Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
620 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
...and if this can be answered in a book, such as the Park book or Lennard Zinn's book, just say so. So what is my question? I used to be a bike mechanic, but that was back in the 70s. I'm real good at truing wheels, replacing brake pads, tire and tube maintenance, chain lubing, replacement, and maintenance, and all that kind of stuff. But I come from an era where once a year (or sooner, if needed), you took everything apart, including BB and wheel hubs, replaced the bearings, regreased all, and reassembled and readjusted all of the above.

So what happens with all the new style BBs, headsets, wheel hubs, and so forth, that (I think) have sealed bearings and pretty much stay in adjustment...again, I think they do! I'm not opposed to subcontracting all this good stuff out to my LBS, if that's the best method, but I've got a good bike stand, I'm not shy about buying more tools, if needed, and I prefer to do my own maintenance, if possible.

Thoughts, anyone? And here, I'm thinking of Kerry Irons, C-40, and the like, but all are welcome!

· Banned forever.....or not
24,573 Posts
With cartridge BB brgs, the days of overhauls are over. Just ride 'em until they wear out. If your wheels have cartridge brgs, it's the same. I don't know about campy, but my Shimano hubs with ball brgs have tens of thousands of miles on them and are still in perfect shape.
I did the same thing back in the 80's..Hubs, once a year. BB's twice a year. Hub sealing has improved 1000%.

· Registered
620 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Great, thanks much...

MR_GRUMPY said:
With cartridge BB brgs, the days of overhauls are over. Just ride 'em until they wear out. If your wheels have cartridge brgs, it's the same. I don't know about campy, but my Shimano hubs with ball brgs have tens of thousands of miles on them and are still in perfect shape.