Vittoria Open CX TT Tires - Clincher

DESCRIPTION

File tread.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 29  
[Aug 20, 2020]
jeffbozo


OVERALL
RATING
3
Strength:

Excellent riding tire. Very stable and predictable cornering. Extremely prone to cuts. After about 1000 miles these tires have lots of cuts, slices, punctures. I ride city streets and have managed to avoid lots of flats by using Mr. Tuffy tire liners. Still, I wonder how long these tires will last with all the slices. Maybe 1000 miles is not bad for a road tire.

Purchased:
Used  
[Dec 03, 2004]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Feel Excellent on the Road

Weakness:

Ludicrously Oversized Expensive (usually)

I got these tires at a blowout sale. They might be returns, so read the following with care. These tires feel great on the road. It's difficult to quantify, but the bike feels noticably "stickier" and turning is more confidence inspiring. However, something is seriously wrong with the diameter of the tires. They only fit onto one rim, that all other tires have a very difficult time mounting (Velocity Deep V). They fit vaguely loosely on this rim. On *all* other rims that I use (Mavic Open Pro, MA2, CXP11), these tires do not fit at all. Mounting the tire and tube, and then pumping up the tube will immediately lead to a blowout. The tires are just too big diameter-wise to mount safely. If I were to buy these tires again (but I wouldn't, they cost too much)I would only buy them from a shop with a good return policy.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Axial Pro Michelin Axial Carbon Continental Ultra 2000

[Mar 19, 2003]
suedehed
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Cornering, durability, looks, NEW BLACK SIDEWALL, long-distance comfort

Weakness:

None thus far

This review is for the new Vittoria EVO CX tires..these things are AMAZING!! My old Open Corsas road well, but these tires are far sturdier and have a much better tread. After about 3 months of riding (on Toronto roads!!) I have had nothing but great luck. The guys at the mail order place were excellent, and the price is the best I have found.

Similar Products Used:

Open Corsas, all Michelins, GP3000s

[Dec 08, 2002]
Dick Levy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Great handling

Weakness:

Prone to cuts Pricey!

Excellent riding tire. Very stable and predictable cornering. Extremely prone to cuts. After about 1000 miles these tires have lots of cuts, slices, punctures. I ride city streets and have managed to avoid lots of flats by using Mr. Tuffy tire liners. Still, I wonder how long these tires will last with all the slices. Maybe 1000 miles is not bad for a road tire.

Similar Products Used:

Axial Pros

[Oct 29, 2002]
clifford
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Ride: cornering, suppleness

Weakness:

price in the US, and wear

I used to ride tubulars all the time (clement criteriums and vittoria CX/CG) and searched for a clincher that yielded the same smooth ride and let me tell you, this is it! At least it comes closer than anything else. I have experienced no problems that I wouldn't have with another brand of tire. I rode in the rain for four hours this past spring and came across a guy with axials who had had two flats in the same amount of time. I had none. Better yet, I pulled out two pieces of embedded glass after the ride that did not penetrate the kevlar belt! I'm rarely the guy who gets flats though-now I just jinxed myself ;-).

Similar Products Used:

vredestein, continental

[Sep 14, 2002]
oldfartlek
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

ride quality- "suppleness" handling in corners rolling resistance

Weakness:

flats, flats, flats- takes all the joy out of the great ride

After riding Conti's for several seasons I tried the Vittoria's. They are without a doubt the best handling and riding clincher out there. HOWEVER, I have gone through 4 tires (thankfully at the price listed above!)in 4000 miles with over 12 flats. Halfway through the season I still stood behind the ride vs. the proneness to flats. After flatting 5 miles out today on the smallest piece of glass, I give up. Back to Conti's. Too bad.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Axial Pro's, Conti Grand Prix's and GP3000's.

[Sep 04, 2002]
IF Guy
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast cornering tire. Extremely supple.

Weakness:

I personally haven't found any.

I don't understand why people have so many problems with these tire. If you just take two seconds to brush off your tires with two fingers after you ride through debris you should have no problems with cuts or flats. After nearly 2000 miles on the same set of tires I'm just about to retire them and have had only one flat and that's because I picked up a staple (which have probably caused a flat with any other brand too). I raced and trained hard on these tires and the held up great. Very supple. They corner well and as that they are so supple they smooth the road as well.

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Axial pros, Conti GP and GP 3000

[Sep 03, 2002]
Carl
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Look nice, ride nice.

Weakness:

Too many cuts and flats

I quit using these tires after serious cuts and 2 flats in the first 100 miles. They also showed excessive wear for the mileage.

[Jul 09, 2002]
Andy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

good ride, easy flat change

Weakness:

grip, wear, tire

I don't have many good things to say about the Vittoria's...they do grip as well as other high end tires (i.e axial pro/conti's) for the first 200 to 300 miles but they fade fast...you have to lean them over a little further than the others to get them to corner as fast...the bad part is that they wear fast, cut easy and the worst part is they let go without any warning....wrecked on a curve that I had been taking with other tires at the same speed in the same conditions....I will never own another pair

Similar Products Used:

Michelin Axial Pro's Continental GP 3000

[Apr 10, 2002]
Ryan
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Handling smoooooth ride

Weakness:

probably wear quicker than other tires... but it''s a trade off for much better ride

the open cx''s are the best tires I have ridden. They are so much more supple than other high end tires, you notice the difference when the road gets rough. Do you want to corner with confidence? Get the vittoria open CX''s.

Similar Products Used:

michelin axial pro continental GP 3000

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.