Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just recently rode the 2012 SuperSix EVO SRAM Red. What a great bike. I've been searching for 'that' bike for a while now riding a lot of different brands and models during the search. I think I might have found the bike for me.

I'm not a huge fan of SRAM - I tend to prefer Shimano but honestly I've not really rode SRAM enough to discount it either. I'm really new to the sport so I' learning tons each day. Does anyone have a POV on which bike would be better?

I found the SRAM Red for $4300 and the Dura Ace for $5000.

Is it worth the extra $700 for the Dura Ace or is that a waste and should I go with the Red?

I found this link that also offers a comparison between models - seems there is more to the extra $700 but the thing is I honestly can't make out a lot b/c I am so new to this sport. I'd like thoughts on the deltas between both and if the prices above are good deals.

2012 SuperSix EVO | Infinite Cycles Bike Shop

Thanks everyone.

·
Registered
46 Posts
I bought the same bike in white/black last July and absolutely LOVE it except for the lousy 1st generation SRAM Red Front Derailleur.

Front shifting was terrible until I swapped in the new Red Yaw FD. There was a night and day difference with that simple upgrade!

I paid $4500 for my EVO 2 last July. At the price quoted you are getting an absolute STEAL. The 2013 HiMod EVOs with SRAM Red are $7200 and the colors are ugly.

Given Cannondale's whopping price increase, 2012 models are hard to come by. My advice is jump on it now and consider yourself lucky.

I have the Dura-Ace groupset on my CAAD9-1 and like the SRAM Red better. YMMV.

·
Registered
46 Posts
The first generation Red FD may have had a bigger problem with compact crank sets than the standard 53-39.