Specialized Turbo Pro Cipollini Tire Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

Inspired by the European Pro Peleton. A great value for performance training and racing at an affordable price.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 13  
[Oct 16, 2019]
bmarksintx


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Great performance tires at an affordable price. Several thousand miles per set.. they withstand years (15) of no use and then back on the road without a flaw

Weakness:

No weaknesses noted

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2003
[Sep 10, 2005]
scovol
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

puncture resistance, construction, quality

Weakness:

road feel

I rode this tire, on front and back, for over 3000 miles and never got a flat! That in itself is quite an accomplishment. I'm thinking they are about a $40 tire but I picked them up on sale. I'd be willing to pay more than the sale price but they don't give a heck of alot of road feel - can't have it all! I'm thinking they rode like my old Michelin Supercomp HD.

Similar Products Used:

vittoria & wolber sew ups, kenda, michelin supercomp hd, vredestein fortezza.

[Feb 29, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, sounds like you can buy them for a good price (new tires came with a used bike).

Weakness:

Seem to be easily cut/punctured, bead popped off rim.

I won't call these tires out and out crap, but I did have a bad experience with them today. They're actually on my fiance's bike. She's a beginner rider with only 100 or so miles on the tires. On a ride today, the front tire's bead pulled off the rim while running about 110 psi. This is with Mavic CXP22 rims. So there's one strike. About 10 miles later she flatted when the rear tire was punctured by a sharp stone in the tread area. That's strike two. I'm pretty underwhealmed by these tires so far, considering they pulled off a rim at 20 psi below the max pressure, and then had their "flak jacket" punctured by a tiny stone. Maybe its just bad luck, but i'll probably be replacing these with something a little tougher.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Pro Race, Continental Ultra Gatorskin

[Jan 23, 2004]
RobMan
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

no flats, light, corner great, look cool.

Weakness:

none yet

Great tire, mine have about 2000 miles without a flat. They corner better than any $50 tire I have used and they accelerate very well. I couldn't ask for more.

Similar Products Used:

Vittoria open corsa

[Jan 20, 2004]
Erik
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Cornering, Compliance. I am hoping longer wear due to the harder center compound.

Weakness:

None so far.

This review is for the 2003 Cippolini Turbo Pro's. I have been using these for about 1 month. These have the dual compound (harder center, softer side). Here are my thoughts. I have logged quite a few miles on these tires. Overall, I am very impressed. I spent 5 days riding in Florida over the holidays. The temperatures ranged from mid 60's to high 70's. I have also used these in 34* F wet roads here in North Carolina. I have yet to experience a slide while cornering with these tires. I have pushed themas hard as any other tire; maybe harder. They are very predictable and I have had no problems. Compliance is good, but not great in my opinion. But, this is probably due to the higher durability center compound. I would recommend these tires for anyone that likes to corner aggressively. I am told that this dual compound will only be available in S-works tires in 2004.

Similar Products Used:

various

[Dec 06, 2003]
neng
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Great value light on the wallet Relatively light weight

Weakness:

I might have gotten a defective tire. Has a small bulge on the sidewall. Also unseeded itself of the rim, luckily on a climb.

I purchased 700X23 Pro Cipo's with red sidewalls. Very good value even at MSRP of $30. The cost to the LBS is around $15. I did have a problem with these tires however. I noticed the tire started to come off the rim while crawling up a climb. The rims were Shimano R540's and the tires were a pain to mount on these. There is also a small bulge on the sidewall all with less than a 100 miles on this front tire. Maybe just a defective tire? I have another one of these tires mounted onto an Ambrosio excellence rim (mounted really easy, no tire levers needed). No complaints since.

Similar Products Used:

many tires

[Sep 26, 2003]
Michael
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

They look real nice with the viva italia scheme and black and red. Nice! They ride well too. I am not an expert on riding quality (eg. these versus Continentals), maybe because I usually ride solo.

Weakness:

Cuts on the tire. Impelled stones. I too had to dig a stone out from my tire.

I have had the same problems as the New Orleans guy. I have slits in my tires which look frightening. I am not sure if its just how they age or what. I ride on roads(shoulders) in Louisiana parishes between Baton Rouge and New Orleans which have lots of glass and gook on them. I have gotten two flats on these tires which is normal in about 500-700 miles. I have ridden these in the rain twice, I am not sure if that may contribute to the cuts; the tire did have gook and mud caked on to them after one rainy ride. They ride nicely. I cannot say if they are fast. I can say when I want to go fast my Cipollini's dont complain. I wouldn't get these for back woods riding. But keep in mind these are not all surfaces tires.

Similar Products Used:

Continental 3000, Vittoria axial

[Sep 22, 2003]
jtompilot
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

great looking. no flats. grippy. price

Weakness:

lots of cuts.

after to many flats on my hutchinson success golds the lbs sold me the turbos. i have been very pleased. they are a great looking tire. new orleans roads suck, pot holes, shifted pavement, glass, sand and stones. no flats after 700 miles. i am a little concerned with all the cuts in the rubber. dug a small stone out of the tread and rode 110 miles over the weekend, no flats. i guess i won't worry about all the cuts. could be a 5 but giving it a 4 for all the cuts.

[Aug 25, 2003]
Holmes
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

puncture resistance

Weakness:

none really

these tires came with my bike and I was pleased to get ~2000 miles from them. they seemed to be speedy, low weight, and I only got 1 flat and that was just before I changed them.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race Lite a lousy tire, I've since returned to the Turbo Pro Cippolini

[Jul 02, 2003]
Stephen
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5

Fantastic tire. Very flat and somewhat cut/puncture resistant. Speedy enough and good in corners. Very light considering the flak jacket thing, still lighter than most. With the price these things sell at they are a great purchase.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.