Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. I have a Fuso FR1 with a mix of Campy Chorus and Record that I have been riding on and off for over 20 years. It's been a great bike, but I am considering jumping forward a bit in terms of technology and materials. My LBS has an 08 Orca in my size (6'2", 220 Lbs) with full Dura Ace and Ksyrium wheels. They have marked it down from near $6000 to $3,500. I gave the bike a 15 mile test ride and got the following impressions - quite stiff through the BB, similar to my FR1 (the stiffest steel bike I have ever riden), but with a better ride quality. Seems to absorb vibrations pretty well. Handling is quick, as in if you think you want to go somewhere, you're already there. I personally didn't think it was nervous, just really quick. Stable on the downhills. I compared it to the Madone 5.2 with Integra SL and thought the Orca was more communicative, kinda like comparing a Cadillac CTS with a BMW 3 series.

I'm a recreational rider that values quality, stiffness, and stability. This seems to be a great deal, but for this money, are there other bikes that I should be considering? Or, should I buy this Orca before someone else snaps it up?

Thanks for the advice.

·
Batteries not required
1,118 Posts
Bradenq said: