Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
635 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My training scheduale has been something like this for the past two weeks:

~ 115 mi over 4 days - 1 interval day (tues) 1 flat higher speed day (wed) 1 long hilly ride (thus) and 1 easy day (fri) to loosen the legs going into races sat and sun, with mon off.

I spend about 5 hours training a week.

As the season is ending for me in a week or so, I want to know how I should ajust my training scheduale. I am only going to be racing once a week, occasioanlly twice. I also want to bump up my mileage, and get faster and better. Im new to cycling remember. My races would be tues and either sat or sun.

I was thinking - easy ride mon, race tues, long hilly ride wed, interval thus, easy day fri, race sat, recovery long sunday....is this about right?

also how much should i be increasing my time/mileage per week?

thanks....josh

·
Registered
3,095 Posts
CC09 said:
My training scheduale has been something like this for the past two weeks:

~ 115 mi over 4 days - 1 interval day (tues) 1 flat higher speed day (wed) 1 long hilly ride (thus) and 1 easy day (fri) to loosen the legs going into races sat and sun, with mon off.

I spend about 5 hours training a week.

As the season is ending for me in a week or so, I want to know how I should ajust my training scheduale. I am only going to be racing once a week, occasioanlly twice. I also want to bump up my mileage, and get faster and better. Im new to cycling remember. My races would be tues and either sat or sun.

I was thinking - easy ride mon, race tues, long hilly ride wed, interval thus, easy day fri, race sat, recovery long sunday....is this about right?

also how much should i be increasing my time/mileage per week?

thanks....josh
How old are you? You're pretty young, aren't you? Younger guys can recover better, but I still think that you're doing too much.