Polar Power System Power Meters

DESCRIPTION

The new Polar Power System was designed to make you a better cyclist. This system, along with the S720i, will redefine the way you train by combining heart rate and power (wattage) data side by side. Now you can analyze power output, pedaling efficiency and heart rate simultaneously. The weight savings versus traditional methods make it a tool you can use even when you're racing. Compatible with Polar S710i, S720i, S725, S725x.
Polar Power System includes:

  • Cadence sensor
  • Speed sensor
  • Chain speed sensor
  • Bike mount
  • User's guide
  • Two year warranty

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 21  
    [Jan 14, 2010]
    premium7
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    I wrote my review on this site: so paste the link so I don't have to re-write it!!

    http://www.cyclingnewsasia.com/index.php/en/tech/37-general/212-tech-review-the-polar-cs600x

    Weakness:

    Good product, a bit tricky when 'teaching' sensors

    I have used this product for some time and have really come to like it!

    Similar Products Used:

    Have been a polar user for 10 years so almost every model released for cyclists or multisports including the 725x

    [Mar 23, 2009]
    Dubbayoo
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    - Cost is a fraction of other power meters.
    - One of the lightest power systems available.
    - One unit can be used with several wheelsets, unlike Powertap.
    - Pro Trainer software is quite nice.

    Weakness:

    - Meticulous setup
    - clunky looking
    - under reports watts in larger cogs
    - would be nice if it worked with Cycling Peaks software as well or was ANT+ compatible.

    Review of CS600 w/Power

    Good value for the money. The product is not difficult to install if you're capable of reading instructions. It is somewhat meticulous to install correctly so you cannot just slap it on go to town. I do find it under reports wattage on the larger cogs (17+) due to the distance to the sensor. Also due to a 2-3 second delay in reporting you will not see accurate peak wattage during sprints. It is very good for intervals of 30+ seconds though.

    I use it mostly on the trainer. If you input interval sessions into Pro Trainer the unit will guide you thru a workout. I actually stopped using Spinervals because of this feature. I have my Level 4, 5 and 6 interval sessions all pre-programmed and I love it.

    If you expect 99% accuracy you will be disappointed. However for that AND wheel flexibility be prepared to pay $2,000 for an SRM or several Powertap hubs.

    This unit is certainly acceptable for weekend warriors like myself who are unwilling or unable to pay 3-4 times what the Polar unit costs. I paid $355 for mine after an MS Live rebate. I also sold my previous CS400 for $190 making my net cost $165. I could easily sell the used WIND unit alone on Ebay for $200 which would essentially leave me with the CS600 head unit at a profit. If I decide to sell the entire unit I'll come out ahead $200+.

    The new CS600X units have more memory and GPS capability.

    Similar Products Used:

    Kurt Kinetic Power Computer

    [Mar 10, 2009]
    spandaglis
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    If it worked as designed is a cheap power meter; not as accurate as other systems but reasonably repeatable

    Weakness:

    Doesn't work reliably - has worked properly on one ride in over a year. Most of the time it has been at the store being fixed.
    Non wireless fixings not reliable.
    Standard (reliable - wireless) Polar data is lost while this system is installed.
    Heavy.

    Product nice in theory as cheap power meter, but in practice a waste of time - simply too fragile and badly designed connections etc to be of use.

    Similar Products Used:

    Polar S625X with cadence & speed sensors

    [Feb 13, 2009]
    Coach Bill
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    It has red buttons?

    Weakness:

    Inconsistent recording. Downloading is a nightmare.

    BEWARE! This system does not work consistently. It is not a viable way to track and review your efforts. Inconsistent recording. Downloading is a nightmare.

    Similar Products Used:

    Powertap SL and Sl 2.4 wireless, Garmin 305, SRM

    [Dec 28, 2008]
    M__E
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    -consistent accuracy (upon proper installation)
    -great for capturing low gear efforts on long climbs.
    -'cheap' modular add on to HRM 4 power!

    Weakness:

    -Fragile system
    -peak power way low (1/2 SRM)
    -high gears big ring issues w/ accuracy
    -clunky design
    -wires prone to snag and break if not carefull installation.
    -not idiot proof!..not 4 all you joes out there..

    This review is for the first generation power sensor kit which is compatible with the S series heart monitor watch's:

    For the money you cannot expect this unit to be perfect..or even as good as an SRM/PT ect. But its consistantly accurate which is the most important thing. It does have issues with accuracy in the higher gear spectrum, but cruising on flats rollers and climbing on long hard terrain on low gears (alpine) it excels and matches the others. No swapping wheels (PT) or cranks (SRM) or numerous hubs needed (PT), and draughting not affected (ibike). It does have its problems though. pretty crappy/weak/clunky/fragile derailleur region, its been back to Polar numerous times and fixed..even replaced fully, but for where I want to measure power the benefits outweigh the negatives overall.
    If I had more money (to buy another shed load of wheels and a PT, or an SRM I would) but untill then this will do fine.

