Hutchinson Fusion Comp Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

700x23, Black/Silver. Performance: Day in and day out. The new referance model in performance road tires. The Fusion Comp series offer the ultimate balance of output / grip / weight ratio and puncture resistance. This all-weather tire range with improved performance and road handling using Hutchinson's 4 Extrusion technology for better grip in turns. Hutchinson's very best all around competition racing tire. 210g

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 20  
[May 21, 2010]
chillin21
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Cheap tire.

Weakness:

You get what you pay for. Tread wears down way to much.

I bought these tires cause they match my bike. I am really disappointed in these tires because they only last about a year. I am on my second pair, and the tread has already split (<1500 miles). The same happened with my first pair.

[Jul 14, 2009]
juan
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

the most worst tire ever i haved

Weakness:

worst bad very low quality

i used only like 300 miles and 7 flats

[Jul 09, 2009]
Darsh
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Didn't blow up right away

Weakness:

Blew up just after right away. Don't look at them too hard or they might split a sidewall.

Blew out rear sidewall. Didn't see any glass in the road, just pebbles. Tire had less than 500 miles. Sticking with Michelin and Conti from here on out.

Similar Products Used:

Mich Pro2, Conti GP 4000

[Jun 27, 2009]
Anonymous
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

None - I perplexed by why the tire blew-out.

Weakness:

Weak side-walls.

I purchased these tire as training tires for my tri-bike. I weight 165lbs and inflate my tires during training ride between 95-100 lbs to soften the ride on by aluminum frame bike. With less than 125 miles on them, the rear side wall blew-out. I did not hit any pot-holes or sharp bumps during the blow-out at 30 mph.

I did not trust the tires and returned them back to Performance. The sales person informed me that I did not have enought pressure in the tires or it may be a glass cut. I have rode over 10,000 miles with Michelin Ironman's and Pro's with the same pressure without a blow-out and I never had a glass cut in the sidewall. I'm back with Michelins.

[Oct 18, 2008]
Topo Gigio
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Roll and corner very well while they last, very easy to mount, look good.

Weakness:

Too fragile, cut very easily, don't last very long.

These tires roll very nicely, corner well too. However, they are too delicate to be used daily. I bought four about six months ago and two are already destroyed. On one of them, the tread wore all the way down to the casing just because I locked up the rear brake and slid. On the other, the sidewall got cut when I went over a rock on the road. These are first time occurrences for me with any tire.
I rode Michelin Pro 2 Race for a long time and never had these problems.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Pro 2 Race

[May 05, 2008]
updown11
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

PRICE, ON SALE.

Weakness:

SEEM TO WEAR A-LITTLE FAST.

TIRES WORK WELL UPHILL, DOWNHILL AND IN THE CORNERS. I RUN MY TIRES BETWEEN 90-110 PSI FOR MORE COMFORT, I'M ABOUT 185 LBS.

Similar Products Used:

WHATEVER GOOD TIRES ON-SALE.

[Dec 01, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Good grip.

Weakness:

Crack and split easily, too short a useful lifespan.

Came with a new bike. Just an OK tire, rode for one and a half seasons. I got one flat, but that was from a metal shard that would flat any tire. They seemed to corner well, and inspired confidence. What I liked less was they cracked and split fairly easily. I felt nervous because in places the sidewall looked to be separating from the bead. No catastrophic failures, perhaps because I replaced them in time. I won't buy them again, there are better choices.

Similar Products Used:

Vredestein Fortezza (good, but do not run them at 160psi). Continental 3000 (good enough). Serfas Secas RS (just installed)

[Jul 29, 2007]
jhamlin38
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light weight. Fit Neuvations well, cornering is sensational wet/dry fast/slow, on smooth or rough surfaces. comfortable, "big" sidewalls.

Weakness:

None really. Felt flat, disconnected at moderate psi. Must be ridden at 100psi.

Looked long and hard for something decent for Neuvation wheels. The sidewalls are pretty tall, and they seem big for a 23. However, they are light, very grippy in wet/dry hard slow/high speed cornering. They are especially grippy over choppy, rough hard corners. Best cornering clinchers I've ever ridden.
Haven't had any problems with cuts despite unavoidable broken glass on most my routes. (whew!)
I went out yesterday in a hurry, and my psi, upon return was around 90psi. I lost confidence in them, and they felt like they were rolling off the rims due to lower pressure. I even had to look down to see if they were coming off. Fortunately, not a problem

Similar Products Used:

Conti ultrasport (hated 'em).Michelin Pro's (nice), Forte Kevlar Pro (loved 'em), Michelin Megamium (liked 'em)

[Jul 04, 2007]
Doug
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Price and looks

Weakness:

Exteremly prone to flats, easily cut, difficult to mount

AVOID. I had a cut in the rear tire after the first ride (23 miles). I had a flat on the rear tire after 45 miles. I had a flat on the front tire after 54 miles.

I ride 23 miles one-way to work on a highway shoulder. I bought the Hutchinson Fusion Comps because of good reviews and good price. These are not for riding on any surface that might have the slightest amount of debris on them.

These are getting mailed back to Performance for a full refund.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Ultra Gatorskin

[May 16, 2007]
jsavner
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very, very light. Good grip, even in wet. Low rolling resistance.

Weakness:

Thin belt allows a typical flat to become a tire ending event.

Picked these out based on great price and low weight. Tire is very light and has a great ride. That being said, the tire proved to be inappropriate for my needs. A small peice of glass got imbedded into the tread and the tire is toast. Prior to that event didn't have any flats but I did try to be careful given the other reviews I had read. I'm 200lbs so I might be pushing the limits of it. My wife also has a pair and loves them. No problems with hers so far. I have only put about 400 miles on them and it was starting to wear. Going back to Specialized All Season Pros...similar weight but were more durable. If you can find them on-sale they are a heck of deal. Never ridden on any other near race tire so hard to compare qualities with similar spec tires (slick, low weight etc.)

Similar Products Used:

Specialized All Condition Pro

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.