Continental Ultrasport Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

Continental Ultrasport Road Tire has an attractive tread design and a choice of coloured treads that can turn any race bike into a superb visual masterpiece. UltraSport tires make a stunning impact on every training ride and are ideal for newcomers to roa

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 72  
[Apr 11, 2020]
cfponcho


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

These tires are great trainers! I'm confused by a lot of the other reviews about these, regarding flats. I am approaching 1000 miles on my pair, and have only experienced two flats with them. I live in Philadelphia, and here we have the Schuylkill River Trail (SRT) to ride on. When riding out the city, there are some sections on bad road, and some sections on gravel along the tow path section. These tires have only help up on the SRT. The two flats I've had were on rides into NJ (go figure). They are great for their price, have decent grip, and have been reliable for myself.

Weakness:

None. These tires have treated me well.

Purchased:
New  
[Jun 02, 2019]
noahthomas77


OVERALL
RATING
2
Strength:

Looks like other Conti tires. Rolls smoothly when new. Really good learning experience. It’s worth spending more to get a tire that lasts.

Weakness:

Tread wore completely flat in 1000 miles, full of nicks and holes. Several flats!! Oh and they’re really hard to install. Broke 2 levers and punch flatted 2 tubes, and I’m an experienced mechanic.

Price Paid:
16
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2018
[Apr 29, 2019]
oscarrridin


OVERALL
RATING
1
Strength:

Cheap, available in good widths.

Weakness:

Many many punctures. You'll save less on the cheap price tyre than you will on fresh inners when it punctures. No wait, you'll save less on the cheap tyre than on the little patches you use to repair them!😂

Price Paid:
14
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2019
[Nov 10, 2018]
ashklong


OVERALL
RATING
1
Strength:

None. Absolutely. These tires should be shredded and turned into track mulch.

Weakness:

I have never felt so strongly compelled to murder an inanimate object. Two tubes, many repair kit pieces/parts, and one exceedingly frustrated boyfriend later, I still cannot ride my bike. Why? Because you'll get a flat in these tires if you look at them funny. You'll get a flat in these tires if it's the second Tuesday of the month. You'll get a flat in these tires if the weatherman predicts it will be mostly cloudy today with a chance of showers later in the afternoon. And, god forbid you should try to fix a flat after one occurs (and it will occur, again and again, as sure as the sun rises and sets). You can watch in wonder as your repair tools snap in half from these unrelenting tires, plastic pieces zinging haphazardly into the faces of passersby. And, 45 minutes later, as the Lycra clinging to your arms and legs starts to bead with sweat and mud from having wrestled these tires into submission, you'll ask yourself, "Why didn't I just go for a run today instead?"

Price Paid:
included with bike
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2018
[Feb 26, 2018]
gman107


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

smooth ride. one flat in 3000 miles. cheap.

Price Paid:
16
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2017
[Sep 13, 2017]
v8powerage

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, grip

Weakness:

They don't have "4000 s" on the sidewall, that's why some people will never buy them.

There's so much nonsense in some of the reviews here that I felt I had to write my own.

I've been using those tires for years now, current pair has 20.000km (over bad roads and gravel) on them and I haven't got any puncture until last week, but the rear tire wear indicator almost dissapeared so no surprise here.

These are not slow tires, I often cruise at 40km/h without any effort, they also have very good acceleration, I'm faster than cars off the traffic lights so I'd say they are pretty good. I climb 12% or bigger hills without having to get off the saddle so can't imagine what improvement more expensive tires could give me here effort wise.

They have very durable sidewalls as well, even if you bruise them, which happens when you try to navigate around speed hump, the crack doesn't get any bigger. They also have amazing grip in corners. I have used 23c as well as 25c wire bead type, currently I have 25c, I'm running them at 7.5bar which is in the middle of recommended air pressure.

[Jun 20, 2016]
George
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Love the way they feel on the bike, smoother than my last set (Continental Super Sport), corner better, feel grippy. Can pump up to 100psi without feeling harsh

Weakness:

After maybe a few hundred miles I got a bulge/twist on the back tire so had to replace it. Did not hit anything that I'm aware of, maybe overinflation due to high temps lately?

Overall still pretty happy with the tires, mount easily, love the feel, and you can find them for ~$20 each, so even with the failure which may have been partly my fault (possible over-inflation) still not a bad value.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Super Sport 27x1 1/8"

[May 24, 2016]
bike 117

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

over 4400 miles they came with my Scott Metrix hybrid just starting to show the bead , used on roads both smooth and rough & plenty of gravel . Mostly on 40/70 mile rides with plenty of hills

Weakness:

none

just ordered the same tires/ hopefully they perform like the original set

[Apr 02, 2016]
Whaddeva

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great Value

Weakness:

Cannot find one

Got them on my new Wheeler Route 1.5 bike. Made 2000+ km in the past 5 months. Not a single problem, great on dry and does pretty well on wet roads, smooth, great control. They do not look tired or terribly worn. Still plenty of life in them. No punctures or flats, hope continues so.

[Mar 08, 2016]
Alfred Loya
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Can't say.

Weakness:

Not dependable

Purchased new rims put these on ten minutes into ride. Air leaks out from day one on rear tire , front one was fine.

Similar Products Used:

Gator Skins these were great.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.