Bontrager Aeolus 5.0 wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • 14G Spokes
  • 16 / 16 Holes
  • 110GSM OCLV clincher rim
  • Clincher version of the new aero wheel designed
  • Passes all Bontrager testing for performance and durability

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 12  
[Apr 10, 2019]
TFR


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

fast, low price for performance, aluminum brake track ( no carbon brake issues)

Weakness:

a bit more weight than much pricier wheels

Purchased:
New  
[Oct 16, 2011]
Steve Zellers
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Ride Awesome and smooth..... Accelerate great !!!!

Weakness:

Rear wheel rubbing against the brake pads when sprinting. Strength of DT Swiss spokes and nipples.

I got the Aeolus 5.0's back in 2008. The wheelset was good for 4000 miles and no problems until the nipples started to crumble. Just had all nipples and spokes replaced and not even 500 miles later ,4 spokes in the rear broke. Bontrager claims there is no rider weight limit, but myself being a 220 lb rider I am beginning to wonder. I also have the 6.5's and never had this problem but noticed the spokes are different. I love 5.0's but am thinking of upgrading to the newer non paired bonty hub version.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager XXX Clincher and Bontrager Aeolus 6.5 Clincher.

[Sep 26, 2011]
Dan Messina
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Low weight. Quiet. Great hubs. High quality skewers.

Weakness:

The included stem extenders are cheesy. 60mm presta tubes work fine.

These wheels are incredible! I upgraded from a set of Neuvation 27mm aero wheels and can really tell a difference. I can't go fast enough to keep up with these wheels!

Similar Products Used:

None

[Feb 27, 2011]
Jay Hemphill
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Rolling!!!! Things just keep up momentum.

Weakness:

Weight, which makes steeper longer climbs a bit harder. But anything under a mile is no problem.

These wheels are GREAT. Highly under rated. They came on my Madone and I was a little put off by their weight but after riding them and comparing the ride to other wheels I have like the Shimano Dura Ace Carbon tubeless wheels and Mavic Cosmic Carbone Ultimate I was blown away. I may Never ride my Dura Ace wheels again, unless it's rainy or super windy. The mavic CCU's only feel better on long climbs and short accelerations. The Bontragers just freaking roll, and roll and roll. I'm not sure if it is the aero properties or the bearings. I love them. They have been solid under my 190 pound ass.

Similar Products Used:

Shimano Dura ace carbon tubeless, Mavic CCU, and Mavic ksryium ES

[Jan 22, 2011]
north4827
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Strength
Looks
Weight to aero ratio

Weakness:

Price. MSRP is steep!
quick releases are heavy. I swapped them out for 44g tune skewers.

These wheels are awesome. They came new on my 2010 MY Trek. I'm about 180lbs, but was 195lbs when I first started riding these. They track superbly, take the rough roads in, smoothing out the rough stuff... yet they are bombproof. I never had to have them trued, adjusted at all. At just 16 spokes per wheel, that amazes me! They felt faster immediately, and the weight is pretty darn good for this aero of a wheel. A great depth of 5.0 cm making these a great all-rounder. The decals are the best stylin' decals out there. I have mine in grey/silver with white spokes. The bomb! I would highly recommend these to anyone wanting a very strong, very aero all-rounder full carbon wheelset.

Similar Products Used:

Reynolds DV46C UL, Bontrager XXX-Lites, Edge Composites 45 clinchers.

[Feb 23, 2009]
house
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Good looking, as fast and light as any other carbon aero wheel. Trek warranty excellent.

Weakness:

Quality control is poor. When you pay $2000 for a set of wheels, you expect perfection. To have three wheels be faulty clearly there are production issues.

First of all, these are a good, fast wheelset. They are on a par with most other carbon clinchers weight-wise. If anyone reckons Zipps and Mavics are faster [and vice-versa] then they are a better rider than me. They are easy to put tyres on and I think quite good looking.
My main beef however is quality control. Apparently these wheels are no longer USA built, rather bulit in Taiwan. When I took possession of my new wheels, the carbon on the back rim was clearly coming away from the aluminium braking surface. Trek gave me a new wheel, no questions asked. On my next ride, the front wheel braking was very 'on-off'. Trek again replaced the wheel due to a poor quality braking surface. The third wheel was exactly the same, and although offered a fourth wheel I have now swapped these for Mavics. I have at least another cyclist in my club with a similar experience.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Cosmic Carbone

[Mar 27, 2008]
kevin32
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight (for a clincher), speed, ride quality, looks.

Weakness:

None really. Overall a great combination of ride qualities.

Excellent wheelset. I have the powertap setup and this wheelset is fast. Very good on climbs, though clearly not as good as a dedicated climbing set, but still very good. Braking is very good, though I haven't tried in wet conditions. I sense a small amount of flex when I really get on it, but it's very small and likely contributes to the carpet like ride quality you get. Anybody who tells you they have a superstiff wheelset that rides like your on a cloud is probably lying, there is always a tradeoff. I use this set for everyday rides and so far they have held up nicely. I great blend of speed, ride, and stiffness. I would put them sligthly ahead of my Zipp 303s, which also had a powertap and are a great wheel themselves.

Similar Products Used:

Zipp 303s (w/ powertap), reynolds, dt swiss, mavic carbone sl, mavic kyrsium, bontrager race x lites

[Jul 30, 2007]
Ben
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light rim weight for good acceleration. Hubs could be lighter but not so significant that close to the center of the wheel. Use the cork pads or else!

Weakness:

Can't brake well in the rain. Maybe different pads would help. You feel it in big crosswinds.

I think the guy who said these wheels flexed wasn't reviewing the same wheel. These things rule and I can crank 1400 plus watts in a sprint. I can race and train on the same pair of wheels and they are guaranteed through Trek/Bontrager. Solidly built and really aero. Make sure to use latex tubes for best ride. Bye Bye tubulars!!

[Jul 24, 2007]
Doug, Lafayette, CA
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight, aero, low maintenance

Weakness:

braking can be variable, but similar to other carbon rims I have ridden.

These wheels kick butt. I opted for the clinchers so I can use them all the time. My rear wheel has a Powertap Pro Wireless hub so they cost a bit more. I haven't had any issues.
These wheels have a great feel to them. They are great for all around riding.
I race on them every weekend and they hold up great in the sprints as well as climbing. They are pretty good in the cross winds.

Similar Products Used:

zipp 303 tubulars, mavic ksyrium sl, bontrager race x lites, Ritchey WCS protocol

[Jun 16, 2007]
00584062
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

There good at taking a chunk out of your pocketbook.

Weakness:

Soft in the sprint and everywhere else.

Rode these wheels as a demo while my wheels were having some bearing work done. All i can say is WOW.
These are close to the worst wheels i have ever ridden. The front wheel is anything but stiff, it rubs the brake pads when sprinting. The rear hub has the same problem as most Bonty/DT hubs, the freehub body oscillates. The rear wheel is about like the front, rubs the brake pads on both sides, and feels like riding through wet sand when i sprint. The braking surface is very unpredictable and non-existent when wet. Im no clydesdale, im 5 11 160lbs. There is no reason wheels that cost this much should perform this terribly.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race X Lite(ok wheelset)
Reynolds carbon clincher(great wheelset)

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.