Velox 51 Rim Strip

DESCRIPTION

700C roll, 9/16" width

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[Nov 17, 2008]
Kuma601
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Stays put works very well and applies easily.

Weakness:

A minor gripe. Try taking it off after an extended time to replace a stripped nipple. The adhesive that stays behind on the rim is. :( Who wants to clean that, it is a PITA so you just apply another or use a non-adhesive competitors. If the leftover adhesive is tacky enough, it will cause the competitors woven rim strip to fray some if you have to remove it. May be the best of both, the adhesive keeps the competitors strip from shifting. IDK...;)

Tube protection...pretty simple, put it on, to prevent nipple or spoke holes from puncturing or abrading the tube.

Similar Products Used:

Specialized rim strip

[Sep 29, 2006]
smokey422
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Protects the tube very well, economical, durable.

Weakness:

I've heard its' extra thickness can make it hard to put on a tight tire, but I've not experienced this myself.

Rim tape has a pretty simple job, it protects the tube from the spoke nipples. I've not had good luck with some of the things used, like the rubber strips that can move around and leave your tubes exposed for a potential flat. Velox tape is the best thing I've found. It stays put and is thick enough to keep the sharp edges of the nipples from poking through. It's also very durable, mine's been in more than three years and is just as good as new. All that and it's cheap to boot, definitely a five star product!

Similar Products Used:

Rubber rim strips, Michelin plastic strips, duct tape.

[Jul 16, 2006]
orennoah
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

No one has mentioned what I think in the best feature of Velox. Asides from always working and being completely forgetable, Velox is white!! That means that when you're fixing a flat on the side of the road at dusk, dawn or at night, you can see if your tube is well placed and not subject to being pinched by the tire. You just can't do that with the dark red competitor. (I know, I tried. I ripped out the other stuff and replaced with Velox the next day.)

Weakness:

Low tech, but works perfectly.

Sometimes the original is still the best.

Similar Products Used:

Black crap that came with stock wheels, red plastic stuff that came with some other stock wheels.

[Dec 03, 2004]
shrap
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Cheap Widely Available Adhesive prevents it from moving around and causing flats

Weakness:

Thick, Makes Mounting Tires More Difficult Cannot Reuse

Good old Velox. I use this on all my rims, unless the rim is oversized and makes mounting tires difficult. Velox lasts a long time, and doesn't crack or splinter.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Rim Strips Other Plastic Rim Strips Performance Brand Cloth Rim Strips (terrible)

[May 24, 2004]
AJS
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

~ Sticks well to the rim. ~ Doesn't tear or crack. ~ Sold everywhere.

Weakness:

~ Can soak up water, creating more weight.

Not the absolute lightest rim strip on the market at 15-20 gms./roll, but it does the job it's supposed to do.

[Apr 22, 2002]
NiktheV
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

It''s the only product that ranks with King headsets and Mavic rims for reliability!

Weakness:

Uhh....weight. But hey, if you really want to save roating weight, you can leave the cap off your valve. Or, drill out your tires!

I''ve used the various incarnations of Velox rim tape for the past 25 or so years, on everything from Mavic Heliums to the Super Champion 58''s (remember those?) I rode on my post-graduation tour of Europe.

Similar Products Used:

Sux, I mean Rox. Ritchey (the only product of his I didn''t like). Various no-names. And the crummy plastic strip that comes with Heliums and Cosmics.

[Dec 30, 2001]
Martinello
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Price, durability, ease of installation.

Weakness:

Not super high-tech but then again - there isn''t that much to rim strips?

Install and forget! Once mounted this rim strip will probably outlast most of your rims. I''ve had a strip of Velox last 3 years exposed to all kinds of weather. In time it will get worn and needing replacement but at 1,50$ a piece - what are you waiting for?

Similar Products Used:

Michelin plastic

[Mar 31, 2000]
Alan F.
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Doesn't shift around, can handle high pressure.

Weakness:

none

These rim stips can handle high pressures with out giving you a flat. I was even able to reuse a strip when one of my wheels got ruined and my new wheel didn't come with a rim strip.

[Apr 01, 2000]
doug
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Has never caused me to have a flat. Handles high pressure better than any other strip.

Weakness:

Weight if you are a fanatic and don't care about durability.

The only rim strip I will ever use. I hate flats, especially ones that are caused by poor choice of rim strip (i.e. my fault).

Similar Products Used:

Almost everything.

[Apr 10, 2000]
david
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stopped those annoying pinch flats caused by the spoke holes. Durability. High pressure capability.

Weakness:

Weight, but since I don't race, it doesn't bother me. Almost too wide, but the narrow version was too small.

After suffering through many stupid flats, that seemed to appear out of nowhere(I lost 3 tubes while the bike was in the utility room alone), I thought it was me, or just bad luck when changing tubes. However, I finally noticed that all the holes were on the bottom of the tube, right on the spoke holes in the rim.
Well, I finally had enough, and after reading about Velox, I decided it was time to make a change. I ended up using the wider version, the narrow ones seemed to small for the rims I have. This was the best and simplest upgrades I have ever made. Flats have stopped, and I no longer have to worry if I have enought spare tubes with me while I ride.
Yes, adhesive cotton is heavier than thin rubber strips, but the install-and-forget confidence of this product is very reassuring. They are cheap anti-flat insurance for almost any rider.

Similar Products Used:

Just those cheap rubber rim strips that came with the bike.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.