Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello,

I am very new to the vintage scene and have always wanted a Waterford made Paramount. I thought I finally found one on eBay and right as I was going to make an offer the auction ended. Oh well, another will surely come along soon enough. My question is, was this a fair price for this bike? I was willing to pay the seller's BIN due to the fact that the bike was full Dura Ace, in excellent condition, a great color scheme and more importantly, it was my size! Given all that, would this bike be worth $1300? I know it is to me, but what would you say would have been a good price?

Also, what should I be looking for with respect to the old Paramounts? I know there were some made in Japan and they are good bikes in their own rights but I want one made in the USA. The Paramount is a bike I lusted after when I was in high school in the mid to late 1980s and even though I have a modern carbon bike right now (Pinarello) with full Dura Ace group but I would like an old steel Paramount with old Dura Ace parts to have fun on once in a while. I can't say that I would be reliving my youth but I can still ride it and imagine what it would have been like if I had been so fortunate back then. After all, isn't that one of the reasons for the popularity of the old classic and vintage bikes? I know that is one of the reasons for the popularity of vintage cars and motorcycles. Why else buy a vintage Porsche or Corvette when a new one will out perform the old by a wide margin? Don't even get me started on my 1942 RAF BSA M20! There are mopeds that out perform my BSA!

The hunt continues.... :thumbsup:

The auction...

https://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=120491935184&ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT

The bike...