Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. I currently ride with a 170mm Sram rival cranks. Thus far, I feel really comfortable with this set up. I've ridden over 200 miles in the past 1 month. Still, I am relatively new to road biking. I was looking at a set of Sram force cranks 172.5mm that I can get for a pretty good deal. Would I notice much difference going to a slightly longer cranks? Thanks for any advice and comments.

·
Still On Steel
2,391 Posts
Would you NOTICE much difference? No. Would you IMAGINE you notice a difference? Possibly. But only if you have an active imagination.

My advice would be: Save your money. Spend it on something you'll really get some use out of, like tires or tubes or tools or clothing.

My comment would be (and I offer this in the most benign way possible, with no intent of being smug or nasty): You say you're fairly new to road biking; only 200 miles in a month; and yet it sounds like you may already be succumbing to upgrade-itis. That's a slippery slope with no bottom. An improvement to you, the motor, will always make far, far, FAR more difference than any minor upgrade to your bicycle. So every time you're feeling the urge to spend money, go out and ride 50 miles. In the long run that will accomplish more, and it won't cost you a thing.

·
Registered
1,824 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Allez Rouge said:
Would you NOTICE much difference? No. Would you IMAGINE you notice a difference? Possibly. But only if you have an active imagination.

Save your money. Spend it on something you'll really get some use out of, like tires or tubes or tools or clothing.
Thanks. That's what I wanted to know. So I guess switching to a 172.5 setup would essentially feel the same as the 170 setup...regardless of whether it's Force or Rival.

·
Resident Curmudgeon
11,979 Posts