Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,
I am new to purchasing new road bikes. I have been looking at bikes on Bikedirect website and would like your recommendations on selecting one of these cool bikes. I am about 5'6" and 165 lbs. I would like to use the bike to ride during the weekend or even to work some days. I am riding a Specialized Rockhopper to work daily now.

Thanks,
Bob

·
banned from the museum
6,755 Posts
I think you should find a good, local bike shop that can show you several different commuter models. Raleigh makes several good ones, as does Surly. Bianchi has some great ones as well. Neither of the bikes you mention would be an optimal commuter. They are too race oriented.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for your input! I have been visiting all the local bike stores around here, but never really take them out for a test ride. I like most of the major brand bikes. But they are more pricier than the online bikes with same comoponents. I am thinking of getting a good bike that will last me a while without worring about upgrading. I know I am not in shape to ride a good road bik yet, but I am working on it getting in shape. Riding my Rockhopper until then, even though it makes my hands numbed every ride. I am looking forward to ride 30-40 miles on the weekends with the new bike on a nearby trails. I am also considering the Le Champoin AL bike, but thought the Ti will be more durable.

Thanks

·
Registered
2 Posts