CycleOps Fluid 2 Trainers

Best Price At

DESCRIPTION

  • New design with "Power Band" Technology allows for distinct resistance level changes without reaching to a lever on the unit.
  • Resistancne level varies automatically based on your cadence and wheel speed directly by using your bikes own gears.
  • More power allows for intense interval and strength building workouts.
  • Cooling mechanism increases life of the resistance unit (patent pending)
  • Power varies from less than 20 watts to over 725 watts (at 22.5 mph)

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 37  
    [Nov 09, 2010]
    chris
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Collapsible for storage, sturdy design.

    Weakness:

    None.

    The CycleOps indoor training unit is quiet and works great. Slicks work best. Regular treads tend to "spit" out the back.

    [Aug 12, 2010]
    NZRaglan
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Very little noise, portability, look

    Weakness:

    Developed a knock / ticking noise, but was replaced... so, not really a weakness due to superior customer service

    Purchased this for Winter Sleet / Hail / Ice... hate using them, but this is about as good as it gets... nice a quiet. Recently it developed a 'ticking' noise inside the unit... the entire unit was replaced when I returned it for a service. Awesome product, awesome after sales service... thanks Matt @ cycleways and Cycleops

    [Apr 06, 2010]
    shrinkingfootprint
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Easy to use and set up.

    Weakness:

    None.

    My original Cycleops Fluid 2 developed a vibration after years of hard use.
    Saris gave excellent warranty advise, looking for solutions, and when none worked, they did not hesitate to send a replacement unit free of charge.
    The new unit has a winter's use and works perfectly well with no vibration. Years ago I bought a second one for my son and his has remained problem free.

    Similar Products Used:

    Cheap Performance trainer, not worth the time or money.

    [Nov 16, 2009]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    True road resistance, solid frame and excelent build quality

    Weakness:

    True road resistance, wheel clamping mechanism seems a little cumbersome and somewhat loose.

    Replaced my aging magnetic trainer with this model to teach a spin class with. What a world of difference. High quality and progressive resistence make for a HARD workout. Great machine, but the clamping mechanism for the wheel could be a little better

    Similar Products Used:

    Magnura Trainer, Cyclops PVC rollers

    [May 03, 2009]
    crisbay
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Silent

    Weakness:

    Resistance does not simulate actual road workout. My stats just went beyond my actual road average on this trainer.

    I agree with a previous review that this may not be the trainer for a high wattage cyclist as the resistance forces to spin the biggest chain ring and the smallest cogs.

    Similar Products Used:

    Performance's Ascent and Kurt Kinetic Road Machine

    [Feb 24, 2009]
    DMC
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    control resistance by shifting and very quiet. EZ setup.

    Weakness:

    not really portable if thats what you are looking for

    Product is smooth and quiet. Good resistance and despite what I have read mine was level and w/o issues (although I agree the instructions are in Martian). Great for long spins and interval work.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mag Trainer, Minoura trainer

    [Dec 06, 2008]
    Fatboy1963
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Sturdy, reliable and quiet with no need to mess around with resistance settings..

    Weakness:

    Assembly instructions written in Martian; bulky to store. The cam handle used to move the roller back and forth is a bit flimsy. I broke mine with a bit of over enthusiastic tightening and had to get it replaced.

    Am heading into my third Chicago winter with this unit and am extremely satisfied. The bulk of the unit is sturdy and tough and has done everything I have ever asked of it. I train using a heart rate monitor and I have done every conceivable workout on it (except sprints) with no complaints. Once you get used to it, the lever used to clamp the bike to the trainer works like a dream: there is no quicker or easier way to attach a bike to a trainer. As for "road feel," it is not a quality I value. So long as I can train at the cadences and heart rates required by my work out I couldn't care less. Besides, unless you are Joe Average in terms of your weight and power output, no trainer is going to feel like the road. I weigh 220lbs and generate 400W just to get moving in the real world, so, for me, searching for some kind of "road simulator" would be an exercise in futility - certainly at this price.

    BTW, it is possible to turn the Fluid 2 into a cheap and cheerful power trainer by investing a mere $50 in a Kurt Kinetic power computer. Not for the purist, obviously, but plenty good enough for the rest of us.

    Similar Products Used:

    Performance brand magnetic trainer. OK but noisy as hell and broke after being subjected to hard winter use.

    [Mar 14, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    I had a wind trainer and moving to a fluid trainer was a big step up for me.

    Weakness:

    Durability

    I didn’t pay for the one I have, but if I did, I would be extremely unhappy.
    The newer models don’t have the crank style handle shown on this model for good reason. I broke mine twice. The first time the factory sent me a new one, the second time I was so frustrated, I decided to buy a new, better trainer. The stationary plate that connects to screw that raised the resistance mechanism bent. The handle on the end of that screw stripped. It didn’t provide enough resistance to get out of the saddle to simulate climbing. The resistance mechanism makes a clicking noise. The unit wasn’t level and I felt that I was leaning to one side. I was surprised how heavy it was. When moving from one location to another, the folding legs can be a finger pincher.

    Similar Products Used:

    none

    [Mar 08, 2008]
    terrance
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    it has no strengths it broke

    Weakness:

    to heavy & leak after

    I have the original trainer after two months I noticed a leak I spent how much on this give me a break. Returned it with no problem sold the new one on ebay.

    Similar Products Used:

    I get my training on the real road

    [Feb 14, 2008]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Quiet, Smooth, Compact, Great Resistance, road-like feel. A must have unit for the serious cyclist.

    Weakness:

    None.

    This is my first trainer. I was going to settle for the Cycleops Mag+ but after reading the reviews on the 2008 Fluid 2, I stepped up and bought it. This Trainer will not disappoint you. Real smooth and Quiet. I like how the harder you pedal, the more resistance it gives you for that road feeling. Great for off season spinning.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.