Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Whatcha guys think of this?

1990 Cannondale R500 "black lightning"

I'm a newbie and have been searching for a cheap bike for a while. My budget is around $500 (though, less is always better). I found a sexy looking bike for around $350, but after researching I found it sells new from Walmart for $275. LOL

Looking for some advice. I am 6'3" and it has been hard to find a bike in the 59-62cm range.

·
Registered
7,492 Posts
Wally's is selling 1990 bikes?? WTF are you trying to say?

I was just involved in a similar thread where it was agreed that about $100 would be OK for a similar vintage Cannondale in good condition.

That's one horrible aerobar setup BTW.

All this being said I'd bet this is 100X better than anything being currently being sold in Wallyworld.

·
Big is relative
11,887 Posts
Might be worth close to $500. It has several upgrades including Microshift levers, a carbon fork, and decent wheels. The only thing that is 1990 is the frame. Offer $400 and see what he says.

·
Big is relative
11,887 Posts
I'd never buy an aluminum road bike, especially used.

Stiff frame = harsh ride and more prone to crack than steel.
I've got a 94 Cannondale 2.8 that I raced for many seasons, crashed a few times, and has spent the last four years clamped in a trainer getting sweated all over and generally abused. It's fine. Cannondales, especially older ones are well made and not prone to cracking.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
I've got a 94 Cannondale 2.8 that I raced for many seasons, crashed a few times, and has spent the last four years clamped in a trainer getting sweated all over and generally abused. It's fine. Cannondales, especially older ones are well made and not prone to cracking.
Not doubting your experiences, but given its inherent (fatiguing) characteristics, alu IS prone to failing - and rather quickly at that.