Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hello folks! happy to be here and excited to post my 1st metric ride I did yesterday!! I have been riding for maybe 3 years but just around where I live and my max distance that I have ridden was 25 miles, so I was kinda a little bit hesitant to do it but last Friday a friend decided to do it too and its also his 1st long ride so I said " what the heck lets do it!.
My bike is a Giant defy3 (2010) that I decided to upgrade the complete groupo to 105! and man what a difference compared to my Sora with just 8 cassette and triple cranks!. My LBS installed it for me last Friday and i rode it saturday, so it was literally a new bike, I even replaced my tires (tyres) to a 26mm versus the stock that came with my bike. Anyway long story short I made it with a moving time of 5 hours and 15 minutes!. And I really enjoyed it specially the views along the way! man I have lived here in our little town for almost 8 years and never saw all the beauty of the scenery using the back roads. It was AMAZING!!. Some of the climb was really challenging at times but I'm used to climbing around my neighborhood so i did OK, actually the Tuesday before the Saturday Metric I climb a road with at least 2,240 ft elevation actually it was 3,400 ft elevation but from where I lived it was only 2,240ft and I was able to do it in 1 hour and 15 minutes moving time ascent and 12.5 minutes decent!..anyway happy i did it will post pictures of my bike when I'm allowed too..

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks! It was actually a 50 miles ( actual distance was 54miles) ride or a Century ride, i opted for the 50 miler but since i road my bike to meet my friend it added the other 8 miles to make it 62miles:D.

·
Registered
879 Posts
Ohhh, you did it now.