    Similar Products Used:

    none

    [Jun 04, 2008]
    Barteos
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    - exeptional value for money! I'd never spend £1000 on a power meter.
    - works with almost any non-full susp. bike
    - useful software included
    - popular brand

    Weakness:

    - ponentially not as accurate as "proper" meters (I'm unable to verify this), although apparently consistent
    - a bit of a clutter on a bike (personally.. It looks cool)
    - in a 1s. recording rate, only 2.50h of recording time available, (hence 4/5 rating)

    I don't have much time for writing to so I'll be quick.

    If you're concerned about installation, after having read other guys' reviews, then don't be.

    1. Read the ##!!**^ manual several times.
    2. Take plenty of time to install the sensor CORRECTLY!
    3. Attach wires with cable ties to eliminate the stress from connections.
    4. Enjoy.

    It works and it's a brilliant product for the intended user!

    P.S. Long term reliability TBC

    Similar Products Used:

    Polar CS400 HR

    [May 11, 2008]
    smokva
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    - could be good paper holder

    Weakness:

    This is for POWER unit only (not whole CS 600):

    - looks ugly
    - if you have unusual chainstay and cranks you'll need more arms than you have to install it
    - not easy to make it work
    - when you make it work, it doesn't work well (besed on other reviews because I could never make it work)

    My review is for CS600 with power. I bought my CS600 without power at first and it worked great. I'm very pleased with it. So, being happy with HR unit i thought POWER unit might be a good upgrade to my lovely CS600. Few days ago I bought one and this is where it all starts to go wrong.
    I spent all weekend trying to mount this f****n device. I don't know is it because of shape of my chainstay and cranks or what, but this stupid thing just refuses to install as it should. In the end I had to use both big and small rubber pads to have the unit high enough to the chain. I won't even describe what I had to do not to touch unit with crankarm. All in all I was installing it for two days.
    Once I installed it as it should be I noticed that unit will not register cadence magnet no metter how close it is. Played with some stronger magnet in front of sensor and got green led flashing.
    Said...OK...will bother with cadence magnet later after I pair damn device with HR unit.
    Tourned pedals for few times...got red and green led indicating all is OK...and than...HR unit can't find the device.
    That's where I had it enough...I spent more hours installing it than I spent riding last month.
    Will take it back to the shop and if they can make it work in less than hour than OK...if not, will ask for refound.

    Main Polar CS600 HR unit (with speed/cadence sensor) is a great thing to have, but power unit is something I deeply regret I gave my money for. I have a feeling I paid to be their new product tester. Unit is badly designed, has many flaws...do not buy it!
    If you are buying it, ask for shop staff to mount it...if they won't find a shop that will :) Pay for it only when you have it working on the bike...not a second before. When I pay € 290 (power only) for something I like when it works.

    Similar Products Used:

    De Rosa Team frameset
    Campagnolo Scirocco wheels

    [Apr 28, 2008]
    aesiegel
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Price, weight and excellent software.

    Weakness:

    Asthetics, setup issues

    This is a great unit when you get it working. I too had the same problems as the previous posters and was about to send it back for a refund. I then found that the issue, at least with my unit, was a poor electrical contact where the wire from the battery pack enters the WIND sensor (paddle on the chainstay). At the risk of voiding the warranty, I soldered some fine copper speaker wire into the female side of the plug and that sugged up the contact. I've now had 1200 miles of trouble free power readings.
    I put my bike on a computrainer and the power readings were within a fews watts. I am now very happy with the unit.

    [Apr 10, 2008]
    ccayer
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    NONE!

    Weakness:

    It doesn't work, Polar offers no support or assistance and can't even recommend a good installer in their dealer network.

    This is the worst product I've ever used. It rarely works even when installed properly. Polar has done nothing to help the situation either. There tech support line is horrible, Polar offers no support IMHO. Save your money for a real system like the SRM. I was looking for power measurement that is not wheel dependent and I didn't want to change my cranks. I guess I'll go with SRM and spend the kids college tuition.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    [Feb 17, 2008]
    Dctrofspin
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    Good looking headunit, nice readout, great when it works

    Weakness:

    It rarely works!

    Don't bother with this product. When it works, it's a great little unit and the computer part is great. But the WIND power sensor .. and I've had two different power sensors installed .. has about a 60 percent failure rate. You'll read dozens of analysis on why...batteries, sensor placement, etc. .. bottom line is that for this kind of dough, it's not worth it.

    Similar Products Used:

    Power tap sl

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.