Rolf Prima Vector Sport wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Greater radial and lateral strength
  • Less rotational weight
  • 50% more pulling spokes
  • Spokes 20h front, 24h rear
  • Butted spokes

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 28  
    [Apr 13, 2020]
    jeffbozo


    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    The rear hub crapped out on me after a long winter of riding and had to be replaced. I also was unhappy with the skewers, which look neat but aren't compatible with any trainers I've ever seen.

    Purchased:
    Used  
    [May 30, 2003]
    klein58
    Commuter

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Good quality for the money. If they came on your bike they will last and last.

    Weakness:

    Not available anymore.

    Darn good set of wheels. I have put over 20000 km on them and the rear wheel just died. The front is still going strong. Have used these wheels for cyclocross and road riding and commuting year round in rain and snow etc. The front has never been trued but the rear had to be trued twice before it died.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mavic, Bontrager racelite, bontrager select.

    [Apr 10, 2003]
    georgevato
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    DAMN GOOD QUALITY AND BOMB PROOF. SOLID FOR EVERY DAY, CLUB RIDES, TRAINING AND CENTURYS. THEY ROLL WELL AT MEDIUM TO HIGH SPEEDS.

    Weakness:

    VER FEW. SLIGHTY HEAVY (1800 GMS+).

    I GOT THESE ROLFS WITH MY CURRENT ROAD BIKE. I WAS SUPPOSE TO HAVE SHIMANO 105/540 WHEELS, BUT MY RETAILER DIDN'T LIKE THEM. GOOD CHOICE. THESE ROLFS HAVE BEEN GREAT AND NO PROBLEMS SINCE I'VE HAD THEM. SLIGHTY HEAVIER THAN RACING WHEELS BUT VERY GOOD FOR TRAINING. STRAIGHT AND TRUE AND STRONG. PERIOD.

    Similar Products Used:

    FIRS NET 97S

    [Sep 18, 2002]
    Nicole
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    price

    Weakness:

    heavy, accelerates slowly, repeated bearing probs.

    They came on the Kestrel KM 40 I bought and I decided to just ride them 'til they died. Well, they just bit the dust. Had the rear bearings re-packed many times, then replaced. Nothing helped. They were fair wheels but would never buy again.

    Similar Products Used:

    none

    [May 01, 2002]
    funknuggets
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    Price, reliability

    Weakness:

    Climb like a stone (heavy)

    On a budget went and got these on a whim with good and bad results. For the money, have been an outstanding training wheel. But, do not let anyone kid you they are NOT light and climb and accelerate like a stone. I think they have a decent hub, but the lowered spoke count requires a heavy rim and higher tension, which forces the need for brass nipples. They have stayed round and true despite some insane beating on the pocked Missouri back roads. On fairly flat rides, these do cruise well at any speeds above 20 mph. But if you are going to use this on rolling hills, crits, or anything that requires multiple accelerations.... be ready to get dropped.

    Similar Products Used:

    RSX/Mavic CXP 11

    [Feb 26, 2002]
    Allan
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    3
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Good budget wheelset. Smooth rolling. Nice look.

    Weakness:

    Weight. Lateral stiffness very very weak! Non-sealed hubs

    These wheels are OK for being stock on a mid-range bike. They have stayed true for the most part throughout the time I''ve owned them. Only once or twice have I had to true them, and only by small amounts. Also, they roll really smooth. The machined braking surface is always a plus too. That''s the positive. The negatives are: One, they are fairly heavy, especially the rear wheel (obviously the rear naturally weighs more with the cassette, but even still, it feels heavier than other rear wheels I''ve held). Also, the front wheel is radially laced, and therefore has very little lateral stiffness. This is by far the biggest drawback to these wheels. I don''t race (yet), but when I do put the hammer down and ride out of the saddle, I can hear the wheels rubbing against the brakes. I can only imagine the amount of energy I''m wasting, ugh... And we''re not talking really aggressive riding, just basic out-of-the-saddle riding. I can even notice some sway when I''m descending, and cornering. And lastly, as has been mentioned, the decals are junk.

    Similar Products Used:

    Velomax CC, Shimano 6500

    [Oct 28, 2001]
    Uncle Tim
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Solid, dependable, strong spokes, easy to true, fast for their weight, serviceable hubs, good looks.

    Weakness:

    Spokes tend to work loose (which means you need to have the right spoke wrench and know how to use it), relatively heavy, too many good quality wheelsets that can be had for just a little more money.

    These are durable, dependable wheels. Wheelset advancements are happening so quickly that Rolf Vectors are almost generic, but there is no question that these wheels can take a beating while offering solid performance, even for a racer on a very tight budget. I''''ve ridden 5,000 miles on these wheels in all kinds of conditions. I''''ve even weighted them down with packed panniers and they have never failed me. However, they will need constant watching as the spokes tend to work loose. If you keep your eyes on the spokes, keep the wheel true and tight, you should have no serious problems. I have the Vector Comps on my other, "more serious" bike, and I''''ve found the Comps to be less dependible than their humble little brothers. The hubs are serviceable and I overhauled my front wheel at about 4,500 miles. The bearings did show signs of serious wear but replacing them was easy to do.?xD;?xA;My wife has them on her bike, too, and the report is the same. Good quality product..

    Similar Products Used:

    Rolf Vector Comps

    [Oct 15, 2001]
    Jeff
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    3
    Strength:

    For the price, the wheels feel somewhat fast and light.

    Weakness:

    In the first 400 miles, I''ve had to true both front and back wheels, and have broken a rear spoke. So they really aren''t built all that well in my experience. The other drawback is that the hubse feel somewhat cheap and not as smooth as Shimano 105s or better. Next time I''ll look at the new Shimano wheelsets.

    I can''t recommend these wheels unless your a recreational rider on smooth roads, and want a cheap aero wheelset.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    [Aug 24, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Nice aero look, Roll smooth, have stayed true with some nasty hits

    Weakness:

    Not the lightest wheelset, but light enough, not really an issue if you don't race.

    They ride as good as anything else I've been on. I'm sure if I raced and did a lot of sprinting I'd notice a difference with some superlight wheelset which shaves nearly a pound of weight. I've heard some real horror stories about those anorexic wheelsets' tendencies to blow up at high speed on small hits though. I ride in and around Boston. Our roads suck and these have been indestructible and haven't even needed truing after 6 months of riding/commuting, and I've carelessly put them in some nasty potholes that resemble crevasses. I like to get out and spin at 20+ for an hour or 2. These wheels are great for that, mated to my steel frame I have a comfortable fast bike. My whole setup is not superlight but as I said before I don't race and therefor don't do a lot of accelerating. They'll cruise as good at speed as anything out there. Unless you need that extra edge b/c you race competively you'll see no difference b/t this dependable inexpensive wheelset and higher end stuff.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mavic, Campy, and Shimano on other bikes I test rode

    [Jun 22, 2001]
    Anonymous
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    2
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Fast and strong. Not the lightest wheelset, but it works great for me because is allround.

    Weakness:

    Decals came loose.

    Very good wheelset for the price. They came with the bike, but I never thought of replacing them. I've never had problems with the bearings the're as smooth as ever. (Although I've had lots of rain.... No problems with trueing after a crash.

    Similar Products Used:

    None

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.