2014 Tour de France: Stage 14 Results

Race Coverage Tour de France

TDF Header

Rafal Majka

Rafal Majka (POL) wins stage 14 of the Tour de France. Photo by Graham Watson

Rafal Majka (Tinkoff-Saxo) won stage 14 of the Tour de France Saturday, holding off a late charge from race leader Vincenzo Nibali at the end of the testing day that concluded atop the cat. 1 Risoul ascent. Though Nibali missed out on another stage win (he already has three), the Italian further padded his lead in the overall standings, putting nearly 30 seconds or more into his closest rivals.

The Astana captain is now a gaping 4:37 ahead of Spaniard Alejandro Valverde (Movistar), who had a tough final few kilometers, losing touch with a second chase group that included fellow podium challengers Romain Bardet (Ag2R), Thibaut Pinot (FDJ.fr) and American Tejay van Garderen (BMC).

Valverde’s hold on the second podium spot is now tenuous, with just 13 seconds separating him from young French sensation Bardet, who also sits atop the best young rider standings. Pinot is another 16 seconds behind Bardet, with van Garderen 5th overall, at 5:49.

Majka, 24, had been brought to the Tour to work for GC favorite Alberto Contador. But when the former yellow jersey winner crashed out, the young Polish rider was given the chance to ride for himself. He slipped into the early breakaway that included 17 riders, then was last man standing at the finish of another dramatic day at the Tour.

Tomorrow, the GC men should have an easier go of things. Unless wind or other inclement weather blows the race apart look for this long and flat transitional stage from Tallard to Nimes to be one for the sprinters. The almost dead flat 222km stage finishes in front of an ancient Roman amphitheater in Nimes.


1. Rafal Majka (POL)
2. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
3. Jean-Christophe Péraud (FRA)
4. Thibaut Pinot (FRA)
5. Romain Bardet (FRA)
6. Tejay Van Garderen (USA)
7. Frank Schleck (LUX)
8. Laurens Ten Dam (NED)
9. Leopold Konig (CZE)
10. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (ESP)


Astana Pro Team
Ag2r La Mondiale
Ag2r La Mondiale
BMC Racing Team
Trek Factory Racing
Belkin Pro Cycling
Movistar Team


05h 08′ 27”
05h 08′ 51”
05h 08′ 53”
05h 09′ 17”
05h 09′ 17”
05h 09′ 21”
05h 09′ 28”
05h 09′ 34”
05h 09′ 47”
05h 09′ 51”


1. Vincenzo Nibali (ITA)
2. Alejandro Valverde Belmonte (SPA)
3. Romain Bardet (FRA)
4. Thibaut Pinot (FRA)
5. Tejay Van Garderen (USA)
6. Jean-Christophe Péraud (FRA)
7. Bauke Mollema (NED)
8. Leopold Konig (CZE)
9. Laurens Ten Dam (NED)
10. Pierre Rolland (FRA)


Astana Pro Team
Movistar Team
Ag2r La Mondiale
BMC Racing Team
Ag2r La Mondiale
Belkin Pro Cycling
Belkin Pro Cycling
Team Europcar


61h 52′ 54”
61h 57′ 31”
61h 57′ 44”
61h 58′ 00”
61h 58′ 43”
61h 59′ 02”
62h 01′ 27”
62h 02′ 26”
62h 02′ 55”
62h 03′ 42”

TDF Header Yellow Jersey: Vincenzo Nibali (ITA), Astana Pro Team
TDF Header Green Jersey: Peter Sagan (SVK), Cannondale
TDF Header Polka Dot Jersey: Joaquim Rodriguez (ESP), Team Katusha
TDF Header White Jersey: Romain Bardet (FRA), Ag2r La Mondiale


About the author: RoadBikeReview

RoadBikeReview.com is an online community of cyclists who share a passion for the sport. Visitors of the site regularly purchase gear to upgrade their bikes, share inspiring photos of rides, and keep up to date with the latest industry and technology news. Which products perform best? Where to buy them? Where to ride? How to ride better? Cyclists come to RoadBikeReview.com for the answers.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.