Road Bike, Cycling Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so...
i test-rode a bike for 30 min. actually, i was going to ride for an hour to see how it feels when i ride for a longer period. however, i couldnt ride more than 30 minutes due to lower-back pain. when i changed a stem, it was little better, but the pain lasted 20 minutes after the test ride.
the salesman told me that since the bike has a true-race-bike geometry and i'm a newbie, the pain was expected, so it will get better if the bike is truly fitted and i get used to the geometry through training.

IS IT REALLY TRUE?

i dont want to buy the bike with the geometry that doesnt fit my body, but i cannot ask the salesman to do 1-hour long fitting process.

should i trust the salesman and buy the bike? or just get another bike with little more upright geometry that is comfortable even after an hour long test ride.

thanks

·
Fast No More.
770 Posts
I think the more appropriate question may be, does the bike fit not in terms of saddle height and stem length, but in terms of end use. What do you plan on doing with the bike. Improve your fitness? Replace your car? Complete a charity ride? Cross the country? Race? Any single bike can do all of these things, but depending on the style of bike you buy some will be more adept at some tasks, sacrificing versatility in others.