Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
100 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Is it unreasonable to try to do 2 races in 2 days? I was thinking of doing the Prairie Rose State Games in July (North Dakota). They have a Triathlon on Saturday and then a 50 mile road race on Sunday. The Triathlon isn't long. I think it is considered sprint distance. Is this do-able? I've never done a Tri before and want to try one, but I don't want to skip the road race. Would there be problems in training? This would keep me from riding bike as often, unless I maybe rode bike mornings 5 days a week in addition to the normal training of swim bike run. Any advice from you more seasoned racers?

·
Registered
635 Posts
ive never done a tri followed by a road race, but i've now down back to back races 3 weekends running (this weekend I did 1 race sat, 2 sunday!).

It is do-able, but i'm not going to sit here and say how easy it is. You may have to tailor your training for it, esp w/ the tri

some tips ive picked up on from others for back to back racing:
take the 2 days before your first race really easy, 30min-1 hr slow ride, 15mph, flat, slow
make sure you get a really good cool down in after your first race day
get plenty of sleep - over 10 hours (at least thats what I need)
get a good warmup in for race day 2
don't have too great expectations for day 2, unless everyone is racing both days

other helpful things include recovery drinks/products at night, a good hot meal, shower, massage, a laundromat (unless you really like smelly clothes)

good luck

·
Registered
3,095 Posts
the thing about short races is that they do tend to be faster. in a tri, you can go at your own pace, but, you know, when grandma passes you, you're going to want to pour it on.