Wilier Cento Road Bike

DESCRIPTION

The Centos oversized, squared and contoured head tube resists those forces where they are most prevalent, working in conjunction with its oversized fork to provide maximum stability and optimal steerability. In short, youll benefit from unrivaled control when you stand on your pedals and when you sprint, as well as from unmatched tracking through the gnarliest of turns.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Dec 13, 2012]
John S.
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Balance of stiffness, weight, ride quality and handling. Great finish and curvy lines only Italians can design and have functional at the same time.

Weakness:

If I had not gotten a great off-season final year deal, the price is a little daunting. CF fabrication in the manner the Wilier is made is not exactly "artisan" and rather industrial in nature. So ~4 grand is a bit extreme.

It was an eye opener. My prior experience with high end bikes were a Colnago MxL and a Specialized Roubaix. This bike seems to combine some of the best qualities of both while at the same time adding the performance and handling of what can only be called a Superbike.

When you mount the bike it feels like you are sitting in the bike rather than on it. It makes the handling simply brilliant. It eails corners with no hesitation, heck it practically anticipates your decision, but at the same time when you want to go straight, hands free or no, it goes straight as an arrow. Hands free handling is actually more confident than the Roubaix.

The bike takes hard edged bumps as well as the Roubaix did. It does of course transmit road buzz a tad more bUT it is in the way of my old Colnago. It communicates the road surface to you but not in a harsh way. The only thing it missings is the tenor that a steel frame sings out when the cables vibrate against the frame on chip and seal. Even with this comfort though the frame is lively and simply leaps forward when you pedal. Front to back the bike simply feels unified, unlike other "super bikes" I have tried where the front is supremely stiff (including ride quality) and the rear end begs you to check if the tire is flat.

The balanced nature of this bike is it's strength. I am confident that the bike through both it's comfort and efficiency would get me to the finish with energy left over for a finishing kick. It makes me wonder what the Zero 7 had to compromise on to hit it's weight target.

[May 22, 2010]
Serotta 63
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

high quality- looks great and feels great. I like the stiffness - perfect.

Weakness:

So nice - I worry that I might scratch it..

2010 Model- White and Red paint-- XXL size. Built it up myself. Easy to cut the seat post -- specially if you know your crank to seat height. Great ride and handling, corners like it is glued to the pavement, ride is very similar to my Serotta Legend Ti - Wonderful. At first I thought why spend so much $$$$ but then you ride it and you say -- best buy I have ever made.

Similar Products Used:

Serotta Legend, Cervelo,

[Sep 15, 2009]
Rodney Roof
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Geometry. Super stiff rear and front. Italian good looks ;)

Weakness:

Price and perhaps clearcoat/paint quality.

Would give all 5's easily, but "value" rating is asked here, and there is no "value" in any frameset over 3K.
Been on many bikes, but this is my fav so far. Spot on geometry for me (key). Super stiff front end with the squared 1.5" lower head tube, great fork, integrated BB94 cups, integrated seatpost and trick chainstays. Very responsive rear with the compact triangle and the Mitsu 46-ton carbon (Toray for the rest). Jumps instantly to pedal power (overused phrase I know, but true). Rear feels like my other bike (Cervelo Soloist Carbon), but front is stiffer and descends better - absolutely laser straight on the first apex you try. Still manages to be smooth with the right tire choice/pressure. First race bunch sprint after 100K and I was never beat up, sprinted well (and nabbed 2nd) completely happy with my purchase.

WAY too many comments about the bike though (a good or bad thing, depending upon your perspective) as it is quite a great looking machine in person. Photos don't do it justice for sure.

Similar Products Used:

Litespeed Vortex, Pinarello Prince, Cervelo Soloist Carbon (crit bike)

[Jun 17, 2009]
painiac
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Responsive, comfortable, fast, incredible looking, Italian heritage, new technology, very few in the US.

Weakness:

Make sure you use a certified Willier dealer like Uranium that knows what they are doing when cutting the integrated seat post.

I purchased my 2009 Cento Uno in May from Uranium Cycles in Moab, UT which was great for 2 reasons. First, the customized service was fantastic and second, what better area to ride a new bike than Arches and Canyonlands. The bike is amazingly stiff, but dampens the road chatter. It is a climbing machine and very precise on the decents. My previous bike was a Colnago (another great Italian bike), but the Willier was better in everyway (except Colnago still has the best paint jobs).

[May 28, 2009]
bigbrett1971
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Everything about it

Weakness:

price

Upgraded from a Madone 5.1 ,this bike is a dream to ride.It is very responsive,fast,handle well and very comfortable.This is as good as it gets.

[Mar 13, 2009]
kgt
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Extremely confidence inspiring. Light, stiff and so stable.

Weakness:

None in comparison with any other carbon frame. There are smoothest steel or titanium frames maybe.

This is a great frame. It has this ride quality that very few carbon frames have. Classic geometry, light, stable, stiff but not harsh, responsive. Even if it weights around 950 gr it is so stable at descents and at high speed that you thing you ride a top steel frame of the past. When you climb though you come back to 2009. Its 1directional finish looks fantastic. It is the frame for the 100 years of Wilier and there is a reason for that.

Similar Products Used:

Colnago master x light, colnago dream, bianchi ml3, wilier evasion.

[Mar 01, 2009]
Niall
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lovely build quality
Very light
Very nice and stiff

Weakness:

Too stiff vertically: especially from the rear end, I just got rattled to bits on a track, and on uneven roads was even worse

A racing machine, but just not comfortable enough for me for longer rides out on the road

Similar Products Used:

Milani SL228: superb bike, very sporty, just loves being pushed hard through corners and you can ride it all day
Viner Maxima: very quick and smooth, and even Zip808's were OK on a blustery day.
V95 Nano: lovely stiff racy feel. possibly more a race bike than a club ride
Soloist Cervelo. good in a straight line...

[Nov 25, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

light, stiff, fast and smooth. Everything a pure cyclist could ask for in terms of performance. flats, climbs and descents.

Weakness:

expensive, may be too flashy and modern looking for some. strange head tube.

i have the 08' model and not the 07'. i got a very good deal on it. this bike rides like a dream. handling is very precise. the colorway on this bike is beautiful although it may be a little too flashy for some. with full record carbon groupie, the bike weighs just under 15 lbs. it seems to catch other riders eyes especially since there are very few wiliers out on the US roads. climbing seems to be more easy and descents are faster than ever. the head tube is a little strange being boxed instead of circled but so far i havent noticed any loss in aerodynamics. wilier says it provides more stiffness. overall, this is a great super bike and i cant wait to put even more mileage on it.

Similar Products Used:

scott cr1, giant tcr composite

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.