Spinergy Xaero-X Road wheelsets - clincher

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[May 19, 2019]
Campyracer


OVERALL
RATING
5
Strength:

Bomb proof! After 1500 miles of use I have only performed regular maintenance (grease bearings, true wheels) and these wheels have performed flawlessly. I’m 180 lbs and ride mostly flat road miles. I’ve hit a few pot holes and jumped curbs and these wheels hold up. They’re on a cheap aluminum frame with a carbon fork and the ride is as good as my full carbon race bike.

Weakness:

None at all.

Price Paid:
400
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2001
[Feb 15, 2005]
bigbill
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

Lightweight Smooth ride

Weakness:

Seal in the rear hub will slide out of place and jam a pawl. Pretty easy to fix.

The wheels arrived with the front wheel slightly out of true, but it never got worse. These wheels provide the smoothest ride possible with my stiff frame. I have ridden crits with these wheels and they work well, especially on rough courses. Not the greatest wheel to sprint on since they do flex. I had some problems with the seal between the freehub and the hub. You need a 17mm wrench to disassemble the hub and fix the seal. Other than that no durability problems. I did crash pretty hard on a training ride and broke a spoke in the front wheel. It took two weeks to get a spoke, but the wheel trued well and has stayed that way.

Similar Products Used:

Spinergy rev-x

[Dec 02, 2004]
fpref
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Very good in straight line rides under windy conditions and Comfortable. Quality-price ratio very bad

Weakness:

There is serious design issues (2003 mod.) for strengt on front wheel and cassette, axle, for the back one.

The idea of this wheel is ok with me. But after several miles I saw that durability is not the big thing for these wheels. the freewheel was pushing the chain towards the crankset...ush! I took the rear hub to trouble shoot the thing. I had to machine parts in fact to re-design into something more reliable. I think there is not that much people that can do so. But I use them in windy conditions and flat road since I found that the front wheel does not like hills I am 170 pounds rider ...is it too much?

Similar Products Used:

mavic ssc

[Oct 08, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Very Strong. Pretty light. Cheap now if you can find them since they're d/c'd. $250 @ Colorado Cyclist last month.

Weakness:

Rear hub needed help from the get. I paid way too much for them...my newbie mistake...which killed it's value rating.

These wheels were my first upgrade to my aging roadbike. I wanted a higher end, but not a bank-breaking wheelset. I'm not sure why there are that many negatives reviews on these wheels. Granted, not the best, but decent. I'm 195lbs and ride in NYC. I'm also a country boy who's always ridden MTB. Some habits are hard to break, like jumping curbs and plowing through rough terrain. I've hit some nasty potholes and the wheels have stayed true. The rear hub was crappy on delivery. Made this dull clicking. I tried tightening my cranks, pedals, seat, and everthing else before finally realizing it was my 2 week old wheelset doing it. Took it to my LBS (Bicycle Place in Flushing, NY)and had him look at it for an afternoon. Picked it up that night 2 months ago and not a peep since. Kinda disappointing to have to take a brand new wheelset to get tweeked but at least it works now. Basically, I ride these hoops as my everyday wheels and keep my Ksyriums for the flash rides. Hey, they stand up to everyday NYC riding! That should say a lot. I hope my luck holds out longer than the previous reviewers.

Similar Products Used:

Ksyrium Elite, Alex, and much tougher MTB hoops

[May 25, 2004]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Even after breaking a spoke the wheel stayed true and I was able to bike back to the car.

Weakness:

Kept on breaking spokes on the front wheel

I got the wheel set with my Kestrel Talon SL. I have 1,000 miles on it. The last 125 miles I have broken spokes on three of the last 6 rides. It was in the front wheel. Twice when I got out of the seat to power up a hill. Another time when I was going around turn. I weigh 205 pounds, so it might be a weight issue. The three times I have broken spokes the whell stayed true and I was able to get back to the car. I ended up returning the wheel set and buying Mavic Ksyrium SSC SL wheel set.

Similar Products Used:

Rolf, Mavic

[Dec 16, 2003]
Josh550
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

Light weight, full warrantee-I truly haven't paid a dime for them to be fixed.

Weakness:

Durability is still a bit of a question, I have spoken to others who feel much better about their set than I did, although the other reviewer here certainly isn't wicked pleased to say the least.

I recently wrote a pretty scathing review of this wheelset and felt compelled to adjust it since I posted that. I had numerous problems stemming from a broken spoke to a loosened hub and and a some spoke tightenings over a very short period of time. Much of this speaks to the durability of the wheelset, but since then I had a complete rebuild of the hub and had them retrued and they have been running problem free since (~1000 miles). The wheelset is very light and is certainly more durable than a lot of racing wheels, I use them as a trainer and racer and I have mixed feelings on them, but I have eased on my prior harsh stance.

Similar Products Used:

Ksyrium, Mavic MA-2

[Dec 11, 2003]
Mark Wein
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Make a great gate to the compost pile.

Weakness:

There are no redeeming qualities in Spinergy's wheels.

Dredful wheelset. The hubs where rough right from the start. The free hub body exploded and left me walking after 200 miles. I ended up have to pay for replacement bearings and a new free hub body since Spinergy could'nt make good on the product. Now after 2000 miles I have broken a spoke in the rear wheel, bearings have worn out, and the free hub body is about to explode.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic

[Nov 07, 2003]
Josh550
Triathlete

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

NONE, they are light, but probably because they are so shoddily produced

Weakness:

Spoke strength, Wheel integrity, Hub durability, Spoke threading, Overall quality, company's maintenance and workmanship, etc...

TERRIBLE wheelset. Biggest piece of ***T on the market. DO NOT BUY. The Ironman style XAeroX wheels came with our new QR bikes. Within the first 1000 miles a spoke on the rear wheel snapped. Two weeks later around the same time, at the same place on the wheel, a buddy of mine had a spoke snap in the same place. I have within a 4 month period had to have both wheels trued 3 times total (1 in front, 2 in back, while not riding rough roads or hitting any holes or the like), had to have my spokes tightened 7 times, and now the rear hub is deteriorated to the point it needs to be replaced. I have only ridden 2000 miles on this set. My old Mavic rims? WOW rode almost 10K miles on them and only had to true the wheel once due to a pot hole I hit going too fast. I wrote to the company telling them this, their reply said, we will send you a replacement spoke. DON'T BUY!!!

Similar Products Used:

Mavic, Kryserium

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.