Bontrager Race wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Rims are welded for superior strength and machined for smooth braking
  • Semi-aero front rim provides excellent aerodynamics
  • Hubset utilizes smooth sealed cartridge bearings for years of dependable service
  • Not compatible with Campagnolo
  • Spokes are 14G bladed stainless steel with brass locking nipples
  • J-bend type allows for replacement

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 74  
[May 14, 2019]
JnRyan


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Inexpensive. Durable. As I stated below I seriously doubt I would run to the LBS and buy a pair. That said I got over 11K miles out of the set before I upgraded to something else. There is still nothing functionally wrong with the set and they sit in my garage as spare wheels for my older 9spd bike as the hub on this rear wheel will not take an 11 spd cassette and I upgraded my components to 11 spd from 10 spd.

Weakness:

Not as stiff as they could be. Not very aero and fairly heavy for a non-aero rim. Hubs are so-so as far spinning. These wheels came on my Trek Madone. I seriously doubt I would purchased them as a wheel set. BUT you get what you pay for. Based strictly on performance I would give these wheels a 3. But the replacement cost of this wheelset and durability is worth a 5, hence the score of 4.

Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2011
[Jun 18, 2017]
Mark Schenkman

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light weight

Weakness:

Not sturdy

I noticed my wheel getting out of true. Had just had the bike tuned up about 1,500 miles ago and the bike shop did not mention problems with the wheels. When I went to true the rear wheel there were multiple cracks by the nipples. Have ridden them about 10,000 miles, much of that on fairly smooth trails but some on rough roads. I am not a heavy person. I feel I should have gotten more

[Nov 23, 2016]

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Lasted about 5000 kilometres of casual riding on smooth cycleways !!

Weakness:

Rear wheel is cracking from spokes with bits coming out.
Poor value for very light use.
No interest or support from dealers.

Dealer said it was very unusual. There is no warranty. He could sell me another wheel.
He must think I'm mad. NEVER AGAIN thank you.

[Nov 08, 2016]
Princess Silque

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

economical

Weakness:

Cracking around the nipple

My bike just completed it's second season and the shop just called to say there are several cracks around the nipple on my rear rim. it's within the 2 year warranty, luckily, but i won't be replacing with another of the same. was very happy with my ksyrium elites - 10 years and about 75,000 kms and never a problem, always true! But they're pricey ... any suggestions between the Bontrager Race and Mavic Ksyrium Elites?

[May 29, 2016]
rick woodbury

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

They are under warranty but I would love to get a different pair of wheels.

Weakness:

bought a 2016 trek domane here in Italy. The rims started disintegrating the first week I bought the bike. Little pieces of aluminum detach from the rim and embed in my brake pads making a loud scratching noise when I break. I cleaned the break pads different times. The rims continue to decompose.

Brand new bike with bad wheels. Wish I would have bought a Pinarello.

[Jun 24, 2015]
RonV42

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

These wheels came standard on my 2013 Madone 4.5. They were solid in the first two years. Performed well.

Weakness:

Prone to stress cracks around spoke nipple.

After 4,000 miles the back wheel went out of true during a ride. The shop did a quick true and then during a full true they found the cracks in the rim. I have never seen a set of rims to this before. The shop has replaced the rear wheel under warranty but Trek is not extending the warranty beyond the original term.

Trek really needs to address this issue and my shop is recommending that I look at alternative wheel sets.

[Jan 14, 2015]
David Blowers

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Rides nice but...see weaknesses

Weakness:

After 7 months of riding Bontrager Race wheels, I kept hearing a creaking noise from the bike. I tightened all bolts, replaced chain, greased bars, seat post...still it was there. Not there when on the trainer. The wheel back wheel went out of true...when I checked it close...I found hairline cracks around the rim nipples. This wheel never hit pot holes or been trued. Warranty is going to replace it for me...but seeing others that had same failure...this is unacceptable especially when you pay thousands for Treks bikes & get such poor quality in a wheel. Sad.

Replacement from warranty is good but now I'm uncomfortable riding on them.

[Aug 26, 2014]
Mike M

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

none

Weakness:

cracks around the spoke nipples

Wow, I bought my Madone 4.5 exactly two years ago tomorrow. The past couple of months I've noticed a sound from my rear wheel, like a rubbing. I looked at it several times but saw nothing except that it seemed a bit out of true. Finally got around to taking in to the Trek store I purchased the bike from and low and behold, I too had the dreaded "nipple cracks" as all of you have found. I think they stopped counting at about 12! Luckily they filed a warranty claim and gave me a loaner wheel but after reading all of this I think it's time I start looking at a new wheelset.

[Aug 12, 2014]
koen de waele

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

at first they feel great

Weakness:

after 3000 to 5000 kilometers, cracks start to appear in the rear wheel, around the nipples.

the first year I got a new wheel for free, second year it was all of a sudden "no longer warranty". Bottom line : this product sucks big time, my dealer claims these wheels are ok but he should know better.

[May 31, 2014]
Linda
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

I thought these were lightweight and easy to handle, until...

Weakness:

one of the spokes broke, so are definitely the weakest imo. New wheels had some bend spokes. The bike shop told me not to worry about it :S.

I thought these were pretty good wheels (they came with my 2013 Trek Madone 5.2). Coming from the heaver 2008 Madone 4.5 I thought these were very light, strong and gave me good acceleration. I'd never paid much attention to the wheels I was using, but after a spoke broke, within 3000 miles of riding, I brought it the bikeshop and the folks there hadn't really any possitive words about this wheel. "well, it's entry-level". Spokes were bend, one broken (making the wheel very unstable.) Can't trust these wheels anymore and after some research I'm going for the dura ace c24s as those seem great and are on sale. I don't which wheels I had on the Madone 4.5 but those lasted 5 years and about 12000 miles (the rim got too thin), never had a broken spoke, which is I guess the reason I never researched wheels (while I've researched almost everything else on the bike :S) Ow well, I'm disappointed about the quality. Also, why put the cheapest wheels on a fairly expensive bike that has all Ultegra parts on em?
Anyway, nice wheels for when you're new to cycling, don't do the long rides and don't climb very much.

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.