Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to road bikes and am looking for a bike that is suitable for olympic length tri's and maybe longer training/recreation rides. I am on a budget but don't want a bike that I am just going to turn around and want/need to upgrade. Because of that I am leaning towards a bike with shimano 105s. Beyond that I have no idea what bike would offer the most bang for the buck. The Felt Z85 looks interesting but wondered what everyone thinks would be good options.

·
Cycling induced anoesis
13,006 Posts
I am new to road bikes and am looking for a bike that is suitable for olympic length tri's and maybe longer training/recreation rides. I am on a budget but don't want a bike that I am just going to turn around and want/need to upgrade. Because of that I am leaning towards a bike with shimano 105s. Beyond that I have no idea what bike would offer the most bang for the buck. The Felt Z85 looks interesting but wondered what everyone thinks would be good options.
Nothing wrong with setting a price range, but I suggest being open to straying some from 105. The current 10 speed Tiagra is very good and (IMO/E) will easily meet the needs of most recreational riders.

Also, while the Felt mentioned is a very nice bike, I suggest (again) being open to straying some and visiting LBS's carrying different makes/ models for comparison purposes. Discuss your intended uses, goals, cycling experiences, price range, get set up on a few bikes and head out on test rides - out on the roads.

On the test rides, focus on fit/ feel, ride, handling as well as control placement and function. That (IMO/E) is the best way to narrow the field (of bikes as well as LBS's) and whittle the choices from there.