Spinergy Rev - Xtra lite wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

  • Weight, front: 840g (clincher) 785g (tubular)
  • Weight, rear: 1015g (clincher) 955g (tubular)
  • Spoke type: Four pre-stressed sets of carbon spokes.
  • Rim type: Optimized for low rotating weight.
  • Axle Type: Titanium rear, Aluminum front axle for reduced weight
  • Available sizes: Clincher and Tubular in 700c and 650c.
  • Compatibilities: Shimano 8 and 9-speed freehub

  • USER REVIEWS

    Showing 1-10 of 16  
    [May 01, 2012]
    Ed

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    light and fast

    Weakness:

    heavy compared to modern carbon wheelsets and cross winds can test your concentration when riding close single file with groups.

    I've had a pair since early 2000. They have more miles on them than I'd care to mention. Don't ask how many bearing sets I've gone through... I have used them in TT races, Sprints, Olympic, and half Tri's and 1 Ironman in Arizona. They are still straight, true and I love them. I bought a 650cm pair to build a tri bike for my son and his have lasted for 3 seasons of child riding. The only reason I've stopped riding mine is the braking surface has worn close to the recommended replacement wall thickness according to Spinergy. I have one more IronMan left in me before I turn in my singlet and they are going with me in two years!!

    [Jul 06, 2007]
    Sean
    Triathlete

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    They just keep on spinning like they don't want to stop.

    Weakness:

    MY WIFE WON'T LET ME USE THEM EXCEPT FOR RACING !

    I have wanted a pair of these for years, I only way 65kg so they are perfect for me.

    [May 21, 2005]
    Sheik Yerbooti
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    -stength and durability -excellent rolling inertia -very aero -simply too cool

    Weakness:

    -tricky handling in crosswinds -fragile sounding -un-tunable ( = planned obsolescence?) -far too visually flashy

    It seems this product obviously has its share of harsh critics. It's either love 'em or hate 'em. However, I feel belong to the former category. In all fairness, I've had nothing but pure joy from these sweet rollers. I just still can't fathom how some can obliterate them or cause them to snap, as in some of the other reviews. In my experience, they're a lot stronger than what many give them credit for, not to mention their coolness factor. I'm probably just as rough on them as anyone and I haven't exactly got the best roads around here in Taipei. I know they're meant to be "race" wheels, but I've used mine almost daily now for 8 months and for over 5K km, and they're still like new! I think I've become so attached to them that I never want to switch to my spare sets of "regular" wheels. Like day one, they still have incredible rolling inertia; they simple never stop spinning, even with a very light spin by hand. OK, I'm no racer, but I honestly believe that they offer a discernable aero advantage. It's fairly easy to reach and maintain 50-60 km/h on flat roads. I can't seem to do that as easily with my other wheels. Frankly, they were a tad pricy brand new- although not compared to many of the newer carbon "aero" wheels- so they're actually very well worth it. Fragile as they may appear, they take a lot of the bad bumps rather well, although always with that rather unappealling sound akin to bamboo about to snap. But then again, they never do. And best of all, they've stayed very true and silky, even well after 5000 clicks. The ride is a bit harsher than I'd expect. That's likely due to the thin, flat carbon spokes, but I suppose that's the price of being aero. The one complaint I'll agree with practically everyone is their unpredictability with strong crosswinds, but you just get used it, except perhaps on super-steep descends. All in all, they've lived up to nearly everything I expected.

    Similar Products Used:

    TriSPOKE (the actual brand) carbon 3-spokes Am Classic CR-420 Shimano

    [Jun 22, 2003]
    paceline25
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Highly aerodynamic and aside from the super expensive Corima rims-also very unique. Would recommend to any rider with my weight. Don't know how they would function for heavier riders.

    Weakness:

    no chance of riding home if involved in an accident that may break one of the spokes.

    I have ridden my REV-X X-tra lites on and off since 1999 when I bought them new. They weren't a great value at $850.00 but they have been trouble free all along. I should add that I weigh 155lbs and most of the rides here in Los Angeles include a combination of smooth surfaced roads and some bad ones with plenty of potholes. These are not climbing efficient wheels but on the descents I can see the aerodynamic benefits at work. Heavier guys always descend faster than me when I'm using Mavic Open Pros but not when I'm using even just the rear Spinergy. On mostly flat rides like the Montrose ride I use both since I'm not too strong and these help me a bit. They are plenty stiff for me even without the optional stiffeners available. As others have said before, the coolness factor is undeniable-they make any bike look faster even while standing still. Also they are just a tad more succceptible to cross-wind they low profile rims such as Open Pros but that is to be expected and it is not terrible.

    [Jun 17, 2002]
    rich9cinti
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Aero, light weight, smooth hubs... and of course, makes your ride look very tricked out. When you get them going... they slice the wind like butter!

    Weakness:

    Can't bunny hop on them... not that you want to...lol! Probably not good for everyday riding to work or school... use only for special group rides and racing. Not made for quick starts.

    I bought the wheelset used from a nice fella from Oregon. He was a law student needing to get some cash... the set had 200 miles and was on a litespeed. I have used Spinergy wheels on my mountain bike (SPOX R1's) and had no problems. I decided to ignore the negative rumors about these wheels and wanted to decide for myself. The wheels are great!!! I'm glad I was able to find a set that was practically brand new. The wheels are very areo and the crosswind issue is very minimal... the wind pushes on me more than anything else... I don't see why people blame the wheels. You can actually start to feel its areo performance at about 15 mph plus. The nice helicopter hum as you slice through the wind is very relaxing, too! Some talked about it's durability... my answer to this is.. buy a wheelset that is appropriate for your style of riding... although most of the road terrain that I ride have bumps and stuff that the wheels can take... I would not expose these wheels to jumping off high curbs and diving into pot holes. I weigh 155lbs. and feel no flex as some reviews may state... they are rigid and smooth. I doubt these wheels are good for heavier riders above 175lbs. If you are a medium weight rider who is looking for a set of areo wheels that perform for what they are intended for and a lucky enough to find a set... buy them. It would be a great addition to your wheelset collection.

