Trek Madone SSL Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

  • OCLV 55 Carbon Superlight Frame
  • Bontrager Race XXX Lite
  • OCLV 110 Carbon Fork
  • Bontrager Race XXX Lite Wheels
  • Shimano Dura-Ace Rear Derailleur

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[May 21, 2020]
Big Island Bike Guy


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

I have owned several Trek Madone SSL bikes and have LOVED them all! Fantastic bikes. Absolutely top of class / pro-level racing machines. Never had a single issue or complaint about any of them. Always blew my mind that something SO lightweight could be SO strong and SO stiff. The acceleration and handling were outstanding. Have never felt anything else quite like it on a bike. (Though my S-Works Venge comes pretty darn close!)

Weakness:

None. The SSL's are flawless. The absolute pinnacle of road racing frame design and manufacturing. I actually like them better than the newer Madones.

Price Paid:
4000
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2008
[Aug 06, 2010]
Kevin
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Smooth shifting, great cornering and good acceleration

Weakness:

Saddle wasn't very comfortable

This is a great bike. It handles well and shifts really smoothly. I went from a Trek 5200 to this model and - while the 5200 is still a great bike - the Madone SSL bike is just better all around. I went through a lot of saddles before I found one I like, but the bike's overall performance is great.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200

[Jun 05, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light,stiff frame,no road vibration,nice groupo and nice looking

Weakness:

The white saddle and bar wrap get dirty very fast and the race x lite tires are puncture easily

Light and nimble great on those long grinding climbs

Similar Products Used:

Speacialized Tarmac and Cervelo

[Dec 15, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Weight (15.6lbs with pedals on a 54cm)
Acceleration
Looks (white saddle/tape)

Weakness:

Price of cource
Race X Lite pro tires are fast but very suceptable to flats

Overall this is an amazing machine. I upgraded from a 2006 Trek 1500 with Shimano 105 groupset/components so this was like going from a Camry to a Ferrari. I put in around 250 miles a week, most of them hard and fast. The 6 pound difference between this bike and my 1500 is a big change but more than anything is the stiffness and responsiveness. I climb and accelerate out of turns much faster than before. Now, I am young and highly fit so anyone who thinks getting this bike (or any other) will take them from being a Fred to a Pro is dillusional.
The Dura Ace groupset is so smooth I had to look down and make sure I had actually shifted. If you are looking to upgrade, it would be tough to beat this bike at the $4k price range.

Similar Products Used:

I test rode a specialized S-Works Tarmac (Gerolsteiner edition). A nice ride to be sure but I liked the Trek better.

[Nov 11, 2007]
marc ge3wy23
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

none

Weakness:

to stiff non compliant

I have had this bike since Feburary, I have 2500 miles on it, this bike very stiff and not very compliant, most of my rides are for fittness I ride the bike hard, all riding done on ok streets. After 2 hours on the bike when I get off feel stiffness in my lower back, I also have a Cannondale system six very comfortable should have bought first.

Similar Products Used:

cannondale system six

[Jun 06, 2007]
Page Tagizad
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stiffness for speed, smooth downhill, light weight. Durace is a huge improvement iover Ultegra

Weakness:

Color choice, the yellow is boring, and gray is bland.
Could use a lighter fork.
Limited chice for wheels and groupset

Far superior to my Trek 5200. Much smoother on downhill, much ligher and stiffer where you need it counts - transfer power to the wheel much better. Very responsive, almost as good as Look 585 I also tried. Comfortable enough for a century, but responsive to pass guys up and down the hills.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 5200. Test rode Look 585 and Scott Addict.

[Apr 26, 2007]
Jim
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Everything on it

Weakness:

NONE !!!!!!

Smooth baby smooth! Unbeleivable paint from the project one team. I don't understand people spending the kind of cash on a bike and getting a standard paint job with decals. Pay the extra bucks and get a Project One paint job unless you want to be like eveyone else.

Similar Products Used:

Klein (like it but it's not the same)

[Dec 28, 2006]
Philip Graus
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The strengths are:
- beautiful and very light frame
- great colour scheme
- dura ace is excellent
- seat is comfortable
feels very fast and stable

Weakness:

possibly the white saddle and bar tape will get dirty once you get over the novelty of daily cleaning!

My wife bought me the 2007 Trek Madone 6.5 for Christmas. I have previously owned an aluminium frame bike and cannot beleive the difference. While it is proobably 2 - 2.5 kilo's lighter it rides far more smoothly and and feels more stable on the road.

The main reason I purchased the 6.5 over the 5.9 was the colour. The 5.9 only comes in the bright blue 'Discovery' colour, while the 6.5 comes in a charcoal grey which looks great.

The gears are Simano Dura ace. They are far smoother than Ultegra, but the main difference is that it's much easier to change from the small to large front chain ring while in the drops which is really useful on undulating terrain

Similar Products Used:

Nothing similar really except a 24 hour loan of a Time carbon bike from the bike shop. That bike wasn't fitted to my size as closely as my new Trek so it's hard to compare. My Trek 2200 is also a great bike but not in the same leauge.

[Sep 30, 2006]
uzziefly
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light
Stiff
Accelerates very quickly
Comfortable ride
Swift handling
Nice paintjob with the Project One
Makes you want to ride it each time you look at it
Best equipment out there

Weakness:

None, nada, zilch

Everything about this bike is awesome from my custom Project One paintscheme (Lance 7 time scheme) to the ride quality. The Chris King headset just makes the bike even more responsive and it just goes anywhere you turn the handlebars without resistance. Steering is a dream and you can weave it as much as you like and still know you wont lose control. The bike flies up climbs and just roars down the straight literally as my Bontrager Race X Lite Carbon Aero wheels cut through the air.

The bike is also amazingly comfortable as it dampens road vibrations nicely. (Bzzkill dampers probably had a part in this)

Accelerates so quickly from a stroke of the pedal.
Simply the best bike, other then the SSL 6.9 with High Modulus carbon i guess.

Dura Ace just shifts effortlessly. Perfect. Ok, I have to clean it regularly but that's coz I want it looking brand new.

Similar Products Used:

Trek 1500 for a little while

[Aug 25, 2006]
graham huxley
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

lightness
ride quality
well engineered

Weakness:

bit bland in the paint job

this bike is just so light, it makes a 7lbs difference over my previous bike an old cougar. Than 7lbs means I just seem to fly up these big steep hills, the wheels have been solid and good at high speeds and the ride is so solid, reasuring and comfortable, it's a dream and an immense pleasure to ride such a beautiful machine.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.