SRAM S30 AL Race wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

SRAM S30AL Race Road Wheelset. The perfect combination of lightweight and aerodynamics. Put these wheels on your bike and feel how responsive they are. Packaged in a beautiful black diamond finish, they will turn heads around.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Aug 02, 2018]
Just some dude


OVERALL
RATING
2
Strength:

Toroid shape, look fast, feel aero enough.

Weakness:

Holy crap!!! what everyone else is saying. I have replaced the bearings on the ft wheel 3x, 2x spokes on the back ( which are pricey). I have about 30plus years of riding and racing, and these are some of the weakest wheels I have owned since pre-built wheels became the rave (thanks Mavic Heliums). I am generally pretty smooth on my wheelsets, and only about 150 lbs. After seeing the reviews, and my own experience, I would pass these by.

[Mar 21, 2015]
Eran israeli
Commuter

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Looking good and first time of use is feeling very good

Weakness:

After 2-3 years of use the start to fall a part.

Don't use Sram wheels , especially s30 , they are not reliable, the tend to breake and when you even consider to ask sram guys , as I did through the dealer , they will blame you for that.
Now after 3 years of use , both wheels , first was the rear , and after 2 months the front , are cracked.
And I have never road the Paris roubaix...
Sram are not reliable

[May 19, 2014]
rg
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

This is for S30Gold. lightweight, superb engineered design (for disassembly and reassembly), excellent braking, stiff.

Weakness:

Broke 1 front spoke within first 500 miles, the spoke head at the hub gave out. Broke a rear non-drive spoke within a week of the front wheel, this time, the spoke shattered into 3 pieces. Was able to ride home at around 17mph with a +/- 10mm total deflection (i opened the brakes to prevent rubbing) for 15 miles on front wheel, and 20 miles on rear, including a few climbs each time.

I replaced the spokes, haven't had any issues for 500 miles so far. My guess is a QA issue, these two spokes where obviously set a much high tension than the rest. The front wheel was true when I replaced the spoke, the rear wheel will always have a 1mm deflection (my guess is due to the type of failure of the spoke).

At first I was a bit skeptical due to the light weight of the wheels and Sapim's claims that CX-ray spokes are the strongest in the world, then I was disappointed when they failed.
I've had a spinergy xaero lite wheel set for 10 years and had zero issues. so, CX-ray strongest in the world? hmm.

I'm at 175lbs, tons of hills in Pacific northwest and bumpy roads, but after the repairs, the S30 golds have been good. I hear a "ting-ting" sound from the front and from the rear every now and then but not all the time, and it does not affect their performance.

I feel more comfortable now and ride then as hard as my spinergy's. Bearings are excellent on the S30 golds, ceramic.

Taking the wheels apart for the spoke replacement, i did myself and the engineering to disassemble and reassemble is amazing, more wheel manufacturer's should make it this easy. Spokes are about $3 each, order a few of each, you will need them.

Similar Products Used:

Spinergy Xaero Lite

[Oct 02, 2013]
geoff

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

nil

Weakness:

fragile

absolute crap 3 spokes replaced, replaced bearings twice

[Aug 23, 2013]
geo

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

look good

Weakness:

crap, 2 spokes broken, bearings replaced twice, not good enough from a high end company

would shop around for different brand next time

[Jun 17, 2013]
Dan Sauers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

light, fast, comfortable

Weakness:

not really anything
decals scratched but, hey, we've had them almost 3yrs.
no complaints

My wife (118lbs) and I (154lbs) share these though she rides them most often. We have put well over 3000 miles on them and not a single issue. I adjusted the play in the front hub just a bit when new and haven't had to touch them since. There are lots of hills (mtns) around here and the wheels are solid, secure decenders. Fast and comfy on the flats (23mm Diamante Pro)

[Jun 10, 2013]
Kloudy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Straight out the box these are light, good looking and feel reasonably quick. I got them new for £400 in the UK and they seemed a bit of a bargain at the time.

Weakness:

The wheels are on my second bike and don't see much action. Their biggest mileage was a week on Mallorca in April.
Yesterday I did an excellent 87m cyclosportive of the Isle of Mull in Scotland and I noticed an occasional clinking sound from the front end right from the start. By 70 miles in I sounded like a handful of nails in an old tobacco tin as (you've guessed it!) the bearings gradually collapsed. I managed to get to the finish but now, having read others experiences, I'm even wondering if its worth getting them repaired or just give them up as a bad job? Any thoughts on this?
I expected a LOT better from a company like SRAM who's Red groupset I love. Very disappointing.

I've often wondered how specialist hub builders like Chris King and DT Swiss make a living?
Now, I guess, I know.

[Jan 06, 2013]
Rick

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
3
Strength:

Bought new felt F3 with a SRAM red package in may 2012, strength Would be I got the rest of the SRAM components and not just a wheelset

Weakness:

Broke spokes on front and rear in first month , rear bearing went after 3 months, maybe 1500 miles, rear bearing bad again in
December. Obviously a problem

Don't appear to be a durable wheel, I'm quite disappointed

[Nov 22, 2012]
mark

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Strength:

wheels roll not to bad

Weakness:

keep breaking spokes front and back.replaced front bearings.

these wheels are light prox 1500gr but are very unrealiable I'm constantley breaking spokes

[Sep 17, 2012]
Patrik

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Strength:

Light, and round (at least, SRAM does not make square shaped wheels)

Weakness:

I have had my SRAM s30 SL for 2.5 years by now.
first impression was good, lightweight, no problems in windy conditions etc.
But.... Hub and bearings is nothing but crap.
And now in my second season I have had four: One, two three, FOUR spokes that have popped while riding on the flat. For no reason at all. Four spokes within 500km riding.
My weight is 80kg and we are talking about non-extreme riding on mostly flat Swedish roads in good condition..

At the end of the day, I Can't recommend these wheels to anyone, not even to an enemy.
/Patrik

At the end of the day, I Can't recommend these wheels to anyone, not even to an enemy.

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

roadbikereview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.