Maxxis Fuse Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

Borrowing on our proven road technology found in the Fuse, Maxxis has reworked the design to...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Jan 30, 2014]
Bradley

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Excellent value and mileage for the dollar.

Weakness:

Better options across the board - but you're going to pay.

I rode 3000 miles over several years with the original Maxxis Fuse that came on my Cannondale CAAD8 and only replaced them because the rear tire was finally showing some wear. In that time I had one pinch flat from a large downed branch I didn't see until too late and one I'm going to blame on spending a little too much time on pavement that barely qualified as gravel. Lets be honest, this isn't a racing tire. It doesn't ride as smooth as a baby's... well, anything. It grips well enough to keep you and your bike aligned on a vertical plane. You want a really great beater tire? Something that will get you a bunch of miles per dollar? This is your tire. If you're looking for a tire to ride in the Giro, get your sponsor to spend a few more bucks on your gear.

[Jan 12, 2013]
Michael Hall

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

I get 3600 miles out of Maxxis Fuse 700 x 23 on the rear and 6000 miles out of the front. Not bad when you consider that I weigh 94 kilograms. Used to be lucky to get a thousand miles from a back tyre when i used Michelins.

Weakness:

None at all and I've been using Maxxis tyres for the past 6 years. Other tyre costing twice as much were about one quarter as good!

Make sure you get the "Fuse" and not the "Re Fuse". Latter tyres are not as good mainly due to a poor rim fit (tend to be too tight).

[Jun 11, 2011]
Tommy
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

CHEAP

Weakness:

CHEAP, bumpy, never fit on right, very weak, fails when you need it most, never makes you feel secure

4 flats in 10 miles, need I say more?
I hit a pot hole, small one, and heard my back tire explode. As I changed it my front tire exploded. 5 milesl ater my front blew out at 30 mph!!! I managed to keep my bike straight and stopped. as I changed that I noticed my tube in the back had just popped its head out of the tire! Then it exploded. I ran out of tubes. I walked home 12 miles...
not a fun day

Similar Products Used:

bontrager race x lite

[Jun 25, 2010]
yamura
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Smooth ride, probably low price, easy to remount after changing tubes

Weakness:

Pedal effort, punctures

These tires came as OEM equipment on my 2007 Cannondale CAAD9 3, but after a couple years transferred all the group + wheels to a Surly Pacer. They're reasonably smooth riding but prone to puncture and seem to require more pedal effort than the wheel/tire combos on my other bikes. Fortunately they appear to wear quickly so I can replace them soon.

Similar Products Used:

Conti 4000, Conti Supersport Ultra

[Feb 07, 2010]
SodaJeff
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Comfortable ride. Reasonable grip. I always felt secure. The rear was 100% spent by 800 miles. The front still had some life. Only one flat on each tire in 800 miles.

Weakness:

Reasonably fast wear... but not bad for a $20 tire. This tire is designed to do most things "OK" - I believe it meets that mission.

Lets be honest... This is an OEM tire which most shops don't even sell. I believe the MSRP is only $20. I got 800+ miles on tires that came with the bike. It's unfair for people to compare these to $60 Contis or whatever. For the price of one GP4000 you could buy THREE of these. I had 2 punctures during the 9 months it took me to hit 800 miles. That's not bad.

Similar Products Used:

Continental GP4000
Vittoria Diamante

[Aug 21, 2009]
Josh
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

quiet? fairly light for an inexpensive tire, inexpensive tire

Weakness:

proned to punctures, weak cornering, soft compound wears fast.

I just entered the roadbike world (avid MTBer) and these came on my C'dale Synapse AL. I think these are garbage, I dont have alot of experience to speak of w/ road tires but just observing the other tires in the LBS and doing research on the net. I think I speak the truth.
My experience with these in 943mi. and 3 tube replacements is they pick up a lot of debri, the tread is fairly soft and flattens fast and they don't offer much confidence for fast cornering at speed.
I religiously use Maxxis tires in MTB, not sure where thier market is on roadies, but I am unimpressed.

[Aug 22, 2008]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Cheap, I guess.

Weakness:

After 550km, rear tire is squared. Also, I can observe many cuts to the tire rear tire.

Came stock on my 2008 Cannondale CAAD9 R5. They ride ok, but I am not happy with them and I am considering changing them soon. Durability is an issue.

[Jul 27, 2008]
John
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Came on my bike

Weakness:

Not durable

These tires came stock on my Cannondale. The rear tire only took 300 miles before it squared off. I rotated the tire to the front and the replacement tire is already well on its way to being worn down.

Similar Products Used:

Continental, Hutchinson

[Dec 11, 2007]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Inexpensive.

Weakness:

You get what you pay for. Poorly manufactured tires in my opinion.

The tires came stock on my 2007 Cannondale CAAD9 Optimo 3. The front tire had major defects that caused the tire to rub against the fork. The tire's profile was far from circular.

[Feb 17, 2005]
GirchyGirchy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Inexpensive, looked fine.

Weakness:

Would not mount correctly. End of story.

Something must have been wrong with mine. I tried mounting them on three different rims, and the bead would not seal on either of them. Try as I might, there would always be a low spot in the tire where the bead wouldn't lock to the rim. It made for quite a bumpy ride. Just horrible. I'm not an idiot; I own and maintain five bikes, and have changed tires on each one many a time. Sure, sometimes the bead won't lock, so I drop the pressure and push it on. But these simply would not work. I give them a 2 for value, since they were inexpensive. I sure hope Jenson takes them back.

Similar Products Used:

Hutchinson Excel, Continental GP 3000, Specialized Nimubs (26")

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.