Hutchinson Krono Competition Gold Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Smooth rolling centre tread and a smooth file tread on the edges for confident cornering.
  • High carbon rubber compound.
  • Supple and light casing.

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 15  
    [Nov 14, 2004]
    Atomic_Frog
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    - Easy to put on - low rolling resistance - Good grip - Very supple

    Weakness:

    - I seem to recall my other tires lasted quite a bit longer.

    I know this is old, but might as well put it up in case anyone wants other Hutchinson's in the future. This is a great tire. I'd buy it again easily. It rides as well as one my my old favourites (also discontinued), a Vittoria model. It lasted probably about 2500-3000km max. It hasn't quite died but I worry .... well, $100 for a new pair is gonna seem like nothing next time I round a curve coming down the mountain at 60km/hr. It's got a nice feel to the tire (good rounded profile). No particular problem with flats, had a few. Puncture resistance probably not exceptional, not bad. I don't know why a lot of people here go on about the Conti's. Our "team", to a man, hate those things. High rolling resistance, poor puncture resistance, hard to put on the rim... The Hutchinson's are way better. There's not much bad I can say about these things, except maybe the don't last as long as I hoped, but if it's a trade off for grip, I'll take it.

    Similar Products Used:

    Micheline Hi-Lite super comp, various Vittoria, Continental's, Specialized Turbo

    [Mar 14, 2003]
    purplepaul
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    None.

    Weakness:

    Pure crap. They're French.

    Absolute junk. One tire has a hop in it. I only used them on my rollers and was shocked at all the rubber left on the rollers. Put my Continentals on and the rollers were perfectly clean and remain so after every session.

    [Jun 09, 2002]
    Manuel
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    2
    Strength:

    the best tire for turning and fast descents.grip, lots of grip. very easy to install- a good thing if you are using aero rims.

    Weakness:

    not durable, but still better than Vittoria Techno Pro. too expensive. for the price it could last a bit longer.

    it is a good tire if someone just want to feel the road. it offers a great grip. the best I ever tried. the worst thing is it doesn´t seem to be durable. seems to me that it should be used only at pro competitions. it is the kind of use and put it out.

    Similar Products Used:

    vittoria, tioga, michelin.

    [Feb 23, 2002]
    airgel3
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    light (one of Hutchinson''s lighter kevlar models) ~ 200 g sticky flat resistant low price kevlar bead the yellow looks cool

    Weakness:

    I have heard about cracking but no problems here. Somewhat hard to get tire on rim first try, but after that a piece of cake. Overinflating past 100 increases flat probability. Hard to find

    This is a follow up to my earlier Jan 2001 review. I still commute daily on these (700 x 23 and 700 x 20), in a college town, in addition to triathloning. I have had one flat, that was due to me overinflating to 105. Other than that, these are the stickiest, lightest, most flat resistant, reliable tires I have tried. I find that at 95 psi these tires rock.

    Similar Products Used:

    Conti, Mich, Vred, Vittoria, etc

    [Jul 08, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Widest 650C tire out there, smooth, lightweight, comfortable, good grip in corners, easy to mount

    Weakness:

    Not quite as fast as some other tires

    I've used the Krono Comp tire for about 3500+ miles so far (2 pairs) and the Gold version feels about the same so far. It's very comfortable with secure, smooth handling. I've found that the tread wears reasonably well though not as good as the Conti GPs. Not the fastest feeling tire but has great all-around performance. Too bad this model is discontinued...now they've got the new Carbon Gold and Black which supposedly has a more precisely laid out Silicum tread. Will hopefully try those in the near future.

    Similar Products Used:

    Hutchinson Krono Comp (Black), Conti GP, Vredestein Fortezza

    [Dec 24, 2000]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Smooth

    Weakness:

    None noted yet

    Very smooth ride for a clincher but not as good as a mid-grade tubular. I ride clinchers for a change of pace only but they really don't compare with a tubbie. This tire seems like a better value than either the Conti or the Vittoria. Those tires are not very snug on the rim and I don't feel confident they would stay on the rim after a violent blow-out. If you have to ride clinchers, the Hutchinsons are a good ride and wear seems pretty good.

    Similar Products Used:

    Vittoria Extreme, Conti 3000

    [Jan 12, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    OK ride.

    Weakness:

    Side walls rot out before the tread wears out. My Wife rode maybe 200 miles on them last summer and before the end of the season the sidewalls had check so badly that I didn't think that they were safe to ride. The bikes is stored in-doors when not in use.

    If you ride 1,000 miles a month these tires are for you.

    Similar Products Used:

    Panaracer, ok. Fortezza's = GREAT!

    [Jan 09, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    very puncture resistant yet supple, wears well

    Weakness:

    none yet

    This is a tire you don't hear about a lot but it is very good. I have been riding it for 6 months now and it has great wear. I ride about 100 miles per week (not a lot) and the tire seems like it will last for another 6 months. They have great puncture resistance. I went on a ride with my wife and she rode over a borken beer bottle which shredded her rear tire. I didn't have time to swerve and rode thru it as well. Zero nicks, cuts or tears!! I'm sold. This is a great tire for not a lot of bucks compared to others.

    Similar Products Used:

    Michelin, Kenda(stinks!! the blow off)

    [Apr 02, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Comfy ride, smooth rolling, durable, predictable cornering

    Weakness:

    None so far

    Was happily surprised by these guys; bought them on closeout at local bikestore so I wasn't expecting much. I was wrong. I ride clinchers during the winter and early spring; save the tubulars for prime time. Replaced a very shot pair of Conti GP 3000's. Immediately impressed by the smooth comfortable ride given their low profile and light weight. Was expecting something harsh; on the contrary. They cornered much more predictably than the Conti's which break suddenly if you lean enough (maybe it's the lower and rounder profile). Have about 1500 miles on the Hutchinsons and nary a cut. Will ride them through April and then it's back to the Vittorias tubulars - still the benchmark.

    Similar Products Used:

    Tubulars: high-end Vittorias and Contis, Clincher: Conti GP 3000s and Vittoria Open Pro

    [Jul 03, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    1
    VALUE
    RATING
    1
    Strength:

    Ride good

    Weakness:

    The side walls have split (rot) or old tires from being overstocked in the store? This makes for a very unsafe tire and being replaced this week.

    This may or may not be a good-very good tire, but with side wall splits it is a very bad tire.

    Similar Products Used:

    Various other road tires.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.