Hutchinson Fusion Long Distance Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Bead K
  • Tread/ Sidewall Black/Dark Gray
  • ISO 23-622
  • PSI 115
  • Weight (grams) 230

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Sep 23, 2010]
Clevor
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Thick tread

Weakness:

Cracks in rubber and under layer of outer tread at <1000 miles, heavy, lousy customer service from Hutchinson

Been riding on these tires for around 2 years, do a lot of climbing so not a lot of mileage. There are minute cracks on the sidewall and the outer tread seems to be lifting off the tire, as you can see longer cracks running around the circumference just under the thicker outer tread area. I contacted Hutchinson several times to ask if this was a dangerous condition but they never replied each time. Won't buy Hutchinson tires again.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Pro Race 2/3
Conti 4000S
Kenda Kaliente

[Aug 04, 2008]
phil
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

excellant grip wet or dry. rigid sidewalls, not chintzy to look at, seem just as fast as any other tyre.
Puncture resistance is peace of mind.
Easy to mount.
Dark colour suits frame

Weakness:

Inital outlay is expensive, but allready they've earned their keep.
Slightly heavier than some.

Was using bontrager race x lites which came with the bike. Since changing over to hutchinson fusion 2, i've had no flats for over 1000 km. Have ridden through heaps of roadside accident glass,broken plastic which were too late to avoid with no puncture or damage. Even over a broken VB stubbie.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager race x lite, Specialized, michellin,Panaracer

[Feb 04, 2008]
ru1-2cycle
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ease of mounting on Neuvation rims.
Durable, reliable and comfortable thread.
Puncture resistant and low rolling resistance.

Weakness:

The rear tire thread wears out faster than the front, but I weight 185 lbs.

These tires were a breeze to mount on my Neuvation M28 Aero2's. The thread is beefy but does not interfere with the perception of rolling resistance. The thread is also very long lasting and puncture resistant, no flats in 6 months of daily training rides of 30-40 miles, over roads in poor repair, lots of pot holes and debris. I have ridden over broken glass, and even loose torns over the desert southwest NM/AZ and no flats yet! They are also very comfortable on my 100-120 miler weekend epic rides and make a soothing humming sound at speeds >20 MPH- very soothing when I am solo riding through the pain...

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria Zaffiro Pro's
Vittoria Rubino Pro's

[Oct 24, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability ( I change them out yearly and use the older tires on my rollers)

Weakness:

NOTHING

I have used these tires faithfully on Texan roads and by far they are the most durable and best handling in dry and wet conditions. I stock up on them since I use them on my triathlon and road racing bikes.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Ultra 2000, Vittoria Integra, Bontrager UltraSport, Hutchinson Top Speed, Vredestein Ricorso

[Aug 08, 2007]
pbird74
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Firm, corner well, dependable, light.

Weakness:

None

Great tires. Mine have a few cuts in them after 1600 miles, but I feel confident in waiting to change them. They're very fast.

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria Rubino Pro Slick- good handling, but wear fast.

[Aug 07, 2007]
Vitix2
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiffness, puncture resistent to the 10th power, high-stiff sidewalls.

Weakness:

They are not the best looking tires in the world. They are basically all black, but they do have a dark grey stripe running down the middle. While the stripe is subdued, it is just visable enough to make you ask, "what is the purpose of an ugly grey stripe?" Additionally, I'm not a big fan of the look of the Hutchinson log on the tire. This is very picky, but vanity is a part of life. Why else do people ride $5,000 bikes?

If these were car tires they would definitely be Z rated. They add a dimension of stiffness to your wheels/ride. moreover, they are tough as nails and after 2,00 miles I've had no punctures and the tires are showing no signs of breaking down.

When you stand and push big gears on these tires you can look down and see no squishy movement at all. This may be a bit anal, but if you like stiffness in your ride, these tires will contribute.

Similar Products Used:

A gazzilion different tires, and these are right up there with the supercomp HD in terms of puncture resistance, but at 230 grams, they seem like the lightest performance tire that offers exceptional puncture resistance on the market.

[May 25, 2007]
shelbyfv
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

ride, durability, price

Weakness:

no faster up a hill than I am

These tires ride well, last a long time and are easy to remove and install. They seem less inclined to cut than other tires. Especially nice at this price.

Similar Products Used:

Vredestein Fortezza- cut easily. Hutchinson Carbon Comp- wore out quickly. Specialized All conditions Pro- expensive.

[Mar 26, 2007]
James Pharaon
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Very tough. Grips the road well on hills. High sidewalls.

Weakness:

Available only in black (that I could find.) I really wanted red trim.

I love this tire. On a ride this weekend in Texas bluebonnet country I decided to try these out a new route that ended up including about 5 miles of rock road. These tires took quite a beating, but stood up very well. I was slinging and pinging rocks everywhere from under the tires. No cuts, no punctures, no flats. My old tires wouldn't have stood up. And they provide a great ride, too. They felt very fast downhill and sturdy during turns. I'd recommend these to anyone.

Similar Products Used:

Kenda Koncept

[Jan 16, 2007]
bayport 24
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Durability, handling, and resistance to punctures. Good looking and easy to mount on my Velocity Spartacus Pro wheelset.

Weakness:

NONE

Bought these to replace my Hutchinson Top Speeds which had lasted only 50 miles and seemed to be magnets for Texas road debris. Once I mounted these tires, I noticed that the treads were more solid and that the tire did not flex when cornering at high speeds. Riding on the same routes that toasted my Hutchinson Top Speeds, these tires demonstrated great durability and were surefooted in dry and wet conditions. I am having to buy a new pair after my front tire got slashed by a razor blade-like fragment. This debris would have slashed a car tire, let alone my bike tire.

Similar Products Used:

Hutchinson Top Speeds - too supple and puncture easily
Continental Ultra 2000 - sidewalls crack but great handling tire in all conditions
Vredestein Ricorso - heavy
Vittoria Pro Integra - tread shreds easily
Michelin Eriliums - mushy handling

[Dec 30, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Durability, low rolling resistance, hang on well

Weakness:

none

These tyres came with the bike and have lasted about 5,000 km on rough roads with lots of junk on them. They are very resistant to cuts and nicks from glass and the like. They also handle fine and roll fast. Light enough for competing and durable enough for training.

Similar Products Used:

Hutchinson fusion comp

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.