Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is a cross post with the Felt forum, who pointed me here:

I recently got a great deal on a 2015 F1 frame that has about 1k miles on it, and whose fork was crushed and destroyed. This is my first time building up a "real" road bike, and I'm planning to learn a lot and make a lot of mistakes. I'm trying to keep this project at a fairly low budget, but I'm not interested in buying no-name ebay components.

As I've started to scope out some parts, there are few questions that have come up that aren't so easy to google. All my most obscure searches keep leading me here though, so I though I'd sign up and ask.

1. I'm thinking of a Columbus Fel fork - it's got a 45mm rake vs the 43 of the stock Felt fork, and 3mm shorter. Is that within the range of "should be fine"?

2. I know the head tube is tapered from 1 1/8" to 1 1/2" but research has shown me that there is an insane amount of non-standardization of headset sizes. (pages 8-9 caused me to break out in sweats) - what are the official upper and lower bearing sizes in the F1?

3. I'm installing a standard set of BB30 bearings. I know Shimano doesn't do a BB30 spindle, and I've heard of folks mixing a SRAM chainring and cranks with shimano derailleurs/cassette/chain - is that a good way to go? Should I just be looking to a full SRAM groupset? The folks I ride with are all on Shimano or Campy.

Thanks!

·
'brifter' is f'ing stupid
15,564 Posts
Why don't you just have a Felt dealer order you a fork? Why mess around w/ different brands, different rakes, different axle to crown lengths?

At the same time you can get the proper headset bearings, OR you can go to the Cane Creek site and use the 'headset finder'. Dead easy.

Cranks really don't matter, you can mix and match, the shifting will generally be totally fine.

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·