Kenda Kriterium Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

The Kriterium is Kenda's lightweight race tire that shines when the sun doesn't. Water siping grooves on the sides assure all-weather confidence. The...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 17  
[Aug 26, 2020]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
3
Strength:

These came stock on my Giant Defy 1. After only a couple of rides, I knew they had to go. Rough riding and slow. Like pedaling in sand! Use them to get your bike home from the shop, then change immediately. Maybe I'll use them on my trainer in the winter. I can't believe anyone would say they're light or a good tire - get a scale or try something else before writing reviews, please!

Purchased:
Used  
[Sep 15, 2014]
Diego

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Even though narrower than the tire it replaced, I didn't notice any difference in comfort

Weakness:

Narrow

Not true to size on my rims. My Ritchey and Specialized tires were pretty true to size on my rims but these measured about 2mm narrow. I have the endurance wire bead 25 version.

[Aug 09, 2012]
Judorider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

very strong no flats ride great

Weakness:

heavy rolls medium speed

good tires for a stock set

[Nov 15, 2011]
John V
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Have held up in every type of riding over the past year.

Weakness:

Haven't found any as of yet.

The tires were OEM on my Giant Defy that I purchased a year ago. I have ridden in several long distance charity rides since then and have put almost 3,000 miles on the bike and tires. To this day, I have yet to have had the first flat on either tire. My only problem is that I can't find a local dealer and I don't really want to purchase these tires on-line.

Similar Products Used:

None.

[Jul 17, 2011]
Larz
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Cheap
Low puncture rate in dry conditions
Average grip

Weakness:

After a year, I am starting to get flats on many trips in wet weather (probably around 1000 km).

As many others, I got these equipped on a stock Giant bike.

The did well for a year. When going for rides, I have to exit the urban area, which sometimes have pieces of glass etc. on the bike lanes. The tires did well.

After a year however, I am starting to get punctures left and right when riding in wet conditions.

I am now planning to ditch the tires.

Similar Products Used:

Schwalbe Lugano

[Jul 04, 2011]
Casey
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Relatively smooth ride for a road bike. Rolls.

Weakness:

Very prone to flats.

I picked up a 2011 Giant Defy this year with the stock Kendra tires and Giant tubes. I get flats in my back tire every other ride, sometimes every ride. It seems to happen at the 50 mile mark or so. It's very frustrating.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Gators.

[Mar 07, 2011]
charlox5
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

round

Weakness:

too many flats

Got about 500 miles on these tires without too many issues. After that point it was nothing but flats. Got stranded on a sunday training ride when I had had enough.

They were OEM tires on my Defy 1, and they weren't impressive in any way--but decent until they got flat happy.

Wet traction wasn't very good. These tires were on the bike when I had a pretty bad crash in the wet. Granted, the painted stripe may have come into play, but even on wet asphalt they weren't "confidence" inspiring.

[Dec 30, 2010]
UBUhorn
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

reliability, smooth, responsive, pure value

Weakness:

probably could be 'faster' but this isn't a time trial tire. i'll be abusing these in some road races this spring and see if i can blame a DNF on the tire!

i'm only 145-50 pounds and use the road bike (Giant Defy) mostly as in the spring and summer (and early fall) but have found these tires to work well without ANY problems and MANY miles on the Schuylkill River Trail, Ridley Creek State Park (terrible for road tires actually) and 2x on the Escape New York ride (100+ miles of a variety of road conditions from rr tracks, potholes, etc). i've hit cobblestones in Manayunk, gravel and other unintended pathways, but these have held up on their on accord as well as my regulation in speed when i find myself in conditions that challenge the tires/bike. as a mountain biker and cyclocrosser, i like the rougher paths and have given this bike and tire set a Tour of Flanders treatment at times, but so far, so good! maybe the Alex rims and he Kriteriums are simply a great match, too

[Aug 26, 2010]
tony
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Weakness:

punctures easily

like most other reviews here these tires came on my 2009 giant defy 3; i rode about 200 miles on and off for 5 months without much problem...however i just went to ride in a 100mile fundraiser in one day and got 2 front flats and a 1 back flat...needless to say i didn't get to complete my first century ride... i'm looking around today to find something better

[Aug 12, 2010]
Keir James
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

They roll.

Weakness:

I'm no expert but it seems like a pair of tires should last longer than 2 months.

Either I'm unlucky or these are horrible tires. They came on a brand new Giant Defy 3 road bike I bought 2 months ago, already I've moved onto a new pair of tires. Both Kenda tires blew out on separate occasions. Bulges, holes, cuts. And I treat my bike like gold! Never go onto unpaved surface.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.