Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 81 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for over 10 years and always heard that tire pressure should be in the 100-120 range or more. I was told recently by an avid cyclist (that races) that he does training rides on 60-80 PSI at times and it has no (or little) effect on speed. He isn't a big rider (approx 140 lbs). He's an intelligent fellow and has been riding for many years so it made me take notice.

If it makes little difference, a rec rider like me would be well served to run low pressure as the ride would be more comfortable. What is your opinion?

Thanks in advance.

·
RoadBikeReview's Member
5,513 Posts
80's way low. He probably pinch flats fairly regularly. 60... wow!

I'm 150 pounds and I run 90-105... Usually 95-105. Below that is asking for pinch flats.

Lower PSI actually allows the tire to conform to the road surface better, thereby resulting in a lower rolling resistance - given that you're still at a reasonable pressure.

·
Registered
2,124 Posts
What size tires? how much do you weigh?

The danger with going too low is pinch flatting, the larger the tire and the lower your weight the less likely you will to pinch flat and the lower you can go.

I'm 160 and run 23's at 110, and 28's at 75.

·
Registered
2,620 Posts
You didn't say what size tire.

I'll assume you ae talking about 700x23 which I guess is the most common size for a road bike.

Several years ago, I dropped my tire pressure from the 120 range to 100 front, 105-110 back. It made a huge difference in the ride quality and didn't slow me down at all. I weigh 165.

80 pounds seems too low. You could try it, but if you start getting pinch flats, you would need to increase the pressure.

There has been a lot of discussion on tire pressure the last few years. I think everyone ran too much pressure before that.

Here's a chart from Michelin that shows optimum pressure based on weight.