Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey All,

Im brand new to road bikes but not to bikes in general. Ive been riding MTB's for about 8 years and racing for the last 3. I'm a pretty good wrench, and after riding my buddy's Trek 5200, im hooked!

Ive been reading everything i could possibly read over the last 3 weeks about what bike to buy, what to look for, whether to go used or not, etc. I'm just a little curious on what you all would recommend for a bike that i can grow with for a little while. As the title says, i have a $1000 budget, but theres a catch: i can get 30% off Specialized.

I have a couple great shops around here that carry giant, spec, trek, and Jamis. So far ive been looking at the Giant OCR's, the Spec Allez, Trek 1200/1500, and the Jamis Ventura Comp.

I guess what im looking for is opinions on any of these, and wondering if since im just starting out as a rodie, is it worth it for me to get something like the basic Allez or OCR3, or to jump up to the likes of the OCR1/1500/Allez Elite?

Any thoughts are greatly appreciated!

·
You're Not the Boss of Me
7,749 Posts
I think if it suits one's budget, it is always worth it to start out with a little "more" bike.

Lots of folks think they should start cheap and then "upgrade" if they enjoy the sport. Problem is, that's a really financially inefficient way to do it, and the nicer your equipment the more you're likely to take to it (even if it is just a placebo effect).

WIth that kind of buying power, I'd get the best thing my budget allows. You could ride an Allez Elite, for example, for thousands and thousands of happy miles without feeling like you needed to go chase down more bells and whistles.

·
Registered
1,872 Posts
I dunno... the <$1500 Specialized selection is pretty lousy. You'd almost be better off with a Giant OCR1, without the discount!