Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
3,752 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Going in June. Family trip (1 teenager). We've decided against Scotland/Ireland.

So - strictly within a couple hours of London, what would you recommend we see & do?

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
It's my neck of the woods, well originally.

Guildford is my town and worth a visit.

Chichester has a beautiful cathedral and a huge old roman villa.

A trip along the south coast - Brighton Pavillion maybe.

If you like to walk there's all kinds of trails on both the North Downs and the South Downs.

For the South, drive to Steyning in Sussex, see the Norman church and go up to the South Downs Way. Here's the view looking North over Steyning

Vegetation Nature Grass Green Natural environment

·
Registered
14,713 Posts
I'm not an expert, but to help you get better advice from those who are, a few questions:

- are you planning to stay in London the whole time, so you're considering only day trips, or would you consider some overnight trips outside London?

-your couple hours, is that by train, or are you considering renting a car? If the latter, keep in mind that driving on the "wrong" side of the road takes some special thought, but is very doable outside the city. Driving within London itself is a whole other kind of adventure. I only drove there for a few hours -- we spent a few days in London, then rented a car to visit some other parts of the country, but just getting out of town was intense, and I've driven in New York a fair amount.

-what kind of stuff interests you and your teenager? History, art, natural landscapes, architecture, performing arts, etc. There are museums of all sorts, and the historic buildings in London and elsewhere are awesome.

Some specific suggestions, though you already know of many of these:

In London: Buckingham Palace, Houses of Parliament, St. Paul's (go up in the dome), the British Museum.