U.S. Cyclocross Nationals: Groms (and Wind) Attack


Here comes the (boy’s) cavalry.

On a day better suited for flying kites than racing bikes, 11 new cyclocross national champions were crowned at Boulder, Colorado’s Valmont Bike Park. Indeed, the wind blew hard all day, often gusting above 40 mph. That made for some seriously tough race conditions, especially if you were, say 12 years old and 75 pounds. Throw in a course that was still banana-peel slick in spots, and these kids deserve huge props.

Scroll down for top 5 results from all the days races and to see an expansive photo galley. Racing continues through Sunday. Saturday’s action features the first UCI category as the U23 men take center stage. The penultimate day also includes masters men 30-44, masters women 35-39 and collegiate women.

Juniors Men 9-10:
1. Paul Haley (Louisville, Ky./Red Zone Cycling) 19:23; 2. Kahill Bailey (Lyons, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +0:44; 3. Seamus Keller (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +1:24; 4. Kayden Cline (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +1:31; 5. Jack Carter (Minneapolis, Minn./NorthStar Development) +1:46

Juniors Women 9-10: 1. Alison McKeithan (Raleigh, N.C./Evolution Jr. Devo Team) 26:56; 2. Isabella Meyers (Maple Valley, Wash./Rad Racing NW) +2:11; 3. Claire Beeler (Lone Tree, Colo./Alpha Bicycle Co. – Vista Subaru) +2:37; 4. Kaya Cline (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +2:52; 5. Kaya Musgrave (Littleton, Colo.) +3:39

Juniors men 11-12: 1. Ryan Campbell (Lakewood, Colo./Black Sheep Junior Cycling) 17:19; 2. Jared Scott (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +0:03; 3. Dakota Cline (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +0:17; 4. Nicholas Petrov (Mason, Ohio/Cincinnati Cyclocross) +0:25; 5. Brody McDonald (Escondido, Calif./Celo Pacific) +0:30

Juniors women 11-12: 1. Tea Wright (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) 18:50; 2. Jamie McHenry (Angier, N.C./Evolution Jr. Devo Team) +1:21; 3. Emma Osborne (Mequon, Wis./Team Extreme) +1:29; 4. Heidi Martin (Colorado Springs, Colo./Black Sheep Junior Cycling) +2:50; 5. Aynslee King (Anacortes, Wash./Rad Racing NW) +3:03

Girl power — and style.

Juniors Men 13-14: 1. Calder Wood (Anacortes, Wash./Rad Racing NW) 17:19; 2. Andrew Schmidt (Lake Geneva, Wis./WCJ Racing) +0:06; 3. Scott Funston (Black Diamond, Wash./Rad Racing NW) +0:08; 4. Ethan Wright (Boulder, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) s.t.; 5. Nolan Stephenson (Broomfield, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +0:30

Juniors Women 13-14: 1. Katie Clouse (Park City, Utah/Canyon Bicycles-Shimano) 18:19; 2. Turner Ramsay (Rutland, Vt./KMS Cycling-Killington Mountain) +1:18; 3. Abigail Youngwerth (Boise, Idaho/BYRDS (Boise Young Rider Dev Squad)) +2:03; 4. Arianna Schafer (Barrington, Ill./Village-Verdigris Cycling) +2:32; 5. Cheyenne Comer (San Marcos, Calif./The TEAM) +2:40

Juniors women 15-16: 1. Hannah Arensman (Rutherford College, N.C./Evolution Jr. Devo Team) 32:18; 2. Mina Anderberg (Boulder, Colo./Sports T.E.A.M.) +1:05; 3. Ashley Zoerner (Highlands Ranch, Colo./Alpha Bicycle Co.-Vista Subaru) +2:12; 4. Summer Moak (Katy, Texas/TWENTY16 Pro Cycling) 2:42; 5. Jessie Linder (Cedar Crest, N.M./Get Out! New Mexico) +3:33

Juniors men 15-16: 1. Spencer Petrov (Mason, Ohio/Bob’s Red Mill Cyclocross) 26:32; 2. Gage Hecht (Parker, Colo./Specialized Racing) +0:18; 3. Jordan Lewis (Gray, Tenn./Asheville Bicycle Racing Club) +1:13; 4. Cameron Beard (Bend, Ore./Hutch’s-Specialized-Slocum-Co Motion) +1:13; 5. Denzel Stephenson (Broomfield, Colo./Boulder Junior Cycling) +1:36

Juniors women 17-18: 1. Katherine Santos (Louisville, Ky./Red Zone Cycling) 32:11; 2. Laurel Rathbun (Monument, Colo./Twenty16 Pro Cycling) +0:04; 3. Ksenia Lepikhina (Boulder, Colo.) +0:28; 4. Emma Swartz (Madison, Wis./Brazen Dropouts) +1:08; 5. Tiziana DeHorney (Albuquerque, N.M./Get Out! New Mexico) +1:19

Masters Women 30-34: 1. Rebecca Gross (Golden, Colo./Donnelly Sports) 40:12; 2. Rebecca Blatt (Lakewood, Colo./Van Dessel Factory Team) +0:46; 3, BethAnn Orton (Portland, Ore.) +1:18; 4. Melinda McCutcheon (Salt Lake City, Utah/Canyon Bicycles – Shimano) +2:10; 5. BrittLee Bowman (New York, N.Y./Connecticut Yankee BC) +2:27

Master Men 45-49: 1. Tim Faia (Breckenridge, Colo.) 41:05; 2. Don Myrah (San Jose, Calif.) +0:15; 3. Michael Robson (Boulder, Colo./Moots) +0:57; 4. Kevin O’Brien (Erie, Colo/Groove Subaru Excel Sports) +1:29; 5. James Cochran (Iowa City, Iowa/Atlas Cycling Team) +1:42

Division I team relay: 1. Marian University 35:23; 2. Fort Lewis College +0:42; 3. University of Vermont +1:39; 4. Lees-McRae College +1:45; 5. Cumberland University +4:22

Division II team relay: 1. Brevard College 36:44; 2. Ripon College +1:16; 3. King University +1:33; 4. Colorado Mesa University +3:27; 5. Massachusetts Institute of Technology +3:54

About the author: Jason Sumner

An avid cyclist, Jason Sumner has been writing about two-wheeled pursuits of all kinds since 1999. He’s covered the Tour de France, the Olympic Games, and dozens of other international cycling events. He also likes to throw himself into the fray, penning first-person accounts of cycling adventures all over the globe. Sumner, who joined the RoadBikeReview.com / Mtbr.com staff in 2013, has also done extensive gear testing and is the author of the cycling guide book "75 Classic Rides: Colorado." When not writing or riding, the native Coloradoan can be found enjoying time with his wife Lisa and daughter Cora.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





© Copyright 2020 VerticalScope Inc. All rights reserved.