Shimano Dura-Ace FH-7700 Hubs

DESCRIPTION

  • High-Precision Borozon Polished Bearing Races
  • Corrosion-Proof Stainless Steel Balls
  • Titanium Freewheel Body
  • Ultra-Lightweight Quick Release
  • Freehub

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 10  
    [Nov 21, 2009]
    Ron McCain
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Durability

    Weakness:

    incapatibility with other models

    7700 D/A Hubs have never given any problem. I have five bikes with D/A equipment and just one bottom bracket has failed.

    Similar Products Used:

    Campy

    [Mar 25, 2003]
    tookie
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    light

    Weakness:

    bearing quality is crumby. not any better than ultegra or even 105.

    this hub is junk. save the money and get the ultegra. the DA is lightweight, but the bearing quality is sh*t. even with fresh bearings and grease, these things grind and make a lot of noise. i used to own an older 8 speed freelhub that was 3x as smooth as the newer 9 speed trash.

    Similar Products Used:

    8spd DA, 8 and 9 spd ultegra...

    [Dec 24, 2002]
    all_weather_cyclist
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    you can hand them down to your grandkids.

    Weakness:

    errrmmm ... none

    the DuraAce front and rear hubs have outlasted 4 pairs of rims. Over 20,000 miles and only stripped down twice.

    Similar Products Used:

    105, XTR, Campy Record, Ultegra

    [Apr 26, 2002]
    Brycycle
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    Nice look, front hub is great.

    Weakness:

    As above and the price.

    Top of the line. Do they preform this way? No. The back hub has been grinding since I''ve used them I bought them slightly used, 1000km. Took them to the shop and found out there is a divit/wear starting to form in the interior of the hub, I would assume it was caused by the fact that the bearing aren''t sealed. I''m really disapointed by this considering they are supposed to be top of the line. My Rolf comps were a much better set-up. And to replace the hub? I can get a full set of mavic cosmos'' for only $100 more.

    Similar Products Used:

    rolf vectors, ultegras.

    [Feb 17, 2002]
    boneman
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Ease of maintenance, quality of materials, and build quality.

    Weakness:

    Price?????

    Superb finish, nice choice of materials, trouble free.

    Similar Products Used:

    N, S, C Record, Ultegra, Hi-E, Phil and Goldtec.

    [Oct 20, 2001]
    Martinello
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Durability, smooth rolling, weight, excellent finish.

    Weakness:

    A bit pricey but worth the penny.

    These hubs go on like the DuraCell bunny! I''ve put appr. 30.000 km''s into my current hubset without ANY problems. They still ride as smoothly as ever. These hubs are excellent wether you want to build a reliable set of training wheels or a set of top grade racing wheels!

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra, 105''s, Mavic, Corima.

    [Jan 28, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Great look, smoothness, weight.
    Top of Shimano brand

    Weakness:

    The dust cap wrecked easily. After a few times of reservice, it loosen and wrecked.

    You may need a hub with better seal if you live in a city with rough roads. Not very durable compared to ultegra or campy products.
    The weight is very good. Can be build to a featherlight wheel.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra, RSX hubs

    [Apr 27, 2000]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Light weight, smooth riding and quiet.

    Weakness:

    price and grease

    These are a truely well built hubset. However the grease needs to be replaced as soon as possible. Someone told me that shimano's grease must have been designed at NASA by thesame people who created tang. No argument with that statement so far. Comes with a stickey goo for grease and there isn't always enough. Other wise a great fast product.

    Similar Products Used:

    Ultegra

    [Jun 21, 2000]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    got 8speed last year made N.O.S. cheap! tough, dura ace brand name. rebuildable

    Weakness:

    REPLACE THE SHIMANO GREASE! IT REEKS! USE SLICK50 TEFLON 1GREASE FROM AUTO STORE, HAVE USED FOR 3 YEARS

    if you can't afford Chris king, get these! rebuild right out of the box with teflon grease, and roll forever! seals could be better, but they are pretty sweet. my old hub is great! i t is unbelievably quick-engaging and noiseless.

    Similar Products Used:

    Cheapo hubs

    [Apr 13, 2001]
    Anonymous

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Great weight, bearing quality, no annoying hockey card in spokes sound

    Weakness:

    Do not even ride with the stock grease. The seals rub initially

    This is a good hubset for a resonable price. However, the grease is the worst product ever produced by Shimano (even worse than biopace). I have owned this hubset for a week and have approx. 400km on them. They started to make an annoying click within this time period, so I took them apart. To my surprise, there was very little grease left, and mainly oil. At first, I thought that perhaps shimano had left the grease out, but on inspection of my front hub, the same situation had occurred. as well, the right dust seal (against freehub body) had been rubbing. After carefully filing, and repacking with good grease (Chevron Ultra-Duty Grease) the hubs were absolutely perfect. I give the hubs a 4, and the grease the lowest number possible. On another note, the recomendation of teflon grease, or white lithium for that matter, by other reviewers is not a good idea! This grease is fine if you want to repack your hubs on a weekly basis, however, consider a slightly more viscous grease for hub applications, as they require more lubricant than any other bearing on a bicycle. Initially, first two rides, with a more viscous grease, the hubs may not move as qucikly, but after this break-in they will spin smoother and last for a much longer time than with the lighter teflon or light lithium based products. This is just a tip, what do i know?

    Similar Products Used:

    Just about every shimano hub, hugi's, chris king

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.