Reynolds Strike wheelsets - clincher

Best Price At
Available At

DESCRIPTION

Reynolds Strike C Wheelset - Clincher(0x983f1250)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jul 16, 2018]
jo el


OVERALL
RATING
4
Strength:

Fast on flats and climb well what else can you ask for!

Weakness:

1 BIG problem! If you get a flat your in serious trouble! Tires just dont go back on these rims easily! I keep puncturing new tubes trying to mount the tire back on smh!

Purchased:
New  
[Jun 11, 2018]
PappyDE


OVERALL
RATING
1
Strength:

Wheels were fantastic until I flatted. They CANNOT be changed on the side of the road. There is no way you will get them off the rim. I had to take them to my bike shop and they spent an hour and finally destroyed the tire to enable them to get it off the rim.

Weakness:

They CANNOT be changed on the side of the road. There is no way you will get them off the rim. I had to take them to my bike shop and they spent an hour and finally destroyed the tire to enable them to get it off the rim. Even if you could get them off there is no way you could but a tube inside to get you home. Clincher tires will also not work on these rims. Loved riding them until I flatted 40 miles from home. So disappointed in them. Selling them on Ebay at a low price just to get rid of them.

Price Paid:
1200
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2018
[Jan 22, 2018]
Gary
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Great tubeless ready aero wheel, no problem at all until you flat.

Weakness:

It is not possible to change a flat at the side of the road. The tires cannot be removed with small levers. The bike shop where I got the flat fixed said they were the toughest rim they have ever encountered to get a tire off & on. The tire sticks in the rim hook and needs to be forcefully pried off with a heavy duty lever. Even when 1 side is pried off the rim hook, the other side still has to be pried off. When you finally get the tire back on, the tires wont seat in the rim hooks without exceeding maximum air pressure and prying with a special tool. Obviously this can't be done at the side of the road.

Love the performance of these wheels, but I can't ride them because I'll be stuck if I flat. These came with my new 2018 Canyon Aeroad. Canyon says call Reynolds. Reynolds says (without seeing them), that they are within design tolerances that must be tight due to being tubeless ready.
If there were no issue with getting tires on/off, these would be a great value.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager Aeolus 5, also tubeless ready, but changing tires is a snap.

[Jul 13, 2010]
sdeeer
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Stiff, good wheel for the price

Weakness:

Like I said, I am bigger, so the spokes have "complained" once or twice. Hopefully that will not be an issue down the road.

I got hit by a car and my settlement left me about $1200 for some aero wheels. I picked up the strikes as my race wheels from BPK. They have been great so far. I am bigger (5'10" 190lbs) so I plan to use them for racing only and do mostly crits. They are really stiff and predictable. Once up to speed, they fly. They spin up well in sprints as well. Just watch big crosswinds (25-30+) when they get a bit uneasy when riding tight in a group.

Similar Products Used:

none, I have ksyrium SL's and bont race but no carbon aero wheels

[Mar 08, 2010]
cali guy
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

A durable, full carbon, high profile wheel. What else could you ask for? Maybe those cool looking dimples on the Zipps?

Weakness:

I do believe that TUBULAR tires feel more grip around corners. I've even accidentally locked up my conti sprinter tubulars while moving 20+ mph turning though an intersection. I let up gently, they gripped again, and I was back into the turn. I'm not sure if I would have been sliding over the ground on my hip if that was a clincher. But then again, who ever wants to be stranded in the middle of nowhere with a tubular flat? So there's give and take.

I have actually been training on these for a year without any problems. I haven't had to true them. I do recommend anyone with high $$$ wheels inflate tires to just over 120PSI every two weeks as an insurance policy.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager XXX Lite carbon tubular wheels.

[Jan 20, 2010]
Tim Moore
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5

These wheels rock!! Nothing else comes close for the price. They're light, stiff, and strong. I've ridden about 2000 miles on these wheels and have not touched them with a spoke wrench. These are my everyday wheels. The brake surface is smooth and consistent and the brakes work as well as any other carbon rim, which never seems to be as good as aluminum, but brakes are for sissies anyway.

Similar Products Used:

Bontrager XXX Lite clinchers

[Aug 19, 2009]
Ed
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Strong, light for TT wheels and wheels in the same price bracket, stiff, pretty much bomb proof. Braking excellent compared to other carbon wheels even in the wet (friend has a pair of HeD wheels wit very poor braking).

Weakness:

Twitchy in strong cross winds (to be expected on aero rims).

There are surprisingly few user reviews for the Reynolds strike wheel set out in the internet (or at least there were when I looked). One particularly good review was from test rider (http://www.testrider.com/fly.aspx?layout=player&video=87), which compared the Strike vs SRAM S60s, both of which I was considering.

On the strength of this review and a few other internet forum ramblings I went for the strikes. As with the other reviewer I got everything in the box you need for the wheels including valve extenders, spoke wrench, plastic tyre levers and rim tape.

They have so far only done one 110k ride but it was a fairly tough test of the wheels. They performed well on the ride out soaking up the vibrations from the notoriously poor roads round Manchester, something I was particularly thankful of due to a recently broken arm.

We then took on three reps of the local 10 mile time trial course (J2/1 for any locals). The wind was a strong and gusting cross/coss head however handling wasn't too much of an issue, I managed to stay on the aero bars for all but a few short sections on one of the reps. On the second rep it rained, hard, however braking remained consistent and strong with no real difference between the carbon braking surface on these wheels and the metal rims on my training wheels.
Acceleration and climbing were excellent over the rolling course, with fantastic stiffness under acceleration.

Performance wise I smashed personal best with these wheels, on all three reps, posting a cautious 25.00 on the first rep, a 24.30 on the second and an exhausted 26.00 on the third.

On the way home I hit a couple of really crappy bits of road (small pot holes etc) and the wheels are still true with no damage to the rims at all.

Overall very impressed so far,

[Mar 28, 2009]
Madcow_mtn_biker
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

They are clinchers! I've been looking for a deep section clincher and couldn't pass up a good deal on these wheels. Glad i grabbed them when i did, they come complete with everything required to get on the road, valve extenders, tire levers, rim tape and skewers. Did i mention they look great. Didn't notice any deflection when i stood up on hills (i'm a clydesdale so most wheels move some), they are the same weight as my old wheelset but over twice as deep. The rear hub makes that nice subtle clicking noise when you push it into transition!!

Weakness:

none yet

I only have about 20 miles on these wheels but wanted to get some feedback on these. They are great, they roll faster than my eastons and for the first ride of the season on the tri bike i was able to beat last years time trial (15 miles) by over 1 minute. I can feel the cars go by due to teh deeper rim section. The wheels look great are dead nuts true and feel fast.

I'll post again in a couple months when i have more miles on them.

Similar Products Used:

Easton Circuits (great wheelset), ultrega and dura ace with open pro's.

  • Available At
$1549

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.