Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

· Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
The wifey wants a new bike so that she can ride with me. She's got a hybrid right now that doesn't get much use because, while comfortable enough, it's really heavy and not fun to haul up a hill. We're considering a few models of road bikes that are women-specific: the Specialized Dolce, Trek Pilot entry-level model, and the Trek WSD 1000. Riding comfort is the most important thing, especially position-wise. She would be a total newb, so we're not concerned about components or (excessive) weight.

Any informal reviews of these rides from the forum ladies in a similar situation as my wife? Thx.

· Banned
45 Posts
size matters

jpv said:
The wifey wants a new bike so that she can ride with me. She's got a hybrid right now that doesn't get much use because, while comfortable enough, it's really heavy and not fun to haul up a hill. We're considering a few models of road bikes that are women-specific: the Specialized Dolce, Trek Pilot entry-level model, and the Trek WSD 1000. Riding comfort is the most important thing, especially position-wise. She would be a total newb, so we're not concerned about components or (excessive) weight.

Any informal reviews of these rides from the forum ladies in a similar situation as my wife? Thx.
Go to your LBS with your wife and have a bicycle measured for her physique. Then,
get a woman's saddle. There is a difference: see "Bicycling" magazine Feb. 1997
page 34 "Women's Cycling" (Love Your Butt) Glutes can be a girl's best friend. Here's
how to get stronger and more comfortable in the saddle. by Delaine Fragnoli.

· Registered
5,358 Posts
Not all women find a "women's" saddle the most comfortable. WSD bikes are cool but some women fit better on small men's models.

Have your wife ride the bikes and see which ones can fit her and most importantly which one she likes the feel of.

· Registered
1,876 Posts