of a perception. This bike opened the door to my top-end: I've ridden bikes hundreds to thousands of dollars more expensive--weight-weinie, carbon fiber, Dura-Ace beauts--and improved times by seconds to minutes, but the 1000c was right there in it. An excellent ride. Exceptional value.

Weakness:

Stem needs attention every 80 - 100 miles to remain quiet and out of mind. Sora shifters are not Ultegra. That's more just fact than a weakness. There's a tish more slop in the Sora.

Price Paid:
100
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2002
[Nov 19, 2012]
Daniel Z

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durable, no fuss, great gear switching and breaking.

Weakness:

none

I had this bike for nearly 10 years. It still goes with only minor repairs needed! If you need a road bike that lasts this is it, if you can get a good second hand bike. It is true that it is not the lightest, but I wouldn't use it for a real race. I think this bike will last another 10 years!

[Nov 23, 2009]
Nickarus
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Lightest bike I've ever owned. Fastest bike I've ever owned. All stock parts are still fully operational (sans the seat post), with due care given to upkeep and maintenance. Bike is very good value for the price I paid.

Weakness:

Suspension seat post has the same squeaky, rotating issue others are mentioning. I find it annoying but not yet enough so to replace it. It's only noticeable on steep climbs when I'm swaying my frame for extra leverage.

Also weak is the front/rear derailleurs which I seem to need to tweak every 4th ride or so to keep the full range of gears... maybe that's normal?

People complain about the saddle/tires but I've had no issues. A nice pair of bike shorts is a highly recommended investment however.

Purchased this nervously as my first road bike ever, so it was an awkward start but I'm really glad I made the jump. This bike is a blast to ride, I get compliments for it's sharp appearance (I keep it in good shape), and I'm suprised now that something of such quality can be found second-hand for so little in cost (it seemed like a lot at the point of purchase but I have a better perspective now).

Similar Products Used:

This is my first road bike.

[Aug 25, 2009]
Edward
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable on long rides. Components are adequate.

Weakness:

Noisy seat and bottom bracket.

I have enjoyed my comfortable bike. I did remove the seat post, mainly because it was squeaky. The bottom bracket has now developed some noise when torque is applied on a climb.

Similar Products Used:

ancient Cannondale SR900 - no problems.

[Feb 21, 2009]
jeff
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Solid performer, handles comfortably, not a racer.

Weakness:

Heavy. Seat post was the first thing I trashed.

It is a solid, reliable bike that is great for a beginner. It is a bit heavy but if you don't ride with Lance it doesn't really matter. The bike was a great training tool and fun on kinds of rides. Worth every penny but it's inexpensive makeup is why it is a bit heavy.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1200, Trek FX 7.2

[Aug 04, 2008]
Bill
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Dependable, seems to handle well

Weakness:

The shock absorber post can wear out and allow the seat to twist.

My son rode the bike across the country (4,000 Miles in 65 days). I took it of his hands in Utah where I rode it to work for about a year (not in the snow). The shock absorber post had worn out so I replaced it with a standard post. The stock seat was terrible so I replaced that. I now live in the south east and commute 2-3 days a week. It is my first real bike and I like it a lot. I had to change out the rear cassette to handle the hills in Utah. I have fitted it with rear panniers and logged about 700 miles this year in commuting.

[Oct 28, 2007]
Sean0526
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

It has none.

Weakness:

Start at the front and work your way to the rear, and pick a part. It's weak.

I hate it! I'm 50 and the kid in the store I think was selling some old guy a bike and this slow poke thing is what I wound up with.


It's been in the shop twice, once because the derailleur literally exploded within a month of buying it stranding me almost ten miles from my car. This year the crankset developed a click at the one o'clock position. The brakes were sticking, and apparently the "3 year" service policy doesn't apply at 28 months since I was charged for my last visit. I do not recommend this company nor this store

I owned a Nishiki for 14 years before this and it was in the shop once when I bounced it off a curb. Other than that it went through six sets of tires in 14 years and required nothing other than routine maintenance. Wish I cold have found another new one of those. People can make fun but at least I got to ride that and it was enjoyable.

It's like the Cadillac commercial, when you turn on your bike does it return the favor? This one needs viagra.

This is the only Trek I will ever own. I think I wasted my money, and next spring this thing is outta here.

[Jul 01, 2007]
Derrick
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Value. Hands down. It's also a comfortable bike if you've never been on a road bike. It's a very different feeling than an MTB or your childhood Huffy. It takes a little getting used to. It's also very adaptable. You can use it for a fast joyride, a commute or your local charity ride.

Weakness:

Cheap tires. Horrible saddle. I don't use the comfort features. The adjustable stem just adds weight and the comfort seatpost is goofy.

This is a great beginner bike. I use it as a commuter (which is what its perfect for). I wouldn't buy it if you're going to want to be the fastest bike in a pack. I would buy it if you want a speedy commuter or something much faster than a MTB or hybrid. I came from mountain biking, so the 1000c feels like I'm flying. It's a great bike to bridge the worlds of MTB and road. I'm six months into it and I would love to have some of the comforts of a nicer bike but it didn't feel like a wise decision to spend a grand before I knew if I would really ride. I've logged nearly 800 miles on mine so far and I love it. Think about the money I'm spending on gas. And if you're looking for a commuter, you don't want to spend too much money on a bike that will be caught in the rain or even stolen. Most commuter bikes are made for the city. I ride 12 miles one way to work everyday. So I needed something with speed, but low in cost. That's exactly what the 1000c is.

Similar Products Used:

Various MTBs

[Feb 13, 2006]
MrCjolsen
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfort Sora groups works very well and holds up to abuse Sram and Bontrager parts hold up well Bike looks good I like the compact geometry.

Weakness:

I have since replaced virtually all of the "comfort" components. Last to go was the saddle, which was OK but not great. I even ditched the Tektro inline brake levers. Nothing wrong with them, I just wanted to put on aeor bars. The biggest weakness with the bike is that it doesn't have clearance for fenders and larger tires. It would be very nice if I could run 32mm tires with fenders in the winter. But then, maybe I should have just gotten a cross or touring bike. Then there's the spoke issue (see above)

This is an update to my previous review of the bike. My statement that I was beginning to outgrow the bike was premature. I have just put 3000 miles on it, and it has held up extremely well and taken a lot of abuse. I've done two triathlons with the bike and commuted the brutal Yolo causeway-West Sacramento route countless times. The bike has proven to be very reliable, fast, and most of all, comfortable. The "c" designation doesn't mean that the bike isn't a true road bike. BTW, Trek has stopped making the 1000c, and now makes the Pilot 1.0 in it's place. The geometry is the same, as well as most of the features and specs. A note on the Alex rims and the spoke issue. I popped one spoke at 2000 miles. When I replaced it, I went around and checked the tension on the rest. A lot of the spokes were loose and needed tightening. I gave eachs spoke at least half a turn, and haven't had any problems yet. The back wheel is a bit out of round, but nothing that interferes with riding or braking.

Similar Products Used:

Various mtb's converted to road use

[Jan 10, 2006]
Kcbiker
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Solid all way round except for a few things

Weakness:

SAddle,Brake pads,handle bars?

I bought this bike being my first road bike.I love it at first and it is a good dependable bike,but I think I want something a little more aggressive.The only thing I suggest if you are a guy then change out the handle bars.Mine are too narrow.

Similar Products Used:

none

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.