Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this so am not sure if I'm in the right place. I'm wanting to know what size the cogs are on a 12-25 cassette..OK the first has 12 teeth and the last 25, but what are the ones in between? Perhaps a dummy question but I"d like to know as I'm looking at changing to a 12-27 with my compact crank. Any helplers?

·
Premium Member
15,996 Posts
Well, first of all, it depends on the number of speeds in your cassette!

My Campagnolo 10-speed (campy's standard) has 12-13-14-15-16-17-19-21-23-25.

Generally, with a modern lots-of-gears system you have 1-cog increments for the smallest section (up to 15 to 17 teeth) and 2-gear jumps from there, maybe a 3-gear to the biggest.

Older 5- and 6- speed systems often had similar gear RANGES, which made them much wider spaced!

·
Banned
6,492 Posts
Go like this: "One, two, three..."

Unless I'm not following the question, the answer that seems obvious to me is, "Count 'em." If the cassette in question isn't where you can see it, cog sizes are often listed in the catalog, or you could buy it through a bike shop, and count them there. That keeps the shop in business so it's there if you need it, the guys there know who you are if you have an emergency repair and, by the time you pay shipping from some Internet dealer, you probably don't save more than a buck or two. Plus you can ride it out the door rather than waiting a week for it to arrive.

·
Registered
432 Posts
tom millar said:
I'm new to this so am not sure if I'm in the right place. I'm wanting to know what size the cogs are on a 12-25 cassette..OK the first has 12 teeth and the last 25, but what are the ones in between? Perhaps a dummy question but I"d like to know as I'm looking at changing to a 12-27 with my compact crank. Any helplers?
One: go to the shimano site to find out their cog numbers. Two, if not Shimano go to the manufactuerer's site for the cogset.