    Similar Products Used:

    CXP21 / 105 hubs... for training

    [May 11, 2002]
    andrew levick
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    light, fast, stiff as a pornstar on th little blue pill.

    Weakness:

    the spacers keep falling out

    best wheel i have ever ridden. i have tried almost every factory wheel made, from ksyerium ssc sl to campy proton, and the rev-x is the best out of them all. if only thoes little spacers between the spokes would stop falling out, i have replaced all of them twice in 1 month.

    Similar Products Used:

    hed 3, rolfs, mavic, lew, campy, big S.

    [May 08, 2002]
    frikinspit
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    Awesome Triathlon and Timetrial wheel. I use these on my M4 Triathlon bike as well as my road racing bike. For road racing or mountain stages where high winds are the norm, I recommend using a spoked wheel in the front. On calm days these are some of the fastest Deep Aero wheels available. At $999 for the pair, they are half the price of other Deep-Section composite wheels.

    Weakness:

    The front wheel is is extremely prone to sidewinds. Well.... Pretty much all deep-section wheels are prone to this and so this weekness is not something Spinergy or Lew, or Hed, or any other wheel manufacturer can remedy. Simply put, this wheelset wasn''t made to be ridden in high crosswinds. Check out last year''s Tour De France. Several teams used these wheels, but on windy days many riders either used just the rear, or went with XAero''s on the front and rear. On windy days I use an XAero on the front which completely eliminates the problem. (One side note about the XAero''s: The rear wheel has a lot of flex and rubs against the inside of the chainstay during hard accelerations and out-of-the-saddle climbing. I don''t recomend using the XAero in the rear unless you have a lot of clearance between the stays)

    I am reviewing a pair of 2001 Rev-X Team Issue wheels. There wasn''t a section to review these, but I was told that the X-tra Lites are pretty much identical except for the decals. I bought these a year ago and love them. So much so that I bought a set for my roadbike as well. This wheelset is not an every day wheelset. They are made for racing and training. These are the only wheels in the world to win world championships in Triathlon, Road Racing, Cyclocross, TT, Criteriums, etc.. Enough said about that. As for reliability, I have only had these wheels for a year and have put 8,000 miles on them. The only problem I had with them is that 2 of the X-Beams came apart. It was an easy fix with 2-part epoxy. Aside from that I can''t complain about anything mechanically. Oh, and some of the decals are begining to peel. I have no opinion about the Customer Service since I have never had to deal with them.

    Similar Products Used:

    HED 3, Rolf Vector Pro''s & Comp''s, Lew Sydney''s.

    [Apr 15, 2002]
    Thoth2
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    5
    VALUE
    RATING
    5
    Strength:

    Stiff, FAST, light enought to climb with, durable. Love never having to true them. Great, smooth hubs. Looks.

    Weakness:

    They pick up crosswinds like a sail, could be lighter (?), not campy compatible out of the box. A little harsh on rough pavement.

    Great all around wheelset. I use them for everything, from racing (hills and crits) outdoor and indoor training. They really excel in Time trials.

    Similar Products Used:

    Xaero, Shimano WH-7700, Mavic Open pros w/ Phil Wood hubs, Rolfs.

    [Apr 28, 2000]
    Greg W
    Road Racer

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    speed, strength, reasonable weight

    Weakness:

    crosswinds

    I love em. Have over 6000 miles on them, and no problems so far. I heard rumors about catastrophic failures, but in a local crit, one guy with Spinergy's was hooked, and the other guys derailluer tore one of the carbon spokes. This wheel finished the race. They are noticeably faster, but are susceptible to corsswinds due to the large rim surface. they just look cool too. I've used mine for commuting, training, and racing, but due to their retail price, I dont recommend them to anyone but a racer or fast recreational rider.

    Similar Products Used:

    Mavic Reflex, Spinergy Spox

    [May 11, 2000]
    zelig
    Recreational Rider

    OVERALL
    RATING
    4
    VALUE
    RATING
    4
    Strength:

    They offer a very nice ride and yet they are surprisingly responsive in their handling. Also, there is a noticeable lack of 'wind-up' in the rear when when sprinting or climbing out of the saddle. They can be had at a reasonable price if you shop around. Also look for closeout sales or last year's model.

    Weakness:

    I've read most of the stories about complete failures but haven't had any problems in three years. As mentioned by another review, they are bad news in cross-winds.

    A very fast wheel due no doubt to the construction, narrow profile and deep rim. The rear wheel is very stong no doubt due to its symetrical build. Like any deep aero rim, its a handful in cross winds. They look cool, ride nice and they reasonate from the road surface with a great sound (I have the tub version).

    If you ride in windy conditions, you may want to consider only getting the rear wheel. UK conditions are ever-changing with lots of wind, gusts and changes of direction. I now only use the rear wheel with a conventional spoked wheel up front.

    Similar Products Used:

    Lots of normal spoked wheels over the last 25 years.

    Roadbikereview Newsletter

    Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

    THE SITE

    ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

    VISIT US AT

    © Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.