Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Pressure Washer??

Hello,

I've been using a product called Speed DeGreaser for about 2 years to clean up my bike. It basically dissolves everything that is not metal and I can spray it all down once it's done it's work, leaves the components very clean and then I just lube the necessary areas again.

I unfortunately do not have access to a garden hose anymore to do the rinse portion. I was thinking of going to the coin car wash down the street to use the pressure washer...

I know this is a "no no" in the bike world, but really can it hurt that bad?? If spray from a distance and avoid the headset and bottom bracket area, will it be ok??

Who has experience with this?

·
Registered
2,507 Posts
How about filling up a watering can and rinsing?

·
Registered
453 Posts
If you're just cleaning the frame and not the drive train, try using Pledge furniture polish. I actually use the cheap stuff from the Dollar store. It works wonderfully and leaves your paint with a nice waxed finish!

·
Registered
2,906 Posts
Pressurized water is going to force grit past your bearing seals. I never use it.

·
Registered
23,049 Posts
What are you lubing with that requires a degreaser which dissolves everything that is not metal, and a pressure washer? :eek: :confused:
Many of us just take a rag with some OMS and wipe down the chain every couple rides. And floss the cassette with a rag as required. It's really that simple.

As far as the rest of the bike, if I really had to, I could put down a tarp in my living room and wash down the bike with a bucket and sponge with little mess.

·
Registered
5,859 Posts
You don't have a friend with a house/hose?

I assume you're living in some kind of apartment building -- what about the maintence guys? Maybe you could charm them into letting you use a hose.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·