Bontrager Race XXX Lite Carbon wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Presta Valve
  • New carbon hubs
  • Alloy locking nipples
  • 14/17/14G Spokes

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Feb 27, 2020]
S.C.


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Those wheels are strong and very light for clinchers. Fits awsome with Bontrager R tire serie. The guy before me did 20k on them and they are still solid and in good shape. Made to last.

Weakness:

Braking. Not aero. Cork pads simply dont work. Swisstop are far better with them.

Price Paid:
350
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2010
[Dec 01, 2013]
rose.johnp
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Light, they're fun to ride.

Weakness:

Braking & they're super light- I'm 200+ lbs.

I love these wheels- I'm 200+ lbs gorilla pounding on them, so they get trued every 4-6 months. But they are fast- or at least they make me feel faster! (which is what's really important). Braking is a shortfall- if you're into that kind of thing. If you like to go fast, that's not an issue of course. And braking in the rain is non-exsisent. Prefect for the dry weather rider who's not packing any extra weight.

[Aug 20, 2011]
Matt Matthews
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, strong

Weakness:

Braking

After researching wheels, reading the reviews, and talking to people who love to ride these wheels are what I kept coming back to. Since tubulars were not an option for me this wheelset was one of the lightest carbon clincher out there. These wheels make a difference in sprinting, climbing, and maintaining a high cadence. They roll smooth and fast. The braking takes some getting used to, not that it is bad however alloy wheels have a much better braking surface. These wheels will make a significant difference in performance.

Similar Products Used:

Dt Swiss, Mavic

[Nov 08, 2010]
rwademan
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

strong,good looking

Weakness:

heavy ,slow,ride bad

just plain bad way over priced may be good for bigger riders but they rool bad feel bad and break bad

[Feb 21, 2009]
turbocarr
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light, aero, strong, smooth, great customer service. Highly devoloped.

Weakness:

Alloy rims stop a little better. Swiss stop pads work much better than the cork pads that come with the wheels.

Looking for full carbon clincher wheels so I wouldn't have to deal with or worry about switching brake pads or ruining my carbon tubies (404) with regular brake pads for racing. A fellow racer had a pair and highly recommended then, describing them as "bomb proof". Being 30 lbs heavier and a sprinter, I was sceptical. I bought them anyways based on his recommendation and they haven't disappointed. The braking service (front) on the first set was a bit rough for my liking. Bontrager switched them out for a new wheel, no questions asked. Great customer service. Thinking of getting a set of 5.0's in place of my 404 clinchers.

Similar Products Used:

Zipp 404 (clinchers & tubies), Ksyriums, Dura Ace 7801.

[Sep 17, 2008]
Brendon Soo
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Fast spin up speed
Easy to lube DT Swiss HUBs
Silky smooth and shock absorbing
Powerful stopping with Swissstop Flash Yellow pads

Weakness:

Price
Requirment for expensive special brake pads
....but well worth it!

I’m an ex-gym based 200lb rider and have had these wheels for 1 month now. Initially I was skeptical if these carbon wheels could cope with my weight and power under acceleration. Beyond just a little flex at the rear (they just touch the brake pads either side under full acceleration), they have proved to be absolutely fabulous. They’re noticeably faster and lighter that my previous Bontrager Race X Lite Aero wheels and actually allow me to roll 10-15% faster than my other cycling buddies down most hills. I particularly like the shock absorbing aspect of carbon fiber > it instills a higher sense of confidence when descending on not so smooth surfaces that are prevalent in Australia. On the flip side, these wheels struggled to pull me up (read… allow me to adjust entry speed for corners) when descending hard down some steep familiar hills. Both the Bontrager cork and the Kool Stop carbon specific brake pads struggled with my weight and proved absolutely inferior to the Swissstop Flash Yellow pads. They now stop 50% BETTER than my old Dura Ace pad/alloy rim combination. I’m in heaven …. I now have the best of both worlds. My secret is now out … so go out and grab this combo and your buddies won’t know what hit em!!

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race Lite Clinchers
Bontrager Race X Lite Clinchers
Bontrager Rax X Lite Aero Clinchers

[Aug 02, 2008]
rickturbo
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stupid light carbon clincher. Great for all all-around riding and racing.

Weakness:

None

Simply put...I love these wheels. They've exceeded my expectations. Stiff, aero and stupid light. I went for these wheels because I got tired of the hassle of changing brake pads for races (Zipp 404 tub's) and ended up falling in love. They were highly recommended by a fellow masters champion. I'm a 185 lb sprinter and have difficulty staying with the stick men (and women) on those darn hills, training rides and of course racing. These wheels have made all the difference. Very nice ride too.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Ksyrium SL's, Zipp 404 (clincher & tubulars), Shimano DA 7801 SL.

[Jul 24, 2007]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light weight and durable. Great for climbing. Totally revolutionized my riding. Almost as good as getting a new bike.

Weakness:

Carbon rims can get scratched up by brake pads when there is gunk (sand and salt) on winter roads, so you will need another set of wheels for winter riding if you live in a snowy part of the world.

I upgraded to the Bontrager XXX Lite carbon clinchers from the stock Bontrager X Lite aluminum that came on my bike, and WOW, what an immediate difference, especially on the hills. The very first group ride with these wheels I was able to keep with the group when the road got steep, instead of my usual suffering at the back or getting dropped. It was like my bike sprouted wings. With each pedal stroke you can really feel the bike accelerate up hill. The same is true on the flats, but I am 145 lbs. and more of a climber than a sprinter.
I use these wheels as my everyday wheels from April to November, and put the aluminum wheels back on my bike for winter riding when there is sand, salt, and gunk on the roads.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager X Lite aluminum

[Jul 10, 2007]
jan sovich
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Light, durable, reasonable cost for product and you're able to run any clincher you like. Ride feel is smooth, absorbing of road vibrations and rolls clean with Hugi Swiss hubs. No road rubber from pads when cleaning rims b/c or cork pads. Stealth look, appear mildly deep dish b/c no seperation of color at braking surface from other section.

Weakness:

Cost my be difficult and turn off for many. Must use cork or carbon compatible brake pads which do not brake as smoothly or quickly as rubber, but fairly well, esp. for lighter riders.Must not ride over 120 psi with this wheelset, which I did not formerly so not a drawback for myself.

Bontrager XXX Lite carbon clinchers are an unreal wheelset. This is a wheelset you can use daily if you choose to. Especially noticed when climbs are steep and excelleration is quick. Carbon rims have a damping quality which is positive. The wheelset is exactly 1350 grams which is quoted by manufacturer sans skewers.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Race X Lite, VeloMax, Mavic, etc. The similarily is that they are all round and run 700c tires, but carbon clincher is steps above the others

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.