Topolino carbon core CX2.0 wheelsets - clincher

DESCRIPTION

Topolino CX2.0 Clincher Wheelset: Behold the next generation of Topolino Technology. Weighing in at a mere 1360 grams per pair, the ultra durable, smooth-riding and incredibly responsive characteristics of the CX2.0 make it the ultimate racing wheelset...

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 10  
[Oct 21, 2010]
Jon Sandy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Strength:

They are light, when they work they just roll along. They do make a bike feel more comfortable, and Its not that inportant, but I like the way they look.

Weakness:

Nothing's perfect, but they are hard to get repaired when something goes wrong. I still like them, but I am not sure I would buy them again.

I like my Toppolinos, they are a very smooth ride, and they are light. However, after about 10,000 miles I have had 2 problems: a broken spoke (front wheel) and a bogging down, or seizing feeling in the rear wheel.

The problem is to get something fixed you pretty much have to mail them back, it takes 4 weeks or so, and it is expensive.

what I really want is a reliable, durable, trustworthy set of wheels (light would be nice also) Toppolinos are light, but not so much reliable, etc.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Ksyrium SSC SSL (big trouble if a spoke breaks!)

[Nov 16, 2009]
DGiviner
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

bulletproof, feather-light, and cloud 9 ride. handmade in the US of A! customer service is top-notch, too.

Weakness:

not cheap, but worth it. spokes are integrated into the hub, so breaking one means taking the wheel apart (although i've never seen or heard of spokes breaking). and the spokes are a golden-yellowish because of the kevlar composite they use. they look a little funny (or fantastic?), but i'm told that some black and red models are coming out for 2010.

this is the set i use on my race machine, a derosa king 3 w/full record. 6'2" 215 pounds. these wheels are extremely durable and stiff, but ride smoother than any wheel i've ever owned (i'm a snob so i've tried lots). i'm a big sprinter and usually ride pretty hard on anything i own, but i've put two seasons into these already and have never had to touch them.

Similar Products Used:

mavic, american classic, lightweight, campy, zipp.

[Sep 13, 2009]
Noupy
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

5000 km. true as day one and i have hit really bad pot holes with them
very light and again smooth as glass !!!
very good bearings.

Weakness:

??

just watch the Testrider.com review on these wheels and my experience with them is the same.
you can ride for hours on the nastiest roads
and the CX 2.0 soke the vibrations right up
Being very light they climb super well, but
the killer strenght of these wheels is the
smooth ride you get.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic ssc sl, campy shamal ultra

[Jul 13, 2009]
SpikeGlobstein
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Light and smooth

Weakness:

Why didn't anyone tell me about these before?

Wow - I never thought I would notice such a difference in the ride. Smooth and light these babies (CX2) snap to attention on the hills.

Similar Products Used:

mavic ksyrium

[Apr 09, 2009]
Anonymous
Recreational Rider

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

These wheels want to climb hills.
And when there are no hills, they want to accelerate. Very comfortable as well. Made in America by real American craftsmen who love cycling.

Weakness:

They will make you dislike any of your other wheelsets.

At 165 pounds, I am not rough on wheels, but the Massachusetts country roads are a true test of durability - a test that they pass with honors.

[Apr 06, 2009]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

The strengths of the CX wheels are the ride quality, and by that I mean the vibration damping quality while being nice and light at 1360 grams for the set yet retaining enough strength for a 175 pound sprinter type to beat on them.

Weakness:

None for me.

Overall wonderful for smoothing the pavement out and even the gravel on my favorite high altitude ride. Going up is slow, but coming back down can be tricky and the wheels help with control.

Similar Products Used:

Campy Eurus
Mavic Krysirium
HED Alps

[Apr 15, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

lightwieght,stiff,comfortable,affordable,no rider weight limit,excellent abec bearings,awesome looks plus they stay incredibly true.

Weakness:

to be honest i did not find any weaknesses

Topolino CX2
I have been riding Topolino for nearly 5 years now and never had any problems i have 4 sets of V39 and 1 set of CX19 so i thought i would treat myself to the new CX2...and boy am i glad i did, the new hub technology is excellent, its light stiff looks cool and just eats up the bad roads i would say its the best wheel i have ever ridden. i weighed mine and they come in at a scantily 1362gms and they are very sensibly priced here in the UK you can get them for £749 got mine from primera in bournemouth.
Just done a training ride from Sanfrancisco - Sandiego 800 miles in 5.5 days and not a single problem the wheels were excellent in all situations. looking forward to buying the new VX4

Similar Products Used:

Topolino CX19
Topolino V39

[Mar 19, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

After 3000 miles wheels are still true.
Very soft ride, great climbing wheels and great support from Topolino.

Weakness:

None, I was told by Topolino that the free hub problem I had was the 1st.

Very light & strong wheels, I have over 3000 miles on them and at around 500 miles I was experiencing a "chain slap" when I quit pedaling the freehub would occassionally fail to freewheel causing a chain slap, this continued to the point I was experiencing a "stiff link" sensation from the chain. Contacted Topolino and with local bike shop they inspected the free hub and found a defective pawl spring, Topolino quickly replaced the hub.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Open Pro, Zip Open Pro,

[Feb 01, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Weight
Looks
Stiffness
Strength, the list goes on...

Simply put, the CX 2.0s are the most durable, best riding wheel I have ever used.

I had tried Topolino's older Revelation series a few years back and this new stuff does not even compare.

Made in the US (by hand), light, stiff, comfortable, and truly race worthy -- what more could you ask for?

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Ksyrium SL, Open Pro / DA, Easton Circuit, Bontrager Race X Lite

[Jan 14, 2008]
Anonymous
Road Racer

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Strength:

Seem very strong. Exceptionally light. Great ride (smooth).

Weakness:

Can't think of any.

Bought a pair of the CX2.0's about a year ago. They replaced a set of Ksyriums that cracked in the rim (twice!). I now have over 2800 miles on them, both racing and training. Must say that I am pretty happy with these wheels. I'm a bigger guy (192 lbs)and am in reasonably good shape (cat 4 racer). Most of my training is on fairly rough roads, in all sorts of weather. Surprising thing is that I have not done a thing to these wheels and they're still perfectly straight! Can't say this about any other wheels I've ridden. Initially, tyhe ride took some getting used to, much smoother than the Ksyrioms (and far lighter too!). Seem to descend faster, mostly cause they feel more stable. Definitely an excellent crit wheel - really seems to stick in fast corners and holds the line in sprints. I recently swapped wheels for 2 weeks cause the tires were toast - just got back on my Topolinos and really noticed the difference all over again. Figured it was finally time to put in a review.

Similar Products Used:

Mavic Ksyrium SL, Bontrager

Roadbikereview Newsletter

Get the latest roadbike reviews, news, race results, and much more by signing up for the Roadbikereview Newsletter

THE SITE

ABOUT ROADBIKEREVIEW

VISIT US AT

© Copyright 2019 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.