Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I recently purchased and 08 Madone 5.1 w/ OCLV White carbon frame. I'm new to road riding so I don't really know any better but so far I am liking this bike very much. My LBS recently lowered the price on the 08 5.2 w/ OCLV Black frame. It's $500 more than what I paid for my 5.1 with some component upgrades plus the Black frame. I can upgrade for that charge within the 30 day ride guarantee. I'm trying to decide if it's worth doing?

I'm pretty unclear on the big difference between the OCLV Black and the White frame. My goal was to get a good frameset bike that I could upgrade over time if I stick with the sport. Is there really a big improvement with the Black over the white. It looks like according the Trek website the 09 Madone's go from the 4.7 w/ TCT carbon to the 5.2 w/ Black OCLV so the 5.1 and the White carbon is history. Which is fine....but what is the real story with the White OCLV? Thank!!!!

·
Registered
503 Posts
wirelessness said:
Hi all,

I recently purchased and 08 Madone 5.1 w/ OCLV White carbon frame. I'm new to road riding so I don't really know any better but so far I am liking this bike very much. My LBS recently lowered the price on the 08 5.2 w/ OCLV Black frame. It's $500 more than what I paid for my 5.1 with some component upgrades plus the Black frame. I can upgrade for that charge within the 30 day ride guarantee. I'm trying to decide if it's worth doing?

I'm pretty unclear on the big difference between the OCLV Black and the White frame. My goal was to get a good frameset bike that I could upgrade over time if I stick with the sport. Is there really a big improvement with the Black over the white. It looks like according the Trek website the 09 Madone's go from the 4.7 w/ TCT carbon to the 5.2 w/ Black OCLV so the 5.1 and the White carbon is history. Which is fine....but what is the real story with the White OCLV? Thank!!!!