Panaracer Stradius Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

The Stradius uses an exclusive ZSG (Zero Slip Grip) compound with silica technology and high-performance polymers for the ultimate combo of all-conditions grip and low rolling resistance. The multi-layer SharkSkin casing improves ride suppleness, stiffness and durability. In an independent test, the Stradius proves superior in speed, cornering grip, durability and comfort.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 33  
[Aug 07, 2020]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

high pressure / low rolling resistance. These things help me keep up with guys riding Aero wheels on high speed descents

Purchased:
Used  
[Aug 15, 2011]
Mike Vail
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

None.

Weakness:

Little durability.

Just put the Stradius Pro on in March and the treads have worn through already after abour 1000 miles and I was walking for miles yesterday after two flats on the back tire. I am a heavier (235 lb) biker but had Continentals that lasted for 5 years plus. Amazed at the poor quality.

Similar Products Used:

I am going back to Continentals.

[Dec 16, 2009]
rockthrowjoe
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Very fast and light with low rolling resistance. I felt an immediate improvement in my speed. Make great christmas gifts for your "worst" biking enemies and competition!! ;-) You can watch them speed ahead (due to their lightness) with the quiet confidence that you will soon be passing them on the side of the road while they're fixing a flat!!!

Weakness:

Flat like nobody's business. Seriously, 3 flats in my first 70miles? C'mon.

I had the "Pro" version of these tires, and the only thing you will become Pro in with these tire is FIXING FLATS!!! Seriously, in my first 70miles I got 3 flats. I immediately took these off my wheels and returned them and got me some Vredestein's!!! I LOVE those, I was never sure what "supple" meant until I rode my Vredestein Fortezza Tricomps. :)

They actually are very light and quick, but when you factor in the time you will spend fixing flats they become VERY slow.

Similar Products Used:

Vredestein Fortezza Tricomp, Forte GT2 Kevlar, Michelin Dynamic.

[Jan 10, 2009]
lesizz
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

They ride nice when they are not flat. 150 lb per sq in capacity.

Weakness:

The weakness is that the casing is weak.

Expect a flat tire every 50 miles. Plain and simple. Use these if you want an excuse to fondle your wheels frequently.

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria Open Corsa. Much better results.

[Oct 04, 2007]
Randy
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

150 Psi rating

Weakness:

Total vulnerability to punctures!

I bought a new set three days ago monted them last night. I then started a fifty mile training ride that I do two or three timed a week. I had both tires flat befor I had ridden 7 Miles! I have had only one other flat in 3500 miles of riding this year. dont buy this tire!! They are a crazy waste of time and money.

Similar Products Used:

Continenpal Grand Prix's, Mitchelin Pro's, Hutchuison Fusion Comps.

[Sep 14, 2007]
Ken
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Pretty colors

Weakness:

Condoms are stronger!

Stay away! I've been riding for 10 years and these are, without a doubt, the worst tires I've ever owned. I had several rides ruined by blow outs.

Similar Products Used:

Just about everything else

[Jun 19, 2007]
mike
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Good looks. Nice ride.

Weakness:

Poor durability. Many flats.

I liked the tire, but its durability sucked. After 600 miles, I finally needed to retire them. My last flat occurred 4 miles after the previous flat.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race

[Aug 02, 2006]
Jim R
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Inflatable to 150psi.

Relatively comfortable ride.

Weakness:

Lot and lots of flats. These things flat so easy and I can't even beleive it.

I am a clydesdale (6’1” and 215lbs) and I rode these tires for several seasons and thousands of miles because I liked to ride 'em at about 140psi. They have a max psi of 150. I couldn't find another tire that would handle that much pressure, so I continued to ride these.

Well, I couldn't figure out why I was always having more flats than everybody else. I thought it was because of the high pressure and my fat ass, etc. I just continued to change flats several times a year and continued to get frustrated. Probably had a flat every 300-400 miles or so.

Then I needed to replace a set and could not readily get the Panaracers, so at the urging of a few friends, I bought some Continental Grand Prix 3000s. In 5000 miles, I've only had one flat and that was because the valve stem broke off. I’m able to ride the 3000’s at about 125psi and it works out just fine.

Long story, (no so) short - Unless you like to fix flats, stay away from these tires.

Similar Products Used:

Continental Grand Prix 3000

Hutchison

[Sep 30, 2002]
magellan
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

high pressure / low rolling resistance. These things help me keep up with guys riding Aero wheels on high speed descents

Weakness:

tread nicks easy, though I only had one slow leak flat at the very end. These things could use a layer of kevlar. The blue ones seem to nick easier than the black ones.

Tires lasted 2300 miles before I had to retire them. There was plenty of tread left, but the sidewall developed cracks and there were too many nicks in the tread that went through the casing. Still, not bad mileage for grippy tires. Great deal if you get them on sale (what value rating based on - not sticker price).

Similar Products Used:

Forte Pro

[Sep 19, 2002]
coonass
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Low resistance feel and one flat in 3 yrs.

Weakness:

None

Fantastic, secure ride on any surface, wet or dry.

Similar Products Used:

Mich Axil Pro & Conti GP3000

